We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of T. Cook's

T. Cook's
5200 E Camelback Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020 (Camelback East)
+1 602-808-0766
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
T. Cook's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 2,593 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $31 - $55
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Cross street: Camelback Rd and 52nd St
Description: At the heart of the resort, T. Cook's culinary philosophy of magnifying the purity of fresh, seasonal ingredients is a celebration of its treasured legacy. For nearly two decades, T. Cook's has garnered both local and national acclaim. This time-honored tradition lives through the vision of Executive Chef Paul McCabe.Chef McCabe's culinary style can be summed up in three words - crafted, thoughtful and bold - which are all precisely in line with the Mediterranean principles of fresh, seasonal, local and ingredient-driven cooking.Explore the new T. Cook's this season. Whether for a special, romantic occasion with a candlelit dinner on one of our two patios, complete with scenic Camelback Mountain views, inviting fireplaces and blooming bougainvillea; for socializing with friends inside T. Cook's vibrant and colorful new dining room or glass-enclosed Wine and Tequila tasting room; or, for inviting colleagues to your next power lunch. All of this and more are currently on the menu at T. Cook's restaurant this season, located in the heart of the Phoenix and Scottsdale area.
Gearhart, Oregon
Top Contributor
473 reviews 473 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We enjoyed dinner here a few days ago. It was a great experience. We had good wine for a fair price though one listed selection was sold out. The salads were delightful. The entrees were good though the bison ribeye might be something to drop from the menu. It had good flavor but is a tough piece of meat. Prices are a little high but you pay for high quality in a beautiful setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Manager at T. Cook's, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We appreciate the kind words, thank for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    86
    50
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Elegant Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

In the Royal Palms Resort in Phoenix, AZ, is a small, beautiful resort with terrific service and a small but excellent luncheon menu. Its location on Camelback Rd. makes it convenient to get to.
We dined there twice in the week we spent in Scottsdale.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quiet little bar and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

My first impression of the bar was that it was one of those upscale hotel bars with overpriced drinks and no ambiance. This establishment is located on the property of the Royal Palms Resort in Phoenix. It's nestled in with the casitas and other hotel buildings. We stopped in the bar to wait for our room to become available. The place is dark and the design is nothing memorable. We sat at the bar and the bartender was quick to greet us, offer us menus and get our drinks. It was 2:00 and we weren't starving but wanted a little something to eat. The menu consisted of appetizer type dishes because they were in between meal services. They offered things like grilled calamari, anti paste, cheese plates and zucca chips. The menu didn't give a decent description of the food items (I had no clue what zucca chips were and was told that they are zucchini chips) so we passed on ordering from the menu. The bartender then asked if we would like some of their snack mix. I wish she would have offered that up from the get go but I guess they want to try to sell food before giving any away. It had an assortment of dried fruits and nuts with a spicey seasoning mix on it; very tasty. After the first round of drinks still no call from the front desk letting us know our room was ready so we ordered another round. Of course the phone rang as soon as we took a drink from the next glass.

We were there for a business function so we didn't eat in the restaurant but in one of their private rooms (the Estrella). Dinner that night consisted of pot roast; don't know what it was actually called but that's what it was; with grilled shrimp, glazed carrots and mashed potatoes. It was very good and I had to keep myself from eating the whole thing because it was just too much food. The desserts were a small assortment of things, I tried the chocolate dish and it was heavenly.

We had breakfast in the same spot in the morning; lots if fresh fruit and bakery breads and a yogurt parfait that just hit the spot. The only complaints were from the birds trying to steal the berries.

And of course we had lunch there as well. An assortment of sub sandwiches, salads, chips, and desserts. I had the roast beef sub which had horse radish on it as well as lettuce and tomatoes. Everything was fresh and delicious. If this is any indication of the food they serve inside the actual restaurant then this place is a winner. If nothing else the banquet food was really good; which is really unusual. I'd eat there again but doubt I will stay there again (see my review on the Royal Palms Resort to find out why)

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Manager at T. Cook's, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. We are happy you were able to experience our new Lounge menu and appreciate you taking a moment to provide your thoughts. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed your group's Banquet dining experience as part of your company's function here at Royal Palms. We sincerely hope to see you again - whether for business or pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Anniversary celebration! We were married at Royal Palms 10 yrs. ago, thought to re-visit to celebrate. What a mistake. Overall the atmosphere is still the same, quiet, beautiful, serene. Had no idea the new menu began 5 days earlier. The homemade pesto and bread was delish, sorry we didn't keep this on the table, but we actually didn't have a choice, they removed it immediately after the bread was gone, oh yeah, the 2 pieces of bread. The pea soup w/lobster had absolutely no taste whatsoever, still looking for the lobster, the foie gras w/risotto was great! The black cod that I ordered listed asparagus, I asked if I could please have another vegetable was told by the server "this is a new menu and the Chef will not want to substitute anything", I proceeded to tell him I was allergic to asparagus, could I possibly have spaghetti squash? was told I could have carrots, seriously? Menu listed truffle creamed corn, has anyone seen it? I didn't. What showed up was a bed of carrots, piece of fish on top and 4 greens with 2 orange slices, absolutely tasteless, had to ask for lemon to try and perk it up. Husband ordered the Charred Bison ribeye, again, no flavor, so chewy and tough, he left most of it. What a disappointment, but I will say the rose petals on the table were thoughtful. The table, oh that was tucked in a corner leading to the outside patio and I sat and looked at a brick wall. Asked about dessert and carmel cheesecake creme brulee, told they no longer have it on the menu, coconut creme brulee, asked for the check and dashed over to Krispy Kreme!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Manager at T. Cook's, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We appreciate the feedback Marci. We sincerely value all guest feedback and take what you have to say to heart. Such sentiments are shared with the entire team as we never stop searching for ways to exceed guest expectations. We definitely hope to see you again very soon and provide us with another opportunity to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Worth trying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Had not been here in almost a year and had forgotten that the food is really good.
After being led to a table close to a door that opened frequently and requesting to be moved the evening was very pleasant. Good service and good quality food made for a nice time out with friends. The beet salad was delish and so were the other salads and appetizers. Everyone praised their entrees as well. And the chocolate desert was just right to be shared amongst all.
Will be back for lunch with the girls.

Cheers.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T. Cook's also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to T. Cook's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T. Cook's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.