We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome take your kids here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rustler's Rooste

Rustler's Rooste
8383 S 48th St, Phoenix, AZ 85044 (South Mountain)
(602) 431-6474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #300 of 2,593 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: South Mountain
Dallas TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Awesome take your kids here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food and atmosphere! Great steaks 8oz filet only $21. I am from Texas and the steaks were great. They have a slide in the restaurant, real longhorn outside and cotton candy in a bucket! This is the place! It also over looks the city beautiful view

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    221
    134
    38
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Was there for a private party. So my experience was limited. The place can handle huge groups - in our case 200 people. Food was very good and the view was excellent. It was far from Scottsdale I wouldn't travel that far but for the party. If you're in the area it's worth checking out for the experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennerdell, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yee-Haw!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Daughter/son in law took us here while visiting Phoenix, and I have to say........Yippeee! What a super place to eat and the view is to die for!! GOOD food and SUPER servers! Can't wait to go visit again! A BIG hooray!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great view at sunset, fun place , food average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Was here with a tour group looking for a good time and we found it. We were greeted by Horny the Texas Longhorn steer then entered by sliding down the chute to the dining room. We had 24 in our group and jugs of cold Shiner beer as well as mason jars of red and white jug wine were served. Nearly all of our group came from Australia, New Zealand or the UK and they seemed to really enjoy the cowboy atmosphere. Our steaks were average, the sides were average, service was average, but we all had a blast and even a large number of our huge group got up and line danced. The view is superb up here and you can see the whole Phoenix skyline and the sunset was beautiful. In summary, a festive evening and everyone had a great time even though the meal itself was probably rated a 2.5 out of 5.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of a kind restaurant with a great view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Okay, so I am no cowboy but found myself at Rustlers Roost on a business trip recently. When I pulled in the parking lot and saw several tour buses unloading diners I thought, "Not good. Is this place a casino too?". Turned out to be folks looking to have a little dinner and do some line dancing. No big deal.

As you enter the outside of the restaurant you are greeted by Horney The Bull. A very large (but apparently docile) penned animal with massive horns. From there you enter the restaurant up a hallway with exposed rock as one side of the corridor. This was very cool but I couldn't help but wonder how many tipsy patrons may have had run ins with that "wall" on their exit. Just another interesting characteristic of Rustlers Roost. At the hostess stand you are greeted and soon notice the band playing country music on the stage below and copious amounts of taxidermy and western collectible decor. You also have the choice of taking the stairs down or a kids slide depending on your mood.

We stayed on the upper floor and ordered burgers and sides. Nice to have a cold Shiner Bock on draught as an option. Portions were large and quality of food was pretty good. Our service was average but our server did take the time to explain our choices and brought our drinks and food in a reasonable time. We enjoyed our dinner and took notice of the same tourists we saw entering doing their line dancing on our exit. They all seemed to be having a great time.

All in all the restaurant is a fun western themed establishment that does not take itself seriously. Fun diversion from my usual dinner haunts on business trips. Hope I can take my kids there someday. If you are in the mood for something different, give Rustlera Roost a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustler's Rooste also viewed

Tempe, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Rustler's Rooste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rustler's Rooste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.