We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge to your Saves list
Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5220 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054 (Desert Ridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #13 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Hewlett, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

As a timeshare owner we stayed there for 6 nites with friends that are also owners. The property is well maintained and the location was great. The rooms are typical of all the Marriott time shares, close your eyes when your in bed and you can be in Aruba time share. My biggest (and only complaint) was that my check in requests were not completed. Not only did I fill in online the request sheet sent to me, when I was called by Marriott(soliciting me for more time share seminars), I requested to be with my friends. When we got there, it was like talking a foreign language. They had no requests in their system to be with the other family, no early check in request, and i had asked not to be near the kiddie pool or park. So when our room was finally ready, and we were at least put in the same building as our friends, we got to our room only to have to wait outside, because housekeeping was still cleaning. Hello? Does anyone communicate here? Besides that, everything is nice, Rachel the concierge was extremely helpful and knowledge about the area and restaurants. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    147
    36
    24
    4
See reviews for
233
187
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at the canyon villas for 6 nights on a sister trip. Having stayed at many timeshare villas over the years these villas are nothing spectacular. The grounds are well kept as are the adjoining hotel which you have access to during your stay.Stayed in a one bedroom unit which was not overly large if you had more than 2 people in it. Furniture was extremely outdated and uncomfortable,but unit was clean and had all the basic amenities. stayed in a second floor unit facing the golf course but view would be better on 3rd floor to see mountains which were beautiful.Used lazy river and pools at JW marriott next door pools are great temp. but poolside service was very slow.Food and drinks poolside are priced the same as other places steep!.Ate dinner at tuscany on property food and service were fantastic! The resort is within moments of the marketplace shopping mall an outdoor open air shopping center with many stores to choose from for great shopping and an albertsons grocery as well for stocking up your unit with snacks etc. A short 15 min drive gets you to another huge shoppping plaza and many choice restaurants

overall the resort is nothing special but great location and certainly would stay there again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor units fcing gold course will get you great view of mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
287 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Once again we stayed here for 10 days...we are owners here and at several other Marriott TS locations... this one is tops...great location and excellent service. It's a plus that the J.W Marriott is right next door. You ill be pleased.

Room Tip: Overlooking the golf course is our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for a convention over at the nearby JW Marriott Desert Inn. Great little suite with a kitchenette and nice patio. Staff was friendly and the shuttle service over to the Desert Inn was punctual. Would have been nice to have a bar/lounge onsite and larger gym but this was a quiet out of the way place so they probably designed it that way. If you want more action stay at the Desert Inn. If you want quiet and out of the way this is great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our week at the Villas. It was quiet and restful - and we appreciated the shuttle service to the Desert Ridge Shopping Marketplace and the Music Instrument Museum (thanks to Ronald and Keith for their timely arrivals and departures!) . I also took a tour of the JW Marriott grounds with their horticulturalist, Cesar Cordova. It was obvious from the way he answered our questions that Cesar had a wealth of knowledge. But unlike many experts I have met, he was also skilled at making that knowledge accessible to all of us on the tour, regardless of our backgrounds or familiarity with the area. I hope that the resort will continue to offer such worthwhile tours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent three September nights in a studio in building 25 in Sept. WE were very pleased with the location. I was pleasantly surprised a few weeks before arrival to get an email from the property inquiring what was important to us regards a unit assignment ....which floor, which view, close to pool ....rank and prioritize. I responded top floor unit with a view in a quiet location ....but not too far from a good pool. We exchanged a few emails after that and I was quite happy upon arrival to see we had top floor bldg 25 in the center overlooking the quiet courtyard yet with easy access to the big pool complex near bldgs 27 / 28.

The STUDIO unit itself was nice and bright, painted in yellow - very neat - decent size - good size bathroom. Big comfortable bed! The balcony had some partial shading. WE did not spend any great amount of time in it other than the usual. We went sightseeing in the morning (Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesen West; Carefree and CAve Creek) then would enjoy that nice big pool complex in the afternoons.. I was surprised to see all the misters over some of the pool seating. There are several pools in that one spot and lots of chaises.

One very terrific asset if staying at Marriott Canyon Villas is your access to the JW Marriott property across the street. Wow - it is huge. WE walked all around the many many pools and water features on the property but we chose not to actually go swimming there. However on tow evenings we did go over to Roy's for the happy hour that many on T A recommend. Yes - don't think twice - do it. Great ambiance and a great deal too. WE also ate a bit more on the patio outside of the JW's Vista lounge. In general a beautiful place. The combination of the JW and the Villas properties is a winner.

Room Tip: Be specific at what you think you might want. Study the property map to see where everything is and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband & I have stayed here before. This was a short weekend getaway for our anniversary. The resort is beautiful, the room are spacious and clean, plus you get to use the amenities at the J.W. Marriott across the road which make it even more special.

I just wish to give an extra special THANK YOU to Joey at the front reception desk! He checked us in promptly and upon hearing that it was our anniversary he gave us a coveted room close to the pool!

We had issues over the weekend with our room keys not working properly. Joey came to the room with the master keys on several occasions without even thinking twice about it. He also called maintenance for an emergency call. They seemed to be having some issues with getting the lock to work properly so Joey spoke to the manager about getting us some compensation. Way to go Joey! Keep up the Great Customer Service, and thanks for the J.W. Marriott breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Central City
Hotel Palomar Phoenix - a Kimpton Hotel
Deer Valley
Homewood Suites Phoenix North - Happy Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge

Address: 5220 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 504
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Marriott, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.