We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Cuba in Phoenix” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Cafe

Havana Cafe
4225 E Camelback Rd, Ste 4, Phoenix, AZ 85018-2772 (Camelback East)
602-952-1991
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #330 of 2,562 restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A taste of Cuba in Phoenix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Having tasted some of the best Cuban foods in NJ and Key West, I have a good baseline to compare Havana Cafe. The food and service were very good, very friendly servers and fairly quick service of food. The food was fresh and full of flavor. I had the meat empinadas and fried black bean as an appitizer, which came with the garlic and lime "mojo", they were excellent!. The main dish was rice and beans with pork, fried plantains and yucca. Very GOOD! For desert the Cuban espresso with steamed milk and the best Flan. Price wise, a little on the high side but great experience over. Nice atmosphere, cozy, yest comfortable. I even saw an older gentleman that reminded me of Hemingway. BTW, the sangria was a little different than your Spanish sangria, so try the Mojito instead.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    38
    44
    9
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Decent food but really expensive for what you get”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have been to Havana Cafe on several occasions. The food and service is good. Can't give them a top rating because of the high prices. Picadillo was $14.95 which consists of rice, beans, ground beef, potatoes, olive, etc. Good food but should be less than $10. By the time we (2 of us) got our food, two appetizers, two beers and a mojito, the bill was around $60 including tax and tip. Our other dish was "Cuban Meatloaf," which was just meatloaf with a hard boiled egg in the middle. The waitress was really nice. I'm not sure why they use disposable, plastic chairs. Seems to me they are the kind that can collapse easily.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Stick with the fish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

If I was rating just the fish dishes, they would have gotten a very good rating. Unfortunately they fall down with regards to anything that is fired of is a dish featuring chicken. The empanitas and calamari are over fried to make them difficult to chew. The chicken is so very overdone, that it can't be cut. It would have been nice if the wait person stopped by even once during our meals to see how things were. Because one of our party had the very tough chicken, he had to not have a meal. The wait person just disappeared and no one else seemed interested in us. I can see where others think that this is a gem and maybe it is for certain things, but you could not prove it from our experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced and poor quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We love good Cuban food and I have actually been to Cuba. This cafe (the one located at Bell) was very disappointing. It was too expensive for the quality. We will not be going to either location again nor would we recommend it to friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cuban food that shines.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

They provide great dishes. The captains paella, and fish dishes are very good, as well as the appetizers.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Cafe also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Havana Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.