We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AJ is the BEST waiter @ Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort-Phoenix” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Save Saved
You added Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   11111 North 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summertime Rates from $89
Ranked #69 of 175 hotels in Phoenix
Waterloo, Iowa
1 review
“AJ is the BEST waiter @ Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort-Phoenix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

When you go to Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, Phoenix, and want to have a good-to-great dining experience, be sure to ask for AJ. He's the BEST waiter I've found in many decades. He knows his wine, wine pairings with food, and his service is superb. Table side manners are excellent; Comedy Central ought to be auditioning AJ as well. Women will love this model who's not been found. The resort is as excellent as advertised, but AJ makes one's stay even more meaningful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and for specifically mentioning AJ's service. I will be sure to share your compliment with AJ and his manager. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    481
    456
    250
    117
    69
See reviews for
367
391
51
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Location: For those who enjoy hiking, there is a great trailhead that begins on the property behind the tennis courts. The hike is scenic and a great workout. There is also a grocery store nearby and a few restaurants/starbucks etc.

Hotel: Slightly dated but rooms are comfortable and spacious. Basic rooms have a living area, minibar, sepearte bath and spacious bedroom. Try to get a room that has a view of the mountains. Beware: The hotel hold $100 per night for incidentals on top of the full stay including tax. I had a lower limit credit card but the hotel worked with me and the staff were very friendly. This is agreat place to stay if you're looking to spread out and stay a while. It's a bit of a commute into Phoenix but well worth the drive. Only other complaint is the spotty internet and price for the service.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms, back side of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. You mention having $100 held for incidentals per day. We do place a customary $75 per day hold for guests paying by credit card. We increase the hold to $100 per day for guests who prefer to pay with cash. The credit card authorization hold is released at check-out. We value your business and hope we have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel. This place is my go to every weekend in the summer. Beautiful setting in the mountain, lots of steep hills and city lights.
Room is 2 bedrooms divided in-between a bathroom. Perfect for families that want to put the little ones to bed and still have adult time! Awesome comfy beds and great pillows. TV in both rooms. Toilet and shower separate from sink. Has fridge but no microwave.
Several pools to choose from and a couple of them have bars at them. They have a van that can take you around the hotel which is good since they have some pretty steep hills. Parking gets a little cramped on weekends.
The also have an adult pool! Can I get a woot Woot?!
Grocery store, fast food and great restaurants within a couple of minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
What a nice review. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and for the many compliments. We look forward to serving you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in January and enjoyed our time. Resort is large but walkable. Many pools, chairs, and hottubs. Only disappointment were a few of the hottubs were out of service. We had a great view from our balcony and although we didn't use the workout room, it looked spacious and very nice. There are several restaurants on site. We also enjoyed the hiking trail nearby!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed for a week long business conference and brought my wife. We are a tech conference and we all depend on the internet to do business both for the conference work (we are a standards development group) and to keep up with our work in our own companies that doesn't stop when we are away. This includes many VIOIP conference calls a day. The internet service is only available for hourly rates or daily rates ($14.95/day), not a weekly rate. We had to move rooms the first night because we could barely connect. The new room had better service but you could still be dropped frequently and when you reconnected it "forgot" that you already paid for the day so you had to spend the time to get this cleared up at the from desk. It also charges by MAC address so if you bring a laptop, use the wireless feature on your phone and use the iPad in bed, you have incurred $45/ day in internet fees.

The only redeeming factor is that you get a great nights sleep. These are the most comfortable beds and pillows in a hotel I have stayed at recently.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
It is disappointing to learn that you experienced internet connectivity issues. I do apologize for the inconvenience this caused you during the conference knowing that it is so important for you to do business. When purchased individually, internet is charged at $14.95 per devise. However, the resort offers a bundle of services that includes WiFi for up to 2 devises for a daily fee of $18. I do hope our front desk agent advised you of the option to purchase it. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Friendly staff, clean rooms and facilities, beautiful sceneary. The room was very nice and spacious, older buidings, yet nicley maintained. The restaruant Different Poynte of View was phenomenal, a fantastic dinning experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and many compliments. We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the Phoenix area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a really wonderful trip with the family over the Christmas holiday to the Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs. The staffer was absolutely wonderful with a few of our special requests. Everyone made us feel welcome.

The rooms are a wonderful size if you need some room to move around. While Phoenix had a bit of a cold snap and we were not able to use the pools, the hottubs were great. Went on a wonderful hike very close by as well.

Christmas brunch at Different Point of View was outstanding and evening drinks overlooking downtown was wonderful as well.

Would highly recommend for a group or families.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a view of the cliffs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonSimon, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us over Christmas. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our Christmas brunch and your overall stay. We hope you visit us again and look forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Address: 11111 North 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#49 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an elaborate $25 million dollar renovation the Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort has received the distinctive AAA Four-Diamond Award and guests can expect an experience made special through quality accommodations and superior service. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, you will enjoy all-suite accommodations; complimentary access to our expansive water feature; unique dining experiences; championship golf; relaxing spa and salon services; an array of shopping options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Phoenix
Phoenix Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.