We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar Phoenix - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palomar Phoenix - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Palomar Phoenix - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East Jefferson Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004 (Formerly Palomar Phoenix) (Central City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 174 hotels in Phoenix
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Staff was excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The staff went above and beyond.
The bartenders Micheal and Robert (brothers) were wonderful the whole time I was there. The house specialty drinks yum! There was even a few off menu drinks (I asked for something special) that delighted me!
One of my friends asked the front desk for extra water and they brought her a frige full!
The bellman Charlie is a delight.
Every stall member was very friendly and accomidating.
It was a pleasure staying here!

Room Tip: Join the Kimptons rewards program for free Internet during your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    74
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
41
113
23
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

First time in a Kimpton property and it was relaxing to say the least. Only spent a brief time there but our waitress, Laya, was very informative and the bellman (?) Rob was Johnny-on-the-spot with our bags and a cab, and a Lumberjack! Our plane was over 2 hours late so we got in after midnight, but slept well in the comfy, long bed, ate a very nice breakfast, and departed for Flagstaff. Will definitely stay in a Kimpton again.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thermopolis, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was so impressed with every aspect of this hotel. The service was EXCEPTIONAL in every way - from the valet parking - the front desk clerk - the bellmen - the waiters and waitresses - everyone was so helpful and kind = SO nice to experience in a world where customer service is going by the wayside. I stayed in one of their suites which was absolutely beautiful - love the decor as well as the layout and the view. I HIGHLY recommend the Blue Hound Restaurant located in the hotel. The food, drinks, and service were beyond excellent. The roof-top pool located on the 2nd floor is beautiful. The location is GREAT in downtown Phoenix. There are many great restaurants in the area, and the comedy club near the hotel was really fun as well. I can't wait to stay there again and HIGHLY recommend this property to both business and leisure travelers!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I haven't stayed in a Plimpton property, but after staying here I will keep my out for them. Room was spacious, modern, and comfortable. All of the staff I interacted with were very hospitable and friendly. The shower/tub was the nicest I have have ever seen.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel just does it right, from the updated simple modern elegant decor, to the service, to the food and the location.

The valet staff, doormen and bell desk staff are incredible - quick to get your car, open your doors, load/unload your bags, address you by name, ask you how your day is going, etc.... They remembered our name each time we came in the front door!

The lobby is nothing special really, a little spartan, but not in a bad way. Front desk staff are super friendly and helpful in a casual yet businesslike way. They have brand new bikes in the lobby that you can borrow to ride around town if you want!

The second floor is where the real "lobby" is if you are looking for a place to hang out, relax, sit down and wait to meet up with people, etc... That is where the bar and restaurant is, plus it opens out to the second level of part of CityScape and the Gold's Gym that you have access to as a hotel guest. We did visit the gym and it is brand new and super nice and the front desk there welcomes you as they would welcome any of their local members. I did one of the group exercise classes and it was terrific.

The third floor is the large outdoor patio, bar and pool with chaise lounges and cabanas. The pool is definitely not large but the area is attractive and the cabanas are comfy. If you want to sit in the sun make sure you do it in the AM - our teen daughter wanted to try to tan but her schedule was such that she could only get up there after 2:30pm and she got about 6 minutes of sun before the entire patio was covered in shade. Bar wait staff was super nice!

Rooms are spacious with tasteful modern decor and the bathroom was well equipped. One tiny complaint - there are only 2 small drawers in the dresser/credenza that shares space with the mini bar, so if you have a lot of clothes to put away you really won't be able to. In-room Wifi is FREE if you are a Kimpton member, so worth joining just for that. The beds are SOOOOOO comfy, I literally did not want to get up!

Location is incredible - closest hotel possible to the 2 big downtown sports venues. Right in the middle of CityScape. 2 blocks from the Convention Center. 1 1/2 blocks from the Symphony Hall where we went to see the Arizona Ballet. Tons of restaurants around, although some of them clearly cater to weekday downtown business folks as they were not open Sat/Sun. Airport was literally 10-15 mins away tops.

Blue Hound Kitchen is the hotel restaurant - will review separately but it was great!

The only negative thing I can really say is that there is construction going on - they are adding additional floors on top of the hotel. On Friday the noise was pretty noticeable and did affect our peace and quiet in the room and at the pool, however there wasn't any work going on Sat or Sun and it was nice and quiet. If you really need quiet during the daytime Mon-Fri then wait until the project is finished, otherwise it's not that big of a deal. I noticed they did put earplugs on the nightstand, not sure if this is standard practice or for the construction.

I will absolutely stay here again if/when I return to Phoenix and need to stay downtown!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great. My family enjoyed their stay. The hotel hospitality was phenomenal. Everyone was helpful and eager to assist. The service was quick and the hotel was spotless. I highly recommend this hotel. The only thing is it was expensive and everything cost. Parking was $27 a day and I had to pay for Internet. Nothing is free or inclusive. However, I'm glad I picked this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

As an Inner Circle member, I was looking forward to our weekend getaway at this Kimpton. It is only one of two newly built Kimptons, I think, as their properties are usually renovated from other hotels.

Check in was with Jay, truly a star at this hotel. He was very cheerful and helpful and did everything possible to find us a quiet room to minimize the ever present construction noise. We looked at several rooms on different floors and he was patient and accommodating
The rooms are extremely nice and modern, with a large bathroom, and decent lighting for reading.

The pool area is small, but wasn't busy during our weekend stay. Probably not enough seating, only about ten lounge chairs and three wonderful cabanas, so if you are here during busy times, it might be difficult to find space.

Everyone we met on staff was very friendly, especially Edwin, with his dining recommendations, and Charlie, a bellman.
Only two minor disappointments: (1) despite emailing the front office manager with a request for a quiet room, I never got a reply, nor was any such room pre blocked for us prior to check in. (2) one of the two queen beds in our room had unclean linen when we first got to the room, requiring housekeeping to come up and replace the linen. It was promptly taken care of when we called them, but it shouldn't have happened at all.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palomar Phoenix - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar Phoenix - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2 East Jefferson Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004 (Formerly Palomar Phoenix)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 174 hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar Phoenix - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Amex, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palomar Phoenix - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar Phoenix - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.