We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diamond in A Rough (Place)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Phoenix Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Phoenix Downtown to your Saves list
Super 8 Phoenix Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   965 East Van Buren, Phoenix, AZ 85006 (Central City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
cochise county
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A Diamond in A Rough (Place)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

At some point on Van Buren in Phoenix, things get a little dodgy. Right on the border is the Super 8. I stayed here for 2 nights and had two of the best nights sleep in a long time. The room was super clean, everything worked, it was just great. The price was right, too.
I booked it on line and went by the reviews, but mostly the Mgr's responses to the bad reviews.
I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor center...very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahir, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Wow! Thank you very much. Come back when you need two more great nights of sleep. Review like yours keep our employees working hard when they know they are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    67
    27
    19
    25
See reviews for
48
35
19
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Nice clean rooms with flat screens. A couple blocks from the Convention Center, great value!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahir, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and found the overall experience adequate.
Good price, good room, great location and adequate breakfast.
We had one problem with the room, the fridge did not work.
I thought the management could have done more by solving the problem other than offering us an alternative room. This would have been a bit inconveniant because we had already un packed all our stuff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahir, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come and see us the next time you are in Phoenix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Stayed her for total of 2 nights. The hotel is pretty much road touch. A place seemed a bit over noisy during weekend. The rooms were okay. Breakfast definitely need some improving. The parking lot was dated quite a bit. Staff was friendly enough. The internet kept on disconnecting for some reason, it may have been something with my pc but I had used it a few days earlier at some other hotel. Overall stay was okay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed here for two nights while attending the All-Star Game/Home-run Derby, etc... This is an older hotel, however has recently been updated. Our room was spotless, had new carpet, tile, upgraded bath, flat screen tv. Rooms are smaller than some of the newer hotels, however it was large enough for a king bed, chair with foot rest, desk, and entertainement center/dresser. A little weather stripping around the door would maybe help a bit as it appeared a lot of light was coming in which means hot air could get in also!

A free breakfast was included with waffles, yogurt, cereal, toast, fruit, juice, coffee. Dining area is small, but very clean and organized. The property has a swimming pool and there is a computer in the Lobby area for use.

It is an easy walk to Chase Field, US Airway Center, the light rail, etc.... There is a great authentic Mexican restaurant/bakery about a block away - La Tolteca.

Manager/owner, desk personel, & breakfast attendant were wonderful. Very friendly and knew the area in order to recommend things to do and places to eat. This is a simple, but clean motel. It was quiet and comfortable. We will definately stay here again when we come up for anything taking place in the downtown area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahir, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Thank you staying with us, We hope that you enjoyed the rest of Phoenix as well. It is our goal to make every stay a 10!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This was our first stay in a Super 8. We are a family of 4 and spent 1 night here. We were just passing through so didn't get a chance to see much of the city but we found this hotel very convenient.

There was a small convenience store over the road which was handy. The rooms were quite newly updated and spacious and the bathroom was nicely renovated also. The kids enjoyed the pool area which was clean. We really enjoyed the breakfast which consisted of a waffle machine, cereal, fruit, pastries etc.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahir, Owner at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for the nice review. My staff and I are working hard to make every stay a TEN. See you the next time you pass through Phoenix and stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Great location, close, walking distance to Chase Field for MLB games. Very courteous staff, helpful and polite. Rooms newly remodelled and decorated. Were with a large group attending 2 MLB games, owners laid on extra food for super start breakfast. Would definitely stay they next visit to Phoenix.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahir, Owner at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
Thank you for your nice response. We have worked hard over the last year to make major improvements to our property as well as staff and guest loyalty. With the renovations now complete we look forward to serving you and your group agqain in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Phoenix Downtown

Address: 965 East Van Buren, Phoenix, AZ 85006
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Phoenix Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated property is located just minutes from the Phoenix Convention Center, Chase Field and the US Airways Center. 100% Smoke Free property. Full service quality at less than half the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Super Eight Phoenix
Phoenix Super Eight
Phoenix Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.