We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoping to return soon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5220 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054 (Desert Ridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 174 hotels in Phoenix
Toronto
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Hoping to return soon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just got home from a week at Canyon Villas. Staff was very accomodating (alllowed early check-in). Got a building and view that was very nice. As an owner at another Marriott property, there is a certain level of expectation. It was absolutely met! Clubhouse is comparatively small but functional. On-site pools are either large and deep or not so deep (1') but still large and inviting. Villa upgrading is to take place starting in Jan'14 but still were very well maintained and furnished. Shuttles to JW only run every 30min so decided to walk one way. Even in 100F heat, not too bad. A very pleasant stay and definitely a place I want to return.

Room Tip: 3300/3200 bldgs are close to shallow pool. Ask for golf view for ANY bldg (east facing) to avoid aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    117
    31
    19
    1
See reviews for
187
140
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

As a frequent user of Marriott resort properties, you expect the same consistent quality in each location. Was not disappointed. Canyon Villas are spacious, kitchen well stocked, a wide selection of scheduled activities, all for a great family vacation experience. Proximity to the JW is also a plus as we had access to their restaurants and shops. Lazy river was a big hit with my kids. Two thumbs up for the regular shuttle service to JW as well as to the Desert Ridge shopping mall.

Canyon pool was also a lot of fun although we'd prefer if they don't turn off lights in the pool area so early. Not too much fun to show up for an 8 pm swim and find most of the pool area in darkness; especially when pool closes at 11 pm.

Villas are beginning to show their age. Planned restoration work in the coming months should be a welcome improvement.

Will definitely stay here again, when next in the area. It's a great family resort.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salinas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed for a week and enjoyed every day. Lots of fun activities planned throughout the day such as sushi making, bracelet making, rootbeer floats, reptile show, live music poolside and much more presented by really nice staff who were very welcoming. Shuttle service to nearby J.W.Marriott Desert Ridge Resort and Spa property was punctual when we went to float down the lazy river. Tons of fun! Dined at Roy's one evening for a treat and enjoyed spa treatment another which was great. Smores were enjoyed one evening in a courtyard that had shuffleboard with lights strung overhead in the trees and comfortable wicker rockers and furniture for lounging. Villa itself was comfortable with everything one would need...patio, fully equipped kitchen and of course wonderful beds with maid service provided. Less than a mile away is a huge shopping area with grocery store,cinemas, restaurants and alot more. I definitely will be back to this friendly place!

Room Tip: We were at end of property on third floor so had to drive to catch shuttle but it was quiet. Some pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at this resort two years ago, so we knew exactly what we were getting. In fact, our room was two down from the one we had before. We had a huge two bedroom apartment, and up to the standard we have grown to expect from Marriott. The pool area is clean and the staff very friendly. The food on offer is pretty standard at the pool side bar - and the drinks are good. Parking is easy - most are covered - so a little bit of relief from the 120 degree heat. The resort is well positioned - nice mall nearby great market store for all you will need whilst at your apartment.
As a guest, you can also use the facilities at the JW Marriott just over the way. They provide a free courtesy bus, so its a couple of minutes - but better than driving over yourself as its truly door to door. If you do drive over then you will be parking a long way from the JW reception so the bus is the best I find.
We actually spent most of the time at the JW pool - they have a couple of pools and a lazy river - and its a huge space - but if you have small kids you cannot take noodles or rafts in - so best stick to the Canyon pool if you want those.
We love the area - Scottsdale and Phoenix is a wonderful place - loads of great restaurants and the shopping is excellent.
There is a local gem too - the Music Instrument Museum - just ten minutes down the road and truly excellent.
We are sure to return to Desert Ridge - a well appointed, comfortable accomodation - clean, spacious and perfect for the family.

Room Tip: we always ask for a top floor room - its quiter as you dont have 'traffic' outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachland, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

according to the weekly update: villa and lobby renovations scheduled for july 2014 - feb 2015.
this place needs it. odd that the palm desert villa (which we just stayed) was less expensive.
old appliances, cigarette burns on the furniture, lackluster views. just not worth it. could go to the marriott JW pools but parking was difficult and those pools are not "so great". there is a feeble lazy river and a couple other pools but no salt water or lap pools.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of our resort. We are dissapointed to hear that you did not have a good experience. We would appreciate an opportunity to understand your concerns and personally respond. Please contact us at 800 860 9384 or via email at customer.care@vacationclub.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We just spent a week at the Villas. The resort is easily accessible off the freeway. The suites are well equipped though a little tired. The pools and surrounding areas are great. Friendly staff, great weather and the hospitality we have come to expect and appreciate at Marriott properties. Our son and his family visited us and had a wonderful time. This is a resort that is on our "let,s make sure we come back" list. Oh, you also have unfettered access to the sister resort across the way. A complimentary shuttle service makes visits a snap.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room with a golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked my week here as an exchange from my other Marriott properties. The villas live up to the high standards I've come to expect. The desk staff was very helpful with a quick an easy check-in. The villa was very clean and well equipped. The staff throughout the resort were all very helpful, freely volunteering suggestions about where to go and what to see. The pools were always clean and the staff was constantly going around picking up after guests who couldn't take the time to throw out their empty cups or plates or deposit their used towels in the bins after they'd left. The two workout rooms were well equipped and clean as well. Definitely a place to visit again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge

Address: 5220 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.