We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven On A Mountain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort to your Saves list
Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   11111 North 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #77 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Londonderry, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Heaven On A Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

We stayed two nights at this resort and wished we could have spent an entire week. We stayed in one of the mountain suites and were not disappointed! Very luxurious and spacious. My husband and I spent early mornings drinking coffee on our spacious balcony - what wonderful views. The staff were exceptional and the shuttle service was great. It was nice having an adult pool without the noise of small kids. There were plenty of other pools for the younger crowd to enjoy. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    530
    286
    143
    78
See reviews for
426
449
55
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

We took our 8 and 6 year old daughters on Spring Break for this trip. There are 8 different pools. One is adults only; the others are for both kids and adults. We managed to experience all of them during the trip! My six year old wanted to try them all (except the adult pool for 16 and over).

The main pool at the Falls Village was great for families with kids. Lots of poolside lounge chairs, lots of umbrellas. Nearby the water slide. The grotto pool at the Falls Village is nice, but less shade. Other than the family pool at the main building, the remaining pools are small, but suitable for a quick dip and not laps. The best thing about Falls Village is the ability of ordering food and drink by simply putting up the flag on your chair.

We were originally checked into room 4052. This room faced the laundry area, making the patio worthless. Avoid the eastern side of the main building to avoid the laundry area and noisy fans. (Fortunately) the hot water was faulty in the shower, so we got moved to 6224 on the cliffside suites. The hotel was also very kind to credit us the price of our breakfast to compensate for the inconvenience. This was a much nicer room (though slightly smaller)with a gorgeous view and steps from the sunset pool. I agree with the previous poster that navigating your way through the resort is a challenge. The maps are sometimes confusing and don't necessarily take into account the hills. However, enjoying a challenge, I eventually figured out the most efficient way to get from area to area. This is not for everyone however. For those who don't like to navigate hills and a maze of paths, the resort does offer several pick up points that will send a driver with a phone call.

Food was basically average at best. First morning we had breakfast at the Point in Tyme restaurant. Service was lousy, and food only so-so. The Cascades restaurant at the Falls Village was okay, and convenient to order by simply putting up your flag for service. We had breakfast buffet at La Cantina which was of lesser quality than Point in Tyme. We never tried any dinners on-site because they really aren't geared towards kids. Very surprising for a resort that has such a family draw. We did not try the Different Pointe of View at the top of the hill as this was highly priced and definitely not kid friendly.

We did have breakfast twice at a local restaurant called Pinky's just down the hill from the resort on the corner of Thunderbird and 7th. This was very good and half the price of the resort. Other mornings we purchased bagels, yogurt and fruit from the Safeway next to Pinkys and at it on our patio with the great view. Paradise Valley Mall is nearby that has a wide selection of known chain restaurants, including Marie Callendars, Olive Garden, Outback Steakhouse, and Chilis. Overall food review...unless you are transportation challenged, dine outside the resort if you have kids.

In summary, we had a great time at Tapatio Cliffs. Service was very nice, pools are very enjoyable. Food really could be improved, particularly if you travel with kids.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2006

First about me:
- Normally only stay in hotels on business
- Not a frequent traveler
- looking for fun in the sun with my teenage daughters on this trip

The Hotel
- Has a central building and several outlying 'villas' nestled into the hills
- Room was nice and spacious and had the ability for privacy in the bedroom, bath/toilet, vanity/sink, and livingroom.
- Hiking trails on nature preserve and interpretive center within walking distance

Comments
- The nicest place I have stayed regarding amenities, facilities and setting. The pools and lanscaping are fabulous! Room layout was perfect for our family situation.
- For a place this large and complicated, the staff should try a little harder to explain how to use it. I mentioned this was my first visit to both the front desk and bell captain, all I was offered was directions to my room. I had to probe for the rest and wss often give conflicting info.
- Loved the Falls Village pool area. It was really geared for (and primarily used by) families with kids under 12. But we were escaping the rainy CA Bay Area so this was just the ticket. On our day of checkout rented a cabana for $50 so were able to stay the entire day in comfort with food, phone, TV and pool.
- Biggest complaint was noisy neighbors on last night (college boys on spring break deciding to party in the room). I complained to front desk and they said they would take care of it, but they were at it less than an hour later.
- Ate at Falls Village Cafe and The Cantina. Service was good at F.V. but lousy at Cantina. Food just average at both.
- Lamp in LR was broken so lamp shade hung to one side. Toilet backed up (did I mention I have two girls?) but was fixed very quickly by uniformed service man. Other minor things that I would have tried to get fixed if we stayed longer.

Overall
- We liked it. My girls were very impressed and my elder daughter said she'd like to come back as an adult. For me the access to pool, golf, hiking, and the room layout were just what I wanted. As with any place, some staff were more helpful, friendly, than others. This is a big place with many facilites spread out over a large area. I think they keep this place running quite well and have it properly staffed (approx. 80% occupied during our stay). For $60 more a night than staying at a Embassy Suites, I think this was well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2006

We stayed at this resort for 3 nights. The landscaping was very beautiful. There were many pools and it was optimal to be able to choose whether to be at a noisy pool with kids running around or relax at a quiet pool with only adults. The rooms were above average and the beds were very heavenly! Our room was on the mountainside and was peaceful and quiet most of the day and night. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurants were a little overpriced (although it's a resort and to be expected) but the service and food were both good. The nature preserve with trails was great and conveniently located across the street. Parking is free and we never had a problem finding a space. The only negative we found was no dvd/cd player and the movie rental was expensive. If going to the Phoenix area, I would definitely return here without hesitation, it was a very nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise ID
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2006

My family spent 5 nights here over spring break. I have very mixed feelings about this resort....it is a wierd hybrid of a motel with some nice resort and luxury hotel features. The natural surroundings and landscaping are fabulous. But you can never get away from a parking lot! They are everywhere and spoil the illusion of being someplace other than the ordinary.The pool complex is very nice, but we were very dissapointed with the slide. It is completely enclosed to the exit point into the pool. This prevents you from sitting up at the last minute and controlling your entrance.....so everyone goes under the water at landing. Not my idea of fun. The on site restaurants we slow and over priced.......but room service was really no more money and quicker! The lobby was nice,as was the shop, but once check-in there was no reason to return It wasn't horrible, but i wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2006

When we first arrived at the Pointe, we were given a room in one of the highest buildings. We wanted to be as close to the main building as possible since we weren't planning on hanging out at the kids pool area. We went back to the desk where she quickly moved us to the main building. We loved our new room! It was a 2 minute walk to the adult swimming pool where we hung out. It was quiet and convenient. We spent 3 nights at the Pointe. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The front desk gave us great advice on places to go and where to eat. The bed was really comfortable. The front room area was dated, but we never planned on hanging out in our room all day anyway. The bathroom was OK - the water pressure a little low, but overall, we were pleased.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2006

We stayed at Tapatio Cliffs four nights in late March 2006 and enjoyed it. Picked it largely for the pools and were not disappointed. The steel drum and marimba duo were a pleasant surprise. Lots of fountains--all working. And the landscaping was immaculate. Also, the small "sunset" pool and hot tub closer to our room were very nice and open late at night.

This is a VERY hilly property, which helps make it scenic, but I'd be hesitant to recommend it to anyone not sure-footed, at least in the upper buildings. While we were generally able to park pretty close to our room, there were severe inclines to navigate going to the car.

As expected, there was a $10 daily charge for high-speed internet, which seems stingy for a hotel in this price range. We were also put off by the charge to use the exercise room. Hilton should realize this kind of nickle-and-diming can take the luster off an otherwise very positive experience.

If we return to Phoenix, we'll strongly consider this resort again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Address: 11111 North 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#11 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#51 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an elaborate $25 million dollar renovation the Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort has received the distinctive AAA Four-Diamond Award and guests can expect an experience made special through quality accommodations and superior service. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, you will enjoy all-suite accommodations; complimentary access to our expansive water feature; unique dining experiences; championship golf; relaxing spa and salon services; an array of shopping options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Phoenix
Phoenix Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.