We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5220 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054 (Desert Ridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #20 of 176 hotels in Phoenix
Yarmouth, Maine
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“The BEST!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

WE are owners here and at other Marriott Properties. This is the best by far. Right next door to the JW Marriott, Desert Ridge. We spent a lot of time at the JW using the pool etc. We also spent a lot of time t the pool at Canyon Villas and enjoyed that also. Great location. Convienent to all services and 30 min to the airport. Great Place. Highly reccomend

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    107
    27
    20
    1
See reviews for
165
127
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

This Vacation club community is great. We spent a lot of time both at this property, and at the connected JW Marriott resort. It was an easy, and enjoyable walk. We stayed in a 1 bedroom with a Kitchen. There is an outdoor mall about a mile away - again very walkable with a stroller. Everything was in like new condition. We will definitely go back.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

I must confess I do not usually write on Trip Advisor, but feel a sense of obligation given the overwhelming positive reviews on this property. I do not recommend this property for business travelers. This is a Marriott Vacation Club resort and should not be confused with regular Marriott quality. This is not a place for business people.

The room I was was put into, at $409 per night, was an absolute disaster. small, cramped, tired carpeting, noisy and no desk. It was a "lock-off" of a main unit...nothing better then a small bedroom with functional bath. I was able (with much hassle) to move across the road to a much better room in the adjacent JW Marriott. At a lower rate...no contest.

Business Traveller Beware!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

Beautiful place! Great layout, the rooms were gorgeous, pools amazing!! Loved
every part of our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We love Canyon Villas! We have been owners for 5 years now and every year we go. We have thought about banking or trading in our weeks but every time we stay here, we love it.

The rooms are kept in great condition. They recently upgraded some rooms with flat screens, new carpet, new upholstery and paint.

What separates this property from other time shares is the staff. The pool bar staff is outstanding. Matt and Jonalynn provide the best service and always have a smile on their faces. Matt and Jonalynn make our stay in like we are staying with family. The service at the Canyon Villas pool bar exceeds that of the JW. We stopped going to the JW pool bar about 2 years ago.

The pool is great. The property also has a mini water park for kids, quiet pool, and steam sauna. The gym was recently upgraded with new cardio equipment. Each cardio equipment now has it own TV and iPod hook up.

Front desk staff great. Grounds are kept really clean and integrated with the "desert" environment.

We always visit the Revive spa at the JW and are always happy with the level of service and professionalism. The spa has great amenities such as wet and dry sauna, indoor jacuzzi, private indoor shower, semi-private outdoor showers, private outdoor sunning area in each gender's locker room.

Towels and robes provided. Locker room attendants are quick cleaning up making the locker room immaculate. The spa pool is very relaxing and food at the Spa Bistro is really good also. We had the blackened cod and it was very tasty.

We can't imagine a year without vacationing at Canyon Villas!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa the first week of January.
Rooms: very spacious. Kitchen - spacious, well equipped & decent counter space for working. They gave us enough paper towels, dish soap & dishwasher soap for our 5 night/6 day stay.
Living area - very good area for 2. Couch was really, really comfortable with a decent sized LCD tv.
Bathroom - great design. Tub & sink in one room with shower, sink & toilet in another. Both rooms had vanities so lots of room for toiletries.
Staff was professional & friendly. There are 4 or 5 pools with the main pool being the largest. It has a grill for drinks & snacks. Pools are all nice & each area has a few bbq/grills.
JW Marriott - villas provide a shuttle but it is an easy walk. Beautiful grounds, pools & hotel. We only went once as our pools were not busy at all during our stay.
Desert Ridge Shopping Center has some great shopping with a bit of everything there - a number of restaurants, theatre, large book store, high end stores, Ross store, Marshall's, etc. It is not very far & villas provide morning shuttle service.
We ate in our villa so cannot comment on restaurants but it looked as though there were numerous restaurants within a 2-mile radius.
The only thing I would caution about this place - it is very nice but not a resort. Grounds are well-kept but not lavish. It does not have that type of ambience. These are villas & have more of a vacation property feel about them - a higher end one though.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

We are Frog fans and stayed here for the Fiesta Bowl. We got a great deal on the Marriott web site for a 2 bedroom which easily slept the 5 of us. Of course, as renters we did not have a great view out of the window but we didn't expect much. The resort is near the JW Marriott but we didn't use the JW's facilities except my wife used the spa. The pools at the condos are nice and the location is convenient for getting around Scotsdale as well as north Phoenix. My family did a lot of shopping and my wife and I took the trail to the top of Camelback Mountain. All good. We played golf at the TPC Stadium course and at the Marriott's Faldo course. Virtually no one on the Faldo course and very good rates!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge

Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott
Address: 5220 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#16 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.