We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carolina's mexican restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina's Mexican Food-The Original

Carolina's Mexican Food-The Original
1202 E Mohave St, Phoenix, AZ 85034-5238
602-252-1503
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 2,583 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Goodyear, Arizona
1 review
“Carolina's mexican restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Not really a restaurant per say. its fast food more like. My son just quit working there recently because he is back at college and no longer needs the job. He worked there for almost a year. Here is what I can say from my eating there and his working there. There food is average and it is over priced. The Menudo there is very expensive and doesn't come with the panza or stomach meat unless you pay extra for it. All mexican places I have been eating menudo comes with it. Just simply crazy. I can't believe people don't see there are better priced places to get menudo at and it tastes better. There beef tacos are delicious but the chicken ones are bland. Not much flavor my son says they don't flavor the chicken hardly that much. Everything is cooked in lard or made with lard. Yes it makes things taste good but for the more health conscious people they might want to know. There little bag of homemade chips is expensive. I can buy a bigger bag of homemade chips at foodcity for the same price. My son says alot of the people who go there don't seem to know there is better priced food and tasting out there. I have had better Menudo at the Supermercado walmart and it comes with the Panza. So on average some of there food is good but most of it isn't. The cashiers do not seem to want to take your order. Not all that friendly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    48
    14
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Get your food to go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Carolina's is a very busy, no-frills, reasonably priced joint at the corner of Mohave and 12th St, just south of downtown, somewhat near the airport. It's got parking on both sides of the street, so don't freak out if you don't see a spot from the direction you're approaching from!

They offer a somewhat limited menu of breakfast burros, burros, tacos, enchiladas, etc, with a variety of combination plates that offer good value for money. They've got one meal that has flautas in it, and one option for a chimichanga. If you want to take home some of their homemade tortillas or tostada shells, you can.

We've eaten there twice so far. The first time, we had burritos enchilada style to go. My red sauce was kind of basic but yummy, but my husband's green sauce was fantastic. The second time, we got a plain burrito--weirdly small, so order 2 if you aren't going enchilada style--while I got the flauta combination. My flauta combination had guac, salsa, sour cream, chopped lettuce and tomatoes, and fluffy grated cheddar on top of the flautas, as well as a small serving of beans and rice. Though we found the guacamole disappointingly seasonless, the sour cream is really lovely and tangy, and the basic red salsa has a great zip to it.

I'm not going to rate it down for the ambience; this just isn't that kind of joint. For what it is, it's really great and dependable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Authentic experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I really wanted to love Carolinas, but it was average at best. I thought I was prepared for the lack of atmosphere, but I cannot overstate that point to future diners. A school cafeteria has more ambiance, and certainly less flies. There is no table service, you order at a counter much like any fast food place, and the food is served in styrofoam containers. They also do not serve alcohol. For these reasons I feel Carolinas is best experienced at lunch. On the positive side, the stafff is polite and the food made fresh while you wait. Our family ordered flour tortillas with chicken and cheese, soft shell chicken tacos, a hard shell beef taco platter and red bean tamales. Overall, the food was all flavorful and the portions generous. Sadly I did not find the flour tortillas to be as spectacular as other reviewers. I don't think I will return and dine in, but I can see how it would be a great place for locals who enjoy authentic, no fuss Mexican food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Where the locals go!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

There is a reason that Carolina's continues to win awards. Their pricing is fair, the taste of the food is excellent and there is always a line!!! sometimes out the door but definitely worth the wait!!! The only negative about Carolina's is the decision on what to order because it is ALL so GOOD!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“a treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hole in the wall offers great food at a great price. Not on the beaten path... very close to Phoenix airport.. legit Mexican food

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina's Mexican Food-The Original also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Carolina's Mexican Food-The Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina's Mexican Food-The Original, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.