We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge to your Saves list
Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5220 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054 (Desert Ridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Nice Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband & I have stayed here before. This was a short weekend getaway for our anniversary. The resort is beautiful, the room are spacious and clean, plus you get to use the amenities at the J.W. Marriott across the road which make it even more special.

I just wish to give an extra special THANK YOU to Joey at the front reception desk! He checked us in promptly and upon hearing that it was our anniversary he gave us a coveted room close to the pool!

We had issues over the weekend with our room keys not working properly. Joey came to the room with the master keys on several occasions without even thinking twice about it. He also called maintenance for an emergency call. They seemed to be having some issues with getting the lock to work properly so Joey spoke to the manager about getting us some compensation. Way to go Joey! Keep up the Great Customer Service, and thanks for the J.W. Marriott breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    124
    32
    21
    4
See reviews for
200
156
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Great location and perfect grounds but villas dated inside. Dark and depressing and OLD feeling. And traffic a bear on all highways at rush hour. Really bad. The JW Marriott hotel was beautiful. Next time will stay there. All ppl in Scottsdale were very very nice and im used to nice ppl being from north dakota!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

This is my 3rd stay at this resort in 15 months. No doubt it's one of the best pool resorts in Arizona for kids. The on site pool is huge with lots of seating and shading on deck. We were placed in the furthest building away from the main pool but even then it is only a 3 minute walk. We stayed with another family of 6 and used 3 studio rooms between us with 4 in each room. We got a rate that I cannot complain about. But the king bed was too firm (both of my shoulders hurt and arms fell asleep) and the queen sofa bed was crazy uncomfortable both to sleep on as a bed and to sit on as a couch. The room is clean and modern but it's still not sufficient for 2 adults and 2 small children. Spend the extra money and get the 1-bedroom. Also, I was the youngest adult here by at least 30 years. I felt I was staying at a retirement home. Which was fine because we often had the pool to ourselves. At any rate, Marriott is usually a safe bet for quality. But it's time for an upgrade to pillow top beds.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We just stayed here for a week in a one bedroom. We had previously been here in a studio and found that too small. The one bedroom is so roomy ...with a full kitchen... We overlooked the new courtyard. It was beautiful. The resort is gorgeous and very well maintained. You also have access to the Jw Marriott across the street. That is seriously one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever seen. Lots of great happy hour choices over there too.

The only negative thing I would say is that bedding and towels seem a little tired... And the pillows are too tiny for a king bed.....

Room Tip: We had a third floor room overlooking the courtyard... So pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have stayed here quite a few times and always thoroughly enjoy ourselves. The rooms are beautifully decorated and are always very clean. We usually stay in a 1 Bedroom Villa that includes a complete kitchen (refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher) with beautiful cabinets and granite countertops. Everything you need to make a meal is included here. The unit also has a washer/dryer in a closet off the kitchen. The eating area is spacious and has a table with six chairs. The living room has a large sofa and it turns into a bed. Flat screen TV's are in the living room as well as the bedroom. The bedroom is large and has a very comfortable king size bed and is beautifully decorated. The bathroom has a deep soaking tub, and a vessel sink. A second sink is in a separate room along with a very large shower stall. There is a balcony off the living room and it has a patio table and four chairs. A great place for enjoying coffee in the morning. The rooms have wi-fi with a good signal.

The pool area is nice - with something for everyone - a volleyball section - waterfalls - hot tubs - children's pool. Deck chairs in the shade with misters above - or chairs and tables with umbrellas in the sun. A nice bar/restaurant right next to the pool means you can stay all day without having to go somewhere else to eat.

The front desk area has a small store where you can buy food and breakfast items. There is also a computer where you can print your boarding pass for your flight. Also near the front desk is a workout area with weight and cardio machines.

Staying at the Canyon Villas allows you access to the J W Marriott pool right across the street. There is a shuttle that goes back and forth twice per hour. The pool at the J W is outstanding.

We love staying at the Canyon villas - and always look forward to returning there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Penasco, Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We are Marriott timeshare owners and have been to Canyon Villas twice this year. Once in July and again in September. Once reserved the 2 bedroom suite and then a 1 bedroom suite. Excellent floorplans and the villas are stocked with everything you need. The pool area is a fun place with activities and a great small bar and grill. You also have access to the hotel's giant pool area. There is a popular floating river there that is a lot of fun. Of course having 2 golf courses on the property is a huge benefit for the golf enthusiest. There are several restaurants very nearby as well as the Desert Ridge shopping mall, including a movie theater complex. East to travel to or from near the 101 & 51 freeways.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Came here with my family in July and was not expecting to love AZ as much as I did! I was pleasantly surprised with the villas as well as the scenery in AZ. MY fam as a timeshare so we stayed in a 2BR + studio. The rooms were beautiful and had all of the necessities for a weeklong stay. The pool area was beautiful and the grounds were kept to look awesome. It was SO hot when we were there but they had pitchers of water WHEREVER you would go -which was great! In a great location-right next to the shopping area and tons of restuarants. outside of the city so it was much quieter. Overall a great place for families and for those who would like to try something a bit different than a standard beach vacay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge

Address: 5220 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 504
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.