We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place to see old friends & have a great meal !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TEXAZ Grill

TEXAZ Grill
6003 N 16th St, Phoenix, AZ 85016-1801 (Camelback East)
602-248-7827
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 2,583 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Description: TEXAZ Grill is a long time Central Phoenix favorite for folks from all walks of life. This is one special place to dine on a superior steak prepared with great care. Take a look around TEXAZ Grill and you will see an amazing collection of unique decorations including historic signs, Texas memorabilia, vintage advertisements and a Juke Box full of 45’s by native born Texans.Although TEXAZ Grill is known for the famed Chicken Fried Steak so big you’ll have two meals, they also serve a wide range of fresh foods. Carefully cooked, high quality chicken, steak, shrimp, prime rib, pork chops and catfish populate the menu at TEXAZ Grill. The shrimp are #1 Mexicans - the best shrimp you can get. The delicious steaks are USDA Choice, perfectly aged and hand cut in house and you will know it on sight when you take your first bite. What you will not experience is the sticker shock like most steak houses. TEXAZ Grill gives a real bang for the buck.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to see old friends & have a great meal !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place has it's own charm. The food is simply wonderful & the atmosphere casual & friendly.
The Freddy's Filet is fab & many of the friends and family rave over the chicken fried steak & country potatoes. The house salad has a special taste with green olives tossed through it for an extra zip!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    45
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fantastic food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went there on a Tuesday night with a party of 9. The restaurant was not very busy and we were seated immediately. I had the smoked prime rib with coleslaw. The prime rib melted in your mouth and had an AWESOME smokey flavor to it. The coleslaw is homemade and is very, very good. I also picked bites of my son's filet (delicious!) and my daughters chicken strips (crunchy and juicy!) and was not disappointed with anything. We ended our evening with the peach cobbler. There was a little too much crust, but it was still delicious!
We went with some friends whose daughter is a vegetarian. The only dish they could offer her was a veggie kabob.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unfriendly service with below average food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I ordered the brisket sandwich which is advertised as slow smoked for 14 hours etc.

I had a side salad with house dressing. The dressing was good but the salad had WAY too much dressing. Get your salad dressing in the side.

On to the main course- the beef was as dry as beef jerky with no smoke ring. I seriously doubt the brisket was smoked at all.. More like oven cooked with liquid smoke.

Bottom line is that I would not eat here again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Maybe best Chicken Fired Steak ANYWHERE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

They are known for Chicken Fried Steak and they don't disappoint. Dumpy cowboy bar but the food is fabulous. The lunch CFS fills your plate for about $7.50. the dinner is 2 pieces of the meat--huge. Their chili is Texas style and I've never had a bad meal.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Chicken fried everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you like things chicken fried, this is your place. Food "is what it is". Parking is horrible and it is hard to maneuver through the tiny parking lot.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TEXAZ Grill also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to TEXAZ Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TEXAZ Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.