We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge to your Saves list
Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5220 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054 (Desert Ridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Hewlett, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

As a timeshare owner we stayed there for 6 nites with friends that are also owners. The property is well maintained and the location was great. The rooms are typical of all the Marriott time shares, close your eyes when your in bed and you can be in Aruba time share. My biggest (and only complaint) was that my check in requests were not completed. Not only did I fill in online the request sheet sent to me, when I was called by Marriott(soliciting me for more time share seminars), I requested to be with my friends. When we got there, it was like talking a foreign language. They had no requests in their system to be with the other family, no early check in request, and i had asked not to be near the kiddie pool or park. So when our room was finally ready, and we were at least put in the same building as our friends, we got to our room only to have to wait outside, because housekeeping was still cleaning. Hello? Does anyone communicate here? Besides that, everything is nice, Rachel the concierge was extremely helpful and knowledge about the area and restaurants. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    125
    32
    21
    4
See reviews for
200
156
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at the canyon villas for 6 nights on a sister trip. Having stayed at many timeshare villas over the years these villas are nothing spectacular. The grounds are well kept as are the adjoining hotel which you have access to during your stay.Stayed in a one bedroom unit which was not overly large if you had more than 2 people in it. Furniture was extremely outdated and uncomfortable,but unit was clean and had all the basic amenities. stayed in a second floor unit facing the golf course but view would be better on 3rd floor to see mountains which were beautiful.Used lazy river and pools at JW marriott next door pools are great temp. but poolside service was very slow.Food and drinks poolside are priced the same as other places steep!.Ate dinner at tuscany on property food and service were fantastic! The resort is within moments of the marketplace shopping mall an outdoor open air shopping center with many stores to choose from for great shopping and an albertsons grocery as well for stocking up your unit with snacks etc. A short 15 min drive gets you to another huge shoppping plaza and many choice restaurants

overall the resort is nothing special but great location and certainly would stay there again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor units fcing gold course will get you great view of mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Once again we stayed here for 10 days...we are owners here and at several other Marriott TS locations... this one is tops...great location and excellent service. It's a plus that the J.W Marriott is right next door. You ill be pleased.

Room Tip: Overlooking the golf course is our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for a convention over at the nearby JW Marriott Desert Inn. Great little suite with a kitchenette and nice patio. Staff was friendly and the shuttle service over to the Desert Inn was punctual. Would have been nice to have a bar/lounge onsite and larger gym but this was a quiet out of the way place so they probably designed it that way. If you want more action stay at the Desert Inn. If you want quiet and out of the way this is great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our week at the Villas. It was quiet and restful - and we appreciated the shuttle service to the Desert Ridge Shopping Marketplace and the Music Instrument Museum (thanks to Ronald and Keith for their timely arrivals and departures!) . I also took a tour of the JW Marriott grounds with their horticulturalist, Cesar Cordova. It was obvious from the way he answered our questions that Cesar had a wealth of knowledge. But unlike many experts I have met, he was also skilled at making that knowledge accessible to all of us on the tour, regardless of our backgrounds or familiarity with the area. I hope that the resort will continue to offer such worthwhile tours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent three September nights in a studio in building 25 in Sept. WE were very pleased with the location. I was pleasantly surprised a few weeks before arrival to get an email from the property inquiring what was important to us regards a unit assignment ....which floor, which view, close to pool ....rank and prioritize. I responded top floor unit with a view in a quiet location ....but not too far from a good pool. We exchanged a few emails after that and I was quite happy upon arrival to see we had top floor bldg 25 in the center overlooking the quiet courtyard yet with easy access to the big pool complex near bldgs 27 / 28.

The STUDIO unit itself was nice and bright, painted in yellow - very neat - decent size - good size bathroom. Big comfortable bed! The balcony had some partial shading. WE did not spend any great amount of time in it other than the usual. We went sightseeing in the morning (Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesen West; Carefree and CAve Creek) then would enjoy that nice big pool complex in the afternoons.. I was surprised to see all the misters over some of the pool seating. There are several pools in that one spot and lots of chaises.

One very terrific asset if staying at Marriott Canyon Villas is your access to the JW Marriott property across the street. Wow - it is huge. WE walked all around the many many pools and water features on the property but we chose not to actually go swimming there. However on tow evenings we did go over to Roy's for the happy hour that many on T A recommend. Yes - don't think twice - do it. Great ambiance and a great deal too. WE also ate a bit more on the patio outside of the JW's Vista lounge. In general a beautiful place. The combination of the JW and the Villas properties is a winner.

Room Tip: Be specific at what you think you might want. Study the property map to see where everything is and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband & I have stayed here before. This was a short weekend getaway for our anniversary. The resort is beautiful, the room are spacious and clean, plus you get to use the amenities at the J.W. Marriott across the road which make it even more special.

I just wish to give an extra special THANK YOU to Joey at the front reception desk! He checked us in promptly and upon hearing that it was our anniversary he gave us a coveted room close to the pool!

We had issues over the weekend with our room keys not working properly. Joey came to the room with the master keys on several occasions without even thinking twice about it. He also called maintenance for an emergency call. They seemed to be having some issues with getting the lock to work properly so Joey spoke to the manager about getting us some compensation. Way to go Joey! Keep up the Great Customer Service, and thanks for the J.W. Marriott breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge

Address: 5220 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 504
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.