We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fred Flintstone ribs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Hound Kitchen and Cocktails

Blue Hound Kitchen and Cocktails
2 East Jefferson Street, Phoenix, AZ
602-258-0231
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Hound Kitchen and Cocktails is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #100 of 2,595 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st and Jefferson
Transit: Conveniently located on the light rail path. Washington and Central when traveling west bound and Jefferson and First Avenue when traveling east bound
Description: A Contemporary American Gastro-lounge located in the heart of the Phoenix"s vibrant Cityscape development downtown. Chef Stephen Jones draws inspiration from local Arizona purveyors and farmers for an ingredient-driven New American social plates menu meant to be enjoyed with artisanal wines, craft cocktails and great beers. Nationally recognized Master Mixologist Jacques Bezuidenhout teams-up with a handful of the best known bar chefs in the valley to present Phoenix's most forward-thinking cocktail program alongside a carefully tailored wine list hand-selected by Master Sommelier Emily Wines. The mode is neighborhood friendly but casually polished, from the cozy lobby lounge up front to the convivial dining room and patio in back. The colors, furnishings and light convey an at home vibe. Three distinct atmospheres provide a theatrical backdrop for any occasion and seating for 115 guests.
minneapolis, mn
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fred Flintstone ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I did not have the short ribs but many at my table did and loved them (they smelled great). The roasted nuts and tater tots are great as an appetizer, and the baby zucchini "corn dogs' were really fun!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    49
    14
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cave Creek, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Slamming Good Food...Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great location and delicious food but on this night the service was just not there.

Sunday night 6:30 reservation and after 15 minutes in our seat we had to get the hostess to find our server! However something was wrong with the entire restaurant & we could not put our finger on it. We ordered the pate, the heirloom tomato, and the Kobe Ribs....errrr no Kobe Ribs and that was @6:45? we decided on the Fried Qual & The Pork Neck.

The pate was excellent, the heirloom tomato dish was made with not fully ripened tomatoes and rather skimpy slices at that...more to follow. The Fried Qual was Excellent and the Pork Neck with Hominy was excellent however the meat required a magnifying glass to find....more to follow.

Whats refreshing is that the servings are right sized for healthy diners and not gigantic portions. We wanted to try the flatbread and the server suggested the Duck Confit Flatbread...so we ordered and we waited and waited and waited 15 minutes later the server arrives to tell me the order got lost in the kitchen...as in the kitchen was on its butt!

I asked to see the GM. He came out...and it is the same man I had seen in the kitchen all night long....he was very apologetic and revealed that they were running out of most of the items. Thus explaining no Kobe obviously but more to the point the hobbled meal we experienced....greenish thinly sliced tomatoes, and scant pieces of pork....you get it.

Evidently the previous night they were slammed yet still thought it wise to open on Sunday for dinner service. GM asked to comp our meal and we refused as we can easily understand growing pains. The food here is excellent and Thursday, Friday and Saturday are probably great choices for dining but we will not return for at least 6 months to allow this place to settle down.

Chef great food but front of the house was in chaos due to the menu.....hard pill to swallow.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to take clients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Being so close to the stadiums and convention center this ended up to be a great place to take clients for dinner with several bars close by for after dinner drinks.

The service was great and the menu made favorite foods in a higher class standard. You must have the Tator Tots, simply amazing!

Great views, great staff and would highly recommend and return on future visits.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner with my wife and another couple. We all had a few different drinks, and they all were very good. The tater tots were amazing, but the sopes were only ok. Had the short rib which was great! After dinner we sat out on the patio never rushed to leave despite having already paid.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My partner and I dined here while staying at the hotel, over Labor Day, and what an amazing experience! The food was delicious and the manager, Cheyenne, introduced us to their outrageously, delicious Grits with Blue cheese. She made our experience one of the best I have had so far, at this hotel. The place was packed and the energy was electrifying! The service was spot on and the staff were beyond friendly!
This is a restaurant everyone should visit to give yourself that restful experience! Believe me...you will forget that you're in Phoenix.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Hound Kitchen and Cocktails also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Blue Hound Kitchen and Cocktails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Hound Kitchen and Cocktails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.