We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tarbell's

Tarbell's
3213 E Camelback Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85018-2307 (Camelback East)
(602) 955-8100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tarbell's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 2,569 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, French, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Cross street: 32nd Street
Transit: Just outside the parking lot, on Camelback Road.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have not been to Tarbell's in quite a few years, only because there are so many great places to dine in Phoenix and it is not all that close to my house. However, I will be going back again and again. We met another couple for dinner and everything was wonderful. The menu is full of things that I wanted, so I had trouble deciding. Everything we got was perfect. The service was great and the ambiance lovely.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    40
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“really?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Tarbell’s menu reads very well, with some interesting and inventive combinations. Sadly our orders did not necessarily follow the descriptions. The presentations were attractive, but for the hefty price, I was expecting something absolutely gorgeous! The components were traditional, but the quantities seemed way out of proportion, if not strange. My party of 4 ordered appetizers, mains and 4 different desserts. The desserts were uncomfortably large and wasteful. We agreed that the colors were enticing, but the flavors and textures fell short. Would I recommend? No, if you're in Scottsdale, there are some great dining options for a fraction of the price that come with a view.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Creative Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a very delicious meal at Tarbell's. Unlike some reviews, I didn't think it was particularly cramped. The service was friendly and professional. The only negative was the grill smoke from the kitchen. The fans needs some TLC.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Great Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We happened on Tarbells looking for a good restaurant in the Scottsdale area open on a Sunday evening. What a Find! We shared an order of Carpaccio - fantastic! And then shared a Saprosata Pizza - amazing!! The thin crust was out of this world. All this combined with a good Italian red from Montefalco made the meal very memorable. We'll be back for more and highly recommend this "locals" place to all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Top of the Line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The food is all organic. But. don't let that fool you. Everything is delicious and exquisitely prepared. The restaurant is somewhat formal - you'll feel more comfortable in business casual attire. The food is a bit pricey but considering the atmosphere, the credentials of the chef and the wonderful way everyone is treated it should be considered for a night out or a special occasion. The staff are as professional as it gets. I recommend the salad appetizers, all the entrees and the excellent desserts.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarbell's also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Tarbell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarbell's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.