We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5220 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054 (Desert Ridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 175 hotels in Phoenix
saint louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Location Location and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our second trip to Phoenix and our first time at Canyon Villas. We had a special offer from Interval International that we took advantage of - only disappoinment was that it was only for an efficency or hotel type room. We definitely would go back to enjoy a larger room. The room was very nice however considering we didn't spend a whole lot of time in there. Loved having a coffee pot, microwave and small refrig though. We understand they are upgrading rooms in 2014 (furniture alittle dated).

The grounds are beautiful and all the staff were very helpful and informative. The pool here is very nice and good size by the main entrance. We did not try the quiet pool that was further down as while we were here it was not very busy and very few kids. Besides the bar and food was only available at this pool. Felt the prices were reasonable and they did happy hour pricing in the late afternoon. Used the workout facilities which were small but alot of great equipment.

The big plus at this Marriott is you are right next to the JW Marriott (which is largest hotel in Arizona) and a huge shopping mall. They provide shuttle service back and forth to these at no charge. Our driver 'Damian' was tremondous and helpful with all kinds of tips. The JW Marriott has an unbelievable pool area with the Lazy River where you float around in big tubes. Several nice restaurants and bars with great happy hours here. The shopping mall has alot of restaurants too.

The biggest highlight was the Grand Canyon tour with Detours which you can book through the Marriott Villas but we did it separately and got a better discount with triple A (AAA). Our tour guide 'Montana' absolutely made the trip a success. He was so informative and funny. It is a long day - 12 to 13 hours but the time passed fast because of him. Stopped at the Red Rocks in Sedona and several locations through the Grand Canyon. The sandwiches you order for lunch are amazing. This is a must if you have never done it.

Room Tip: We followed others tips and went for the third floor and by the golf course. Very quiet. Building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    111
    28
    20
    1
See reviews for
177
135
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
altoona, pa United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We own 2 weeks of timeshare here and already this place needs an overhaul. Makes you wonder where all the maintenance money is going. We had a 2nd floor room near the Main building. Asked for 3rd floor but was told none were available. With this place, it is 1st come-1st serve. They show no priority preference to Marriott Gold members who own 2 weeks there. The door to our Master bedroom was warped and would not close. Was repaired before we left. Furniture is chipped and worn. Doors are all banged up and have black marks. We are done here for awhile. Time to try a fresher hotel or resort in a less noisy environment.

Room Tip: Call ahead 2 weeks for room type request. Check in early on a Saturday to get that request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of Marriott's Canyon Villas. While we appreciate your feedback, it is disappointing to hear about the poor quality of your villa. This is not typical of our resort experience and we would appreciate an opportunity to address your concerns. Please contact our customer care team at 800 860 9384 or via email at customer.care@vacationclub.com so that we may personally respond to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Small room that's in great need of upgrade! Uncomfortable bed! A/C either on full blast, and blowing right on the bed, or completely OFF! There is no control to regulate the fan speed, so it's all or nothing. Towels have holes in them, and quite worn! Room is small!! 'Kitchen' is a joke! Tiny sink, mini everything. If you're used to any quality, better look somewhere else! This place is anything BUT quality! Fair warning!! It's pretty bad!!

Room Tip: Ask at front desk if they have a larger room. I haven't seen all the rooms, but it seems like s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of Marriott's Canyon Villas. While we appreciate your feedback, it is disappointing to hear about the poor experience at our resort. This is not typical of our resort experience and we would appreciate an opportunity to address your concerns. Please contact our customer care team at 800 860 9384 or via email at customer.care@vacationclub.com so that we may personally respond to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Clean and well maintained; being completely renovated next year to keep it fresh. Great service. Access to the amenities at the JW next door. Lots of activities to participate in. This is a timeshare so you will be asked to attend a presentation which you are free to refuse, but if you do attend they are not high pressure. We had a mixture of weather this week which added variety to our trip. On Monday morning they have activity vendors present their services so you can also plan things to do in the area such as horseback riding, Segway tours (fun and easy to ride), train trip up Verde Canyon, ATV tours and others.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms add great views of the beautiful desert vistas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My parents are long time Marriott timeshare holders. The Canyon villas are consistent with other properties. The decor, mattress quality and service was consistent with other locations. This location is very family friendly. I felt a little overwhelmed with amount of children in the pool area and the lack of supervision. I also felt this location may caterer to a different marriott timeshare owner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This review is for people trying to decide whether they want to exchange into here or purchase an Interval International getaway week with special emphasis on pros and cons compared to other timeshare options. We booked the week for an amazing Getaway week through Interval and I was worried about the Sept. heat but the 95-100 weather was actually perfect for our days at the pool.

I have stayed in the Westin Kierlands and while the Westin still can't quite be beat for service (they have bell hops to help with luggage, service at your seat at the timeshare pool, etc) I think for my family, now that we've tried both, will be going back to the Marriott. If I want all that service I could go over to the JW Marriott next door (which we did) which has an AMAZING lazy river that my kids loved and it really was heaven that we were waited on all day (at the villas, they have a snack bar but its self-service). The pools and facilities are great both at the hotel and also at the timeshare. The Canyon Villas property is huge compared to most timeshares, with three separate pool sections and something for everyone. I prefer the pool options at the Marriott and I also loved the spacious two bedrooms. The Westin was nice but a little smaller and there was no full-sized oven, which was a problem for me because I do cook and heat stuff up for my kids all the time in the oven. I don't know if we had a remodeled unit but everything in ours was top notch.

I also really liked that if I wanted I could pay to put my kids in half-day camp over at the JW and if I didn't want to pay then in the afternoon I could go over with my son, who always loves to do the Wii and other games. At the Westin your kids could only go in the Kids Club for paid babysitting (which is a nice option but sometimes you want to play and have fun as a family). The grounds really are superbly maintained and they had some really nice little touches. They not only have the pools, splash park and playground, they also had a beautiful courtyard area where we played shuffleboard and bocce ball. They also had an edible garden that we toured as one of the activities and guests are invited to pick whatever they liked, so you could have fresh peppers or basil for pesto and although they were too small when we were there, the pomegranates looked awesome too!

I love Phoenix/Scottsdale in general as a great place for a warm weather family vacation and of all the timeshares we've been to the Westin Kierlands and Marriott Canyon Villas are WAY better than the other places. For the reasons above though, we'll be coming back to the Canyon Villas next time (we've already booked a week in January)!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stay at Marriott properties several times a year and this property was comfortable. We were there one week and the waterfall feature in the hot tub was like a massage. Loved it. The property is close to a huge shopping center with every food choice you could ask for and with the shuttle service the property provides you never have to move your car, if you don't want to. That being said, the day before we were scheduled to leave a staff member banged on our door and we thought they would walk in. We had the do not disturb sign on the door. Policy demands that staff call before knocking on the door when the DO NOT DISTURB sign is posted. Yes, that was a mistake. I called the office to report this incident immediately and didn't receive a call back from management that day. When we checked out this morning, the manager on duty was not aware of our complaint which is another mistake from the front office staff for not reporting this to the management. For 10 years I have rated Marriott as a 10 when it comes to feeling safe and secure. This property gets a 0.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge

Address: 5220 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.