We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Save Saved
You added Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   11111 North 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summertime Rates from $89
Ranked #69 of 175 hotels in Phoenix
Wiltshire, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Relaxing resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 midweek nights after flying into Phoenix and before setting out on a road trip through Arizona and on to Las Vegas. We chose a one-bedroom mountain-view suite and it was very comfortable, with everything we needed for our short stay. The hotel was very quiet at the time we visited, which was great for us as we recovered from our jet-lag. We spent a day in the water park and there were very few other people in. We had breakfast both mornings in the Pointe in Tyme and were impressed with the selection of freshly-cooked options as well as the buffet. We would have liked to have eaten in the fine dining Different Pointe of View, but hadn’t realised we were staying during a food festival, so we missed out as it was fully booked. Dinner in Pointe in Tyme was good though and the service was great. All in all, a nice relaxing couple of days before setting off on our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. After your long journey to the states, I’m happy to hear that you had a relaxing and quiet night. We are grateful for the praise about your breakfast at Pointe in Tyme and I will share your compliments with the chef. If you travel this way in the future, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    481
    457
    250
    117
    69
See reviews for
368
391
51
288
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was our first, and will be our only stay at a Hilton resort property. We woke up the sound of mice scurrying around in our room, scaling the curtain and eventually looking down at us from the valance in the room. There were mouse droppings in the bar by the coffee pot. When we called the desk they did offer to move us, but it was past midnight, so we stuck it out. Our towels were so worn that I would have used them at home to wash the garage floor, they had holes in them, and my husband could see me through the towel when he held it up. We were also allotted only one wash cloth. Every time we entered and exited the room we had to slam the door shut as maintenance had obviously painted the door jam, and closed the door before it dried, causing a poor appearance and a very hard close. The carpets were not clean and were shredded at the door entrance and the patio entrance. There was a huge spider web with a spider in the bar area. Also in the bar area, a previous guest had obviously taken a metal rod and broken it off in the outlet by the coffee pot, leaving only one outlet usable (but a fire hazard). As we sat on the balcony, (building 17, 4th floor, in our king "suite"), we were able to see severe ceramic tile damage on the building to our west, and we talked about the possibility of broken tiles falling and causing damage to the cars below. It would also be a good entry point for the mice I'm sure. The roads had potholes and parking was insufficient at best...ok, overall, we love to camp, we just don't usually do it in our hotel room. We brought these items to the attention of the desk staff, who thanked us for the information. She asked if we were offered to move rooms, which we were. However, that is the only offer we received, and had they offered us a compensating stay we would have declined it. Both staff we spoke with commented that our room was "comp'd" referring to the fact that we used a certificate. It shouldn't make a difference as a guest. We participated in an auction for a local charity to get the package, but apparently, if you don't pay the hotel directly they think you are not a guest worthy of fixing the problem. Very sad. We are glad our auction money went to a good cause, but we would not stay here again if it were offered at no charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without mice, or electrical hazards, and decent linens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I was very disappointed to read about your experience, specifically the report of finding mice in your suite. This is particularly troubling and not at all common. I do see that the suite was taking off line and our pest control company has come out to inspect for and treat that area. I would like to apologize to both you and your wife for this challenge, as well as the lack of concern that you indicated you received from our team member when you reported the issue.

I understand your decision of not wanting to return to the resort but I assure you that your experience is not at all typical for the guests of our resort. An email has been sent to you offline and I hope you will reconsider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

based on other reviews, they must not have updated all rooms. We were in a suite in one of the buildings up on the hill and it was brand new looking inside. Suite was super comfortable and was adorned with comfy queen beds, great pillows, and 2 flat screen tv's. Loved relaxing out on the balcony. Views of the resort and city lights were great. The pools were really nice, although there was a huge swarm of bees by the hottub in the main pool area. We arrived fairly late, so we went to have dinner at the bar at Pointe In Tyme, it was surprisingly good and the best food of our 6-day trip. We didn't have a problem parking, but understand part of the beauty of the architecture and design of the resort is not being surrounded by a big parking lot- the shuttle buses run continuously around the property. Cant wait to come back

Room Tip: request a suite up on the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We very much appreciate you choosing our resort for your family’s trip. Your compliments of the resort are very nice. It’s wonderful to hear that you will visit with us again and look forward to serving you when you do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stay here once a year for a trade show in their conference center. The rooms are spacious and clean, with nice little balconies to relax on. There are a couple of dining options and the food at both is very good. The Pointe in Tyme restaurant has a nice bar with good service. There are lots of activities on site an nearby. I haven't had the chance to check into any because I am always there to work, but I have been told that there are great hiking trails right there.
The property in on a bunch of steep hills, so bring good shoes. The only thing that is not great here is that it can be difficult to find a parking spot near your room.
Also, if you are looking for a location for an event, their conference center has been very nice every time I have been there.

Room Tip: I have had 3 different rooms here and they were all great. If you have any limitation to your mobili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and other travelers. It’s great to hear that you have stayed with us several times and have enjoyed yourself. We do offer complimentary valet service to park your vehicle and shuttle service to your suite to ease any parking limitations. We look forward to you returning for your trade show next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The rooms at this location are very out-dated in my opinion. Dirty carpets, dingy and dark rooms. The amenities, however, are very nice. Great pools, resturants and bars. We just expected a better room from the Hilton people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that your stay was less than perfect. We value your business and hope you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesano, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great hotel, loved the room with the pool and hot tub right out our door with the outside stars being visible. Will definitely stay another time. The hotel has options available for any type of vacation, everyone was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We greatly appreciate your positive review. We hope that your travels will bring you back to the Phoenix area and that you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We attended a conference here, and the resort itself is very nice and situated on a mountainside--very scenic. Every person on the staff we came in contact with was very friendly & curteous. Take advantage of the free shuttle service! Although very pretty, the resort is hilly with some steep walks and sometimes, rough pavement.

The breakfast and lunch buffets provided during our stay were great, and were held on an outdoor terrace. They were even mindful of vegetarians, offering several selections. For a fantastic view of the area, make reservations on the terrace at their restaurant, Different Pointe of View. It's a tad pricey, but the food and service are excellent, and the view--we were there during sunset--was breathtaking.

We didn't take advantage of all the different resort facilities, except the pool at Falls Water Village, which was very nice.

The room was very nice, but not the best we've stayed in. It was clean with very comfortable beds and well-appointed. There were two, nicely sized flat screen TVs, coffee maker, hair dryer, refrigerator, etc. But the room layout was a little awkward, because of the split vanity & bath. These areas are located between the bedroom & the living room, which is fine. But the light switch to the bath/shower was located outside the room, and the sink/vanity was separate. Some minor flaws: damaged lamp in the bedroom, loud exhaust fan, and a loose outlet on the wall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. It's wonderful to have had you as our guest for your conference and hope you will consider staying with us if your travel plans bring you back to the Phoenix area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Address: 11111 North 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#49 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#69 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an elaborate $25 million dollar renovation the Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort has received the distinctive AAA Four-Diamond Award and guests can expect an experience made special through quality accommodations and superior service. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, you will enjoy all-suite accommodations; complimentary access to our expansive water feature; unique dining experiences; championship golf; relaxing spa and salon services; an array of shopping options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Phoenix
Phoenix Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.