We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5220 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054 (Desert Ridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 175 hotels in Phoenix
Cupertino, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Oasis in the desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for a convention over at the nearby JW Marriott Desert Inn. Great little suite with a kitchenette and nice patio. Staff was friendly and the shuttle service over to the Desert Inn was punctual. Would have been nice to have a bar/lounge onsite and larger gym but this was a quiet out of the way place so they probably designed it that way. If you want more action stay at the Desert Inn. If you want quiet and out of the way this is great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    111
    28
    20
    1
See reviews for
177
135
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our week at the Villas. It was quiet and restful - and we appreciated the shuttle service to the Desert Ridge Shopping Marketplace and the Music Instrument Museum (thanks to Ronald and Keith for their timely arrivals and departures!) . I also took a tour of the JW Marriott grounds with their horticulturalist, Cesar Cordova. It was obvious from the way he answered our questions that Cesar had a wealth of knowledge. But unlike many experts I have met, he was also skilled at making that knowledge accessible to all of us on the tour, regardless of our backgrounds or familiarity with the area. I hope that the resort will continue to offer such worthwhile tours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent three September nights in a studio in building 25 in Sept. WE were very pleased with the location. I was pleasantly surprised a few weeks before arrival to get an email from the property inquiring what was important to us regards a unit assignment ....which floor, which view, close to pool ....rank and prioritize. I responded top floor unit with a view in a quiet location ....but not too far from a good pool. We exchanged a few emails after that and I was quite happy upon arrival to see we had top floor bldg 25 in the center overlooking the quiet courtyard yet with easy access to the big pool complex near bldgs 27 / 28.

The STUDIO unit itself was nice and bright, painted in yellow - very neat - decent size - good size bathroom. Big comfortable bed! The balcony had some partial shading. WE did not spend any great amount of time in it other than the usual. We went sightseeing in the morning (Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesen West; Carefree and CAve Creek) then would enjoy that nice big pool complex in the afternoons.. I was surprised to see all the misters over some of the pool seating. There are several pools in that one spot and lots of chaises.

One very terrific asset if staying at Marriott Canyon Villas is your access to the JW Marriott property across the street. Wow - it is huge. WE walked all around the many many pools and water features on the property but we chose not to actually go swimming there. However on tow evenings we did go over to Roy's for the happy hour that many on T A recommend. Yes - don't think twice - do it. Great ambiance and a great deal too. WE also ate a bit more on the patio outside of the JW's Vista lounge. In general a beautiful place. The combination of the JW and the Villas properties is a winner.

Room Tip: Be specific at what you think you might want. Study the property map to see where everything is and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband & I have stayed here before. This was a short weekend getaway for our anniversary. The resort is beautiful, the room are spacious and clean, plus you get to use the amenities at the J.W. Marriott across the road which make it even more special.

I just wish to give an extra special THANK YOU to Joey at the front reception desk! He checked us in promptly and upon hearing that it was our anniversary he gave us a coveted room close to the pool!

We had issues over the weekend with our room keys not working properly. Joey came to the room with the master keys on several occasions without even thinking twice about it. He also called maintenance for an emergency call. They seemed to be having some issues with getting the lock to work properly so Joey spoke to the manager about getting us some compensation. Way to go Joey! Keep up the Great Customer Service, and thanks for the J.W. Marriott breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Great location and perfect grounds but villas dated inside. Dark and depressing and OLD feeling. And traffic a bear on all highways at rush hour. Really bad. The JW Marriott hotel was beautiful. Next time will stay there. All ppl in Scottsdale were very very nice and im used to nice ppl being from north dakota!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

This is my 3rd stay at this resort in 15 months. No doubt it's one of the best pool resorts in Arizona for kids. The on site pool is huge with lots of seating and shading on deck. We were placed in the furthest building away from the main pool but even then it is only a 3 minute walk. We stayed with another family of 6 and used 3 studio rooms between us with 4 in each room. We got a rate that I cannot complain about. But the king bed was too firm (both of my shoulders hurt and arms fell asleep) and the queen sofa bed was crazy uncomfortable both to sleep on as a bed and to sit on as a couch. The room is clean and modern but it's still not sufficient for 2 adults and 2 small children. Spend the extra money and get the 1-bedroom. Also, I was the youngest adult here by at least 30 years. I felt I was staying at a retirement home. Which was fine because we often had the pool to ourselves. At any rate, Marriott is usually a safe bet for quality. But it's time for an upgrade to pillow top beds.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We just stayed here for a week in a one bedroom. We had previously been here in a studio and found that too small. The one bedroom is so roomy ...with a full kitchen... We overlooked the new courtyard. It was beautiful. The resort is gorgeous and very well maintained. You also have access to the Jw Marriott across the street. That is seriously one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever seen. Lots of great happy hour choices over there too.

The only negative thing I would say is that bedding and towels seem a little tired... And the pillows are too tiny for a king bed.....

Room Tip: We had a third floor room overlooking the courtyard... So pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge

Address: 5220 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.