We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to eat and mingle.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Strand Urban Italian

The Strand Urban Italian
2 East Jefferson Street, Phoenix, AZ
602.253.1600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #168 of 2,593 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st Street
Description: Fairly new place in the Cityscape complex
Redondo Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very nice place to eat and mingle.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The staff were very professional and courteous, and the food was very good. I chose to go back for another meal after my first visit the month before.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    25
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, AZ
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I tried something different and liked it as well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A lot of times I seem to find a favorite at a restaurant and then reorder the same thing, but I had already found a couple of different items I liked, so I decided to try something new. It was very good as well. My wife really liked the salmon salad, and I had the Chicken with penne pasta. We weren't planning on eating here, as they usually don't open until 4 pm, but thankfully they opened at 3 pm.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“What happened to my reservation?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We planned to attend the Billy Joel concert on June 1st, so a week before I called to get a reservation. No problem said whomever I connected with, June 1, 5 pm, no confirmation number required, "we ill be expecting you". On concert day, about 1 pm called just to confirm and Adam told me we don't have your reservation and we don't take reservations on event nights. Although Adam did not exactly accusing me of lying he did say people were calling all day claiming they had reservations. Adam suggested if we arrived at 5 pm, getting a table would not be a problem, so I said, great, then just give me a reservation - he declined. Despite a rough start, we made the decision to try the Strand.

When we arrived at 5 pm, the restaurant was quiet and we were immediately seated. Michael, our server, appeared and welcomed us to the restaurant immediately warming us up. We started with a Cherry Limeade and a Shock Top (no happy hour prices on event nights), and then had the Angry Shrimp as recommended by Michael - great recommendation, the Angry Shrimp were very nice, spicy, flavourful, not burning spicy. We then split a pear salad, which was excellent and huge, we are so glad we split it, it would make a large salad meal for a single person. Nice, fresh, flavourful.

For mains I had the Crab Linguini, and my wife had the Chicken Parmesan, both were very nice, tender chicken, lots of crab and protein, and flavour. The service did slow down as we went through the meal as the restaurant got very busy, and loud, which was fine, Michael did a great job and were done dinner in plenty of time to be relaxed and head over to see Billy Joel at the US Airways Centre. I know they wanted to turn the table, however at no time did Michael make us feel rushed. We did leave by 6:30 so they probably got a second turn. We were too full to try desert.

Overall, other than the mix up with our reservations, the service was excellent (thanks Michael) and the food very good. A great spot before a concert or event.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carefree
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An excellent pre concert dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

With prompt service from Michael, an excellent dinner was enjoyed prior to attending the symphony...2 blocks away. They start with crusty slices of bread served with a hearty pesto. I had the Italian beef sandwich and Caesar salad....very good. My companion had a huge and tasty burger. The place is fairly small so get there early as the arena and ballpark are close also. Cool lighting!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good, but overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

It may be that I get high quality corn-fed meat and fresh farm raised produce in the midwest, but the quality of the food wasn't as good as the reviews stated. With that said, the staff was great and the food was good enough that I would go back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strand Urban Italian also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Strand Urban Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strand Urban Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.