We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation in the Desert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge to your Saves list
Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5220 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054 (Desert Ridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #15 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton, Michigan
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Family Vacation in the Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We spent two weeks at this resort from February 21, 2014 to March 7, 2014. One week we stayed in an efficiency room (like a large hotel room) with small refrigerator and microwave and small sink. The second week we stayed in a one bedroom unit which had a full kitchen. We are timeshare owners here and enjoy staying here. The accommodations are wonderful and the activities staff provides activities for the guests to participate in. Some of the activities included - hiking at Pinnacle Peak, water color class (fee), wine tasting, beer tasting, making salsa, making granola (fee) and different ethnic reasonable priced meals by pool area. There is a good size pool area with a lap pool and this was great as some people in our group enjoy swimming laps. Canyon Villas is located within walking distance to the J. W. Marriott which has a number of restaurants. There is plenty to do in Phoenix - plenty of golf courses - plenty of other attractions.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3100 building which was away from main pool and a quiet area - distance from main pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
On behalf of our entire team, we thank you for your five-star review of Marriott’s Canyon Villas! We are always happy to hear from our owners and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    142
    34
    23
    4
See reviews for
223
174
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a wonderful week at marriott canyon villas! Accomodation is large clean and very pleasent. Lots of parking available. Lots of gorgeous clean pools and some nice places to eat. Close to a large shopping complex, with a free shuttle service. The only thing I would say is that it is a fair drive out from the city, but this isnt always a bad thing!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for the five-star review of Marriott’s Canyon Villas! Our entire team appreciates your kind words and we look forward to having you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Front desk service was excellent at check in. This is our 2nd trip here. Villa was very clean and quiet. Comfortable beds. Used the golf course. Service there was excellent. Course was in great condition. Will definitely return again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Canyon Villas! We truly appreciate your five-star review and thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We hope you return to visit us again soon in Phoenix!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Marriott Villas are a first-class operation but we stayed in a 1-bedroom unit that was very small with no view so it didn't really seem like a resort experience. The service was excellent and there was a nice gathering each evening for guests. But the resort is kind out of the way, with little else interesting nearby. The Desert Ridge shopping center adjoins the property but it's a quarter-mile walk and the center's main feature is a grocery store--handy for sure to buy stuff for the room and fridge. But not the kind of shopping that appeals to visitors which is found in abundance a few miles away in Scottsdale. On the other hand, if what you're after is access to luxury hotel amenities, the adjacent J. W. Marriott hotel has plenty of those.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Canyon Villas. Our team is happy to hear you enjoyed the service you received and the great nightly activities. Your feedback about your villa is also appreciated as we continually work to improve our guest experience. Thank you again for visiting us and providing your review of Marriott’s Canyon Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at these villas over the New Year holiday with our two kiddos and my in-laws, who had their own room. We rented a one-bedroom villa with a connecting two-queen studio for our guys. We were on the first floor and liked our walk-out balcony. The covered parking is first-come, first-serve but we never had an issue getting a spot. We were in one of the further buildings, which I liked because we were away from the noise from the pool and resort traffic.

The unit was very roomy with a nice-sized kitchen and ample dining table. We had a walk-thru bathroom and nice living area. I didn't find the rooms very worn as previous reviews stated. That said, we're not in the Marriot vacation club so I viewed it more as a regular hotel room.

We enjoyed the pool and there is a separate "mini splash pool" for little kids. I used the workout room, which was nice. One area has all cardio equipment and there is another area for weights. Our kids enjoyed the common room off the lobby with an XBox set-up. You can also rent movies and buy some quick snacks (and wine) at the little room off the lobby. Having a full kitchen and washer/dryer in the room makes travel so much easier, especially with three generations in tow.

The outdoor fire pits are nice and we went to a sponsored candy-apple making station and, later, hot dogs and brats by the fire. You're very close to the J.W. and can use its facilities and you're near so many restaurants and entertainment options (like an AMC movie theatre).

We would definitely return for the room space and convenient location in the city.

Room Tip: decide in advance if you want upper or lower level floor and then call before you get there for bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is not a Marriott, this is a timeshare. Your Marriott status gets you nother here; not an upgrade, no concierge lounge, no late check-out, not even a complimentary bottled water. Like most timeshares, the talented employees sell memberships, they don't provide service. The pool isn't that special - stay at another Marriott and be treated better. Not sure how anyone would rate this 5 star - they must be in the vacation club & desperate for additional owners.

Room Tip: pay the person checking you in cash? Hope & pray?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Canyon Villas. As a loyal Marriott Rewards member, we appreciate your feedback regarding your stay and apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Marriott Vacation Club is not a typical hotel experience and provides our guests with many additional amenities, services, activities and a luxury full-size villa. This does limit our ability to offer late check-outs due to the time required to service the villas.
Thank you again for your review and for being a loyal Marriott Rewards Member.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Grove, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Spend a week here in October 2013 for our third visit to this resort and had an enjoyable stay.
The grounds and rooms were well kept and the service was top notch. The resort is starting to update some of the rooms and we were notified prior to our stay and were not bothered by any construction. With all of the activities at the Marriott as well as local activities, we had a very good visit to Phoenix and will plan to return.

Room Tip: We requested a golf course view suite and were fortunate to have a wonderful view of the JW and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge

Address: 5220 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 504
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.