We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the time if you are in the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Takamatsu

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Restaurant Takamatsu
4214 W Dunlap Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85051-3654 (North Mountain)
(623) 842-0400
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #360 of 2,568 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Neighborhood: North Mountain
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
477 reviews 477 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
815 helpful votes 815 helpful votes
“worth the time if you are in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you happen to be in the area it is good sushi. (I did not try any of the Korean dishes)

The menu is primarily American style sushi with tons of rolls.

The prices are fair.

The food is good.

The service was friendly and good.

I would not drive half way across town just to eat there but if I was in the area I certainly would go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for Korean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in at the restaurant on Litchfield Rd for lunch on a Saturday. My wife and I shared the fried Tofu for an appetizer, I had the Bi Bim Bop and my wife had the BBQ short ribs..EXCELLENT. This will be a regulate spot for us.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotopaxi, Colorado
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Excellent Korean Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My friend and I went lived in Korea for three years so we come here when we decide we want Korean food. I have been coming here for awhile, it was near my old office building, it was not a random choice.

I had the Bul Go Ki although we did not have it cooked at the table. My wife had the vegetable tempura while my friend and her husband had the chicken teriyaki. The meal comes with a eight piece assortment of Korean vegetables which we enjoyed. The kimchi was mild. Service was very good. The place has been remodelled but it still in a strip mall. So overall five dots for the food, service and value. Three dots for the atmosphere. We keep coming back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yummy Korean and Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

Went with friends and had a very good meal. Sushi was good and Korean BBQ at the table was very good. Service was good. Not a fancy place but food and service worth a try.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Sushi, Decent Korean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We started with the Sushi Sampler and the five pieces were very good. For dinner we had the Kalbi Dolsot Bibim Bap which was very large and tasteful. We also had the Bul Go Ki which I wouldn't recommend since it was not marinated very well. Having been stationed in Korea, the Bulgoki is usually more tasteful.
Decent prices and the service was okay.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Takamatsu also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Restaurant Takamatsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Takamatsu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.