We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tasting food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Szechwan Palace

Szechwan Palace
668 N 44th Street, Suite 108, Phoenix, AZ 85008 (Camelback East)
602-6850888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 2,595 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Paramus, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great tasting food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

The food and the service were excellent. Well priced and a very extensive menu. Their lunch menu was great and the prices were excellent

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san diego, ca
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese Food in Phoenix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

When you walk into a chinese restaurant and observe that 95% of the diners are asian, that's probably a good indicator that the food is good; and it was. This is REAL chinese food. Substantial menu, moderately priced, informal setting. Restaurant is located in the Chinese Cultural Center on 44th St. Certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Amazing ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

My wife and I were staying across the street and the hotel staff recommended we try this place.

I am so happy that we listened. This was some of the best Chinese food that I have outside of China.

When you eat at an ethnic restaurant and 90% of the customers are of the same nationality then you know it's really good.

My wife and I ordered off the Chinese menu which kind of surprised the staff. They were afraid we wouldn't like it. They could not have been more wrong.

We ordered the duck that had been smoked with tea leaves. It was really really good. My only comment is that it was super crispy. That's the only thing that could have made it better. We also ordered the sweet and sour pork ribs. It's hard to describe how great they were. We also ordered the Szechuan noodles. This was the first time I had ever tried them and now I am hooked. The only problem will be finding them in SC.

I will make a point to eat here again when I come back to Phoenix.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

This place was just across the stree from our hotel. Most of the clientele were Asian. The menu was substantial with large numbers of dishes. Having lived in Taiwan I am always looking for real Chinese food. We had some steamed buns that were some of the best I have ever had. The prep time was around 20 minutes but well worth the wait. The time means they were made from scratch. Also the hot spicy fish mixed with heaps of hot peppers, garlic and ginger were magnificent. The service was great. Our server commented that we had chosen some very traditional foods. Wish this place was near us. This will make our local food seem so unauthentic having been reminded of how good the real deal is. I chuckled when I got to the last three pages of the menu that had at the top of the menu said Americanized Chinese food

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Came for a quick dinner and we were very satisfied. We needed a good local place to have Chinese fare and this was a home run! We thought we would do well to try something in the Chinese Cultural Center, and we were correct. They have a full Chinese menu and then an "Americanized" menu. We stuck with "safe" foods this time but will likely be a little more adventurous in future trips. This was the best hot n sour soup I have ever enjoyed. We will be stopping in here again, to be sure.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechwan Palace also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Szechwan Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szechwan Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.