We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Marriott Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5220 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054 (Desert Ridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #20 of 176 hotels in Phoenix
Yarmouth, Maine
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great Marriott Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We are owners here so, maybe a bit biased although we own elsewhere and wouldn't consider a visit there . This resort is great, well located, clean, picturesque and the service is good. We like Desert Ridge and it's location. Great shopping and restaurants nearby. Convenient to the airport...try Super-Shuttle.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    107
    27
    20
    1
See reviews for
165
127
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My Husband and I traveled from England where we live in Hertfordshire, just outside London. It was our first stay in America and we loved it. Our stay in Canyon Villas, was very enjoyable, we did not use the Golf Course but our room overlooked the green and it was a lovely view. We only visited the main Hotel in the evening for Dinner, all the Restaurants were very good, we did rather prefer the Restaurant called Tuscany. They all did a Glutton free menu which was helpful to me as I have an Intolerance. The shuttle bus was good to use to go over to the main Hotel, but it was only about a 12 minute walk and we did walk back sometimes. We also had a ride back in one of the larger Golf Buggies which for me a 62year old English lady was great fun. The swimming pool at Canyon Villas was very nice and although on our last day, we ventured over to use the one at the main Marriott Hotel, and that was very nice too.
The Desert Ridge Market Place was, great too. We used the nice Shuttle buses to go over and sometimes we walked (25minute walk). We had the phone number of Reception and we were able to phone through from the Market place if we had walked over there, I think we confused the issue though when we walked as the driver did not know we had gone over, hence the phone call. The Shuttle go over to the Market every hour, I do not think many people walk over there. Detours was the tour people that Reception put us in touch with for our visit to Sedona, and also to Tombstone, they were very good. We used another driver, that Reception put us in touch with and I cannot praise this man enough, his first name was "Richard" and he was brilliant. Our holiday was very good.
We did accept the 90 minute sales talk, this was not forced on us at all, and for listening we were given a $100 voucher to spend in any of the Restaurants at the Hotel. As we live in England and not in America we would not buy into this holiday, (We 2 apartments we have bought into in Malta) Although we have bought a weeks holiday here, which we will enjoy again in 2013. I loved the scenery.
When we return, we will know to add another 2 hours to the 6 hours when we put our watches to Phoenix time. when we first arrived in Chicago, we put our watches back 6 hours. Phoenix are 8 hours behind us in England. For the first three days in Phoenix we wondered why none of your shops opened on time and the Pool Bar also. Looking forward to our Return in 2013 this time we will visit the Grand Canyon too.

Room Tip: We did find the tap water and the Ice did not help our tummy. I would use bottled water in future us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed at the Marriott Villas mid-August of 2011 for three nights and was very impressed. A large 1 BR suite with all the kitchen/dining amentities as well as washer/dryer was perfect for our stay. We had sort of a mini family reunion and the staff made sure we were all in the same building and on the same floor. The hotel guest manager even called me a few days before our stay to make sure everything was set - we actually had to make a slight change which she handled efficiently and, with a follow up call; she also gave me some helpful hints about the area. I loved the location which has access to a major highway (101) and only about 1-2 miles to a huge mall (Desert Ridge Mall - I think?) with all sorts of restaurants, stores, movies and shops. The pool just outside our building was great for the family; but, most of the time, we used the oversized JW Marriott pool (just down the road) for the kids which had a slide, lazy river and great lunch snacks/drinks for everyone. A friendly and helpful staff at both the Villas and the JW. Definitely will return next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

When we arrived at the Marriott, It was so clean and cozy outside, flowers so beautiful and lot's of color. We went to our room and put our bags down to unpack and decided that maybe we should take a drive to the store and maybe pick up dinner and some wine. Anyway we returned back to our room and I decided to take a refreshing shower. We decided to have dinner out on the patio. I could not beleive my eyes it was so warm and cozy .It was as tho we were sitting in our own back yard. Just the peice and quiet and even tho we were by the street you could not really here the traffic. Lets just say this is a trip I will never forget. So If you go to Phoenix and need some where to stay the Marriott's Canyon Villas is the place for you.Oh the first floor is the best for this home away from home stay.

Room Tip: First floor on the right corner, that was the best little spot all to your self.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

PROS

Large 2 BR, lots of nice touches, super clean, comfy beds. Stayed on top floor/end unit as advised by previous review here-- so no noise above. Tx for the tip!

CONS

Lots of walking & driving to get around complex .. not so fun in 115 degree weather! Had to call at 4 pm to get room cleaned...disappointing.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor so no noise above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We were invited by some friends members of Interval and gave us the one bedroom, one bathroom unit. We simply loved it. The bed and pillows amazing after a long day out visiting Grand Canyon and surroundings. We were able to use the pool at the Marriott Hotel nearby which is really nice. Food and drinks very good as well. We are fans of Marriott vacation Clubs. We trully enjoyed.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the small pool are quite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I just got back from a trip where I stayed at this property for a conference. For me it was a positive experience. The room was extremely clean, attractive and had everything I needed. The balcony had a nice view and let the sun in perfectly. I did get a chance to use the swimming pool and found it very refreshing. I noticed that they were a lot less children than I thought there would be. Maybe it was the time of year but it would make me hesitate to bring my two little ones there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge

Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott
Address: 5220 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#16 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.