We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Academy Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort to your Saves list
Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   11111 North 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #76 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Golf Academy Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We came to this hotel as the last stop in our travel out West, late March - early April 2013, because we enrolled in 3 days of Golf Academy here. That part went great, I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our instructor, Mike Hopper, and how he went the extra mile to make sure we did well. The golf shop was amazing! The golf course was nice but it was either up or down after the first 5 holes! Not a great place for a beginner golfer. We were less thrilled with our accommodations. First of all, the parking is frightening because it's steep and tight; once you get your car parked you want to leave it and take the shuttle or walk to get around on this property. Second, we had an upgraded room, and it appeared nice on the surface, but there were lots of maintenance issues, such as the blinds and curtains not working, spots on the carpet, little things here and there. We had this nice big kitchen area but there was not a refrigerator we could use: it was for snacks you get charge for. There was no microwave, oven, etc., nothing we could use to cook with even though there was plenty of room for it. There were only two guest laundry facilities on the property, both were way out of the way for me, and they were "ghetto". That being said, it was quiet, and we got a good night's sleep each night, and the food was good, particularly at the place at the very top. The pool was nice and we liked the cabana we rented. But If we come back to Phoenix I think we would stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Wherever you stay, be prepared that you will be parking on a steep hill. Go for an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our Golf Academy. I will share your compliments with Mike Hopper. To accommodate our guests, microwaves are available upon request and the items in the mini-bar can be removed to make room for your items. We do ask that they be put in sight nearby for inventory purposes. We appreciate your business and hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    581
    315
    165
    88
See reviews for
459
491
61
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This resort falls somewhere between the look of a timeshare and a 5 star property.
I enjoyed my stay very much over 3 nights and experienced most all of the perks of the property including:
Pointe of View restaurant (amazing views), Point in Time bar/lounge, Various Pools, Waterslide, On Site Events, Hiking on the property and through the tunnel to the North Mountain park trails, etc...
Staff was always very accomodating and friendly.
Food was consistently good.
The layout is very large and it takes a day to find your bearings but you soon realize shortcuts to most places on the property.
Location is a little out of the way, far from downtown but easy enough to get to most highways.
Parking at times could be a problem, at least if walking a good ways from your car to room is a challenge. Some of the buildings are in very hilly areas, others on mostly flat ground.
All of the pools were excellent. The water fall and slide at the Falls Pool is very impressive though this main feature pool can get overrun with little kids at times.
Rooms were not updated to 2013 luxury standards, but are very large, Had much more room space than I needed for a solo traveler.
Wifi service is extra but reception was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay with us and other travelers. Your compliments are much appreciated and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have traveled over 1200 miles in the last week seeing all of the canyons. This is our final stop before heading home. We chose the Hilton based on past experiences, most recently the Hilton Chicago. The positive of this hotel hands down is the friendly staff. Every single staff member we encountered, from the lobby personnel to the wait staff to the cleaning staff was friendly and outstanding so kudos to everyone. The negative for this property would have to be the need for serious updating. The grounds are beautiful with lovely flowers and plants, however the buildings are in serious need of repair/updating. Many of the stucco buildings have chipped pieces falling off them. The doors to the rooms (which are accessed from the outside of the buildings), are peeling paint, and our bathroom had chipped ceiling stucco that had been patched many times over. Just not the quality we have come to expect in a Hilton property. That being said, when in Phoenix, I doubt anyone spends a large amount of time in the room, and the pool area is just gorgeous.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback. Thank you for the many compliments particularly in regards to our friendly staff. I apologize for the items you mentioned in need of repair. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again the next time your travels bring you to the Phoenix area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

You will be charged for EVERYTHING here. For an example, computer usage and usage of the in room refrigerator. No outside drinks can be taken to the pool. If you want a pop at the pool, its $2.75.

One of the main pools was very dirty. If you wanted to go in, you would have to make a path through the debris (bugs and stuff from the trees) - no exaggeration here. It was not cleaned in all the time we were here.

Before we came, I emailed twice to ask about the onsite restaurants and food allergies. They never responded. So not great customer service.

Other than that, the rooms were decent and the other pools were nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. High speed internet is one of the many items offered in our daily resort charge. By law, outside food and beverage is not permitted in an area such that sells those items such as our large pool area. We do have many other pools strategically located throughout the property. Our guests are free to remove the mini-bar items to make room for their own. We only ask that our items be placed in an area nearby for inventory purposes. I am sorry to learn that your emails were not responded to. Emails with your questions or concerns can be sent to enjoy.tapatiocliffs@hilton.com. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

At first glace, it didn't appear anything had changed. The rooms were nice and the resort was nice and maintained but I didn't see any big improvements. I didn't use the pools this time around as we only stayed one night, but we did go to the restaurant/bar and albeit pricey - the food and service was good. Reception came across as a bit snobby.

Would probably come back again depending on the rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank tyou for choosing to return to Tapatio Cliffs. We value your business and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I was "stuck" here for 2 extra days because of a snowstorm in Denver and Air Traffic Controller nonsense. It is a quiet hotel for as busy as it can be! Very hilly. Good for walking/hiking. Many pools-some small and undiscovered so if you want some privacy you can find it. The Pointe Restaurant at the top of the hill has amazing views and great food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you come back to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

In it's day this was probably a very premier property. Now, it is in desperate need of updating. The grounds were clean and the room was clean by outdated and worn.

The beds OK but are not even close to the same quality as a Hilton Garden Inn.

Our first 2 nights we were in the back of the property by the hilltop pool. Nice location and high ceilings in the room. The only problem was our air conditioner did not work. Prior to departing the property on the second day we called the front desk about the air conditioner and they were going to send maintenance over to fix it. Upon returning to our room at 8:30 pm the air was still not working. Called the front desk and they again were going to notify maintenance and sent a fan up to our room at our request. The next morning prior to departing I called again and the staff recommended we move to another room.

So we were relocated to another room in the main building. This room was smaller, did not have the high ceilings and in need of the same updates as the first room. The air did work though!!

The food on site is pretty good. The restaurant at the top of the hill - A Different Pointe of View - is a must. Great food and a fantastic experience.

The neighborhood around this property in either direction is not someplace I would want to be out walking, especially after dark. Not much for restaurants close to the property either, unless you want McDonalds.

We visit the Phoenix area a couple times a year and decided to try a different property. Although the staff was very pleasant and helpful, we most likely will not stay here again due to the property condition, near by neighborhood, and distance from shopping and dining.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at Different Pointe of View and that you found our staff to be helpful. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you experienced with the air conditioner. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Address: 11111 North 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#59 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an elaborate $25 million dollar renovation the Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort has received the distinctive AAA Four-Diamond Award and guests can expect an experience made special through quality accommodations and superior service. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, you will enjoy all-suite accommodations; complimentary access to our expansive water feature; unique dining experiences; championship golf; relaxing spa and salon services; an array of shopping options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Phoenix
Phoenix Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.