We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids loved it....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rustler's Rooste

Rustler's Rooste
8383 S 48th St, Phoenix, AZ 85044 (South Mountain)
(602) 431-6474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #371 of 2,426 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Mountain
Hermosillo, Mexico
2 reviews
“Kids loved it....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Food was OK but kids loved the slide, bull, snake experience. Needs some work on the quality of the food. Just so so......

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    256
    153
    52
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great night out with Jetsave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our second stop on Jetsave Wonders of the golden west tour. All Great fun a reall cowboy deal, Steak and all the trimmings, Rattle Sake if you fancy it too. Line Dancing well I hated that part, I cant Dance he he. Came on Labour Day a real hoot. Sat at long tables food very fast got to know our other travellers.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Rustled but Not Hustled by The Rooste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I haven't been here in over ten years and wanted my family to experience a "western style" restaurant. Be aware that there is a steer in a pen outside the entrance which provides you with an authentic aroma ... lol!. After walking through a "cave walkway" you arrive at the saloon bar level and later make your way down a flight to the dining area once they page you. We had a reservations and waited 15 minutes which is one way to get you to sit at the bar for a quick drink before dinner. On the night we were there they also had a live band which added to the festive atmosphere. The interior is rustic (wood timber, etc.) and the wait staff wore blue jeans and cowboy hats. Before you order, if you make sure that you are not expecting a five star meal you will do fine.

We skipped the appetizers and ordered four different entrees; Salmon ($20), prime rib ($30), baby back ribs ($20) and a garden burger ($16). All meals were very good. The salmon was a decent size and came with jasmine rice. My 24 oz. boneless prime rib was called the Judge. It was cooked as ordered and did not have too much fat which is a plus. The ribs were tasty and tender however there was no evidence of a smoke ring on the meat or any smoke taste so they were likely done in an oven. The garden burger was solid. They serve you family style salad and fried Indian rolls to start and cowboy beans with the meal. I wasn't a fan of the rolls ... too oily. The beans had chunks of tomato and plenty of bacon pieces which gave it a good taste.

Each 36 oz. beer ($7.75) came in a Mason jar which was a nice touch and a value. Total cost with tax and a 18% tip was $143.

So if you are looking for a casual and relaxed night out I recommend this place. Note that you have a very nice view of the Phoenix valley since the restaurant sits "high", southeast of Phoenix. The night we were there we were able to see the sun set from their outdoor dining area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“very average.....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I visited here twice, as part of a tour( and i was most reluctant to go the second time!)....the food is very average and the white wine undrinkable!!!!most Australians and NZ could not drink it!
I am not a fan of line dancing, but if you are, you will love it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonton, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun! Fun! Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Start off with a drink at the saloon bar, then take a slide down to your dining table and rustle up some good ole home cookin' grub! The sampler entrée platter was delicious! Ribs, corn, Buffalo, shrimp, tropical coleslaw, fry bread... it was so much we couldn't finish it! But we sure enjoyed trying. And, our son loved the slide and we loved even more that it was kid's night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustler's Rooste also viewed

Tempe, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Tempe, Central Arizona
 

Been to Rustler's Rooste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rustler's Rooste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.