We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for sissies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camelback Mountain

Camelback Mountain
5700 North Echo Canyon Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85018 (Camelback East)
602 256 3220
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #4 of 129 attractions in Phoenix
Type: Mountains, Hiking Trails
Activities: Rock climbing, Hiking
Attraction Details
reno, nv
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not for sissies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I hiked up New Year's Eve day, straight from the airport. Sneakers are probably not enough to prevent slipping and sliding. A purse over the shoulder will throw you off balance. The steady stream of people, both ways was a surprise. I hear the other side is even worse. We went in from Invergarden. Parking on Jack rabbit made for a 10 minute warm up. The panorama is really worth the sore quads to follow

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    140
    24
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hike , parking a huge issue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My dad and I hiked the Cholla trail as the Echo canyon trail is currently closed for upgrades.
This is an awesome hike, but not really for beginners.
Several sections of the trail involve climbing over rock faces but as long as you follow the blue dots painted along the trail and the markers you will have no problem navigating the trail.
It was very very busy and parking was atrocious.
There is no parking on the road where the trailhead is located and so you most likely will be parking up to a mile away from where the hike begins.
Be very wary of the no parking restrictions and the hours. One side of the street is 6am-6pm while the other side is the opposite with hours of 6pm-6am. DO NOT be deceived by other cars parked everywhere. also be wary of faded or illegible signage. Also no parking on side streets.
The view from the top of the mountain provided outstanding 360 degree views of the greater Phoenix area. Truly gives you a great perspective on how largely populated the area is and some great scenery.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My Son loved climbing to the top of Camelback Mountain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My 27 yr. old son went to Camelback Mountain. It was too much for us to climb at our age, but my son went to the top and back down. He thought it was just fabulous, took many pictures, was so proud of his accomplishment and met many nice other climbers up and down along the way. It is steep and rugged but he totally enjoyed it. Some were jogging their way up and down that have done it before and very fit. My son will treasure that climb forever. A must do if you are into mountain hiking. It took him a few hours and then we picked him up at the end. Bring enough water with you of course.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Be sure to carry water!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is great hike, but not for those who want an easy stroll. It is tough for beginners, but also a great workout hike for those who are fit enough! I climb this hike every time I'm in Phoenix as a challenge for myself. Last time was in a dust storm, so there was not much of a view. Otherwise the view over the city and the hike through the natural desert is wonderful. It is not uncommon to see lizards or chuckwalla if you look. But, be warned, YOU WILL NEED WATER!! I have always started on the Cholla Trailhead (west side). Next time will have to try the Echo Canyon Trailhead (hopefully a next time soon!)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This is not a don't miss locale, you simply can't miss it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

About 50 years ago the people of Phoenix decided to preserve landmark mountains around the City. Camelback Mountain was one of the areas included. It's a landmark, and it's visible from most of the City. My only regret is the preservation did not include the base of the mountain. Still, there are hiking trails for the adventurous, and the views from the mountain are almost as good as the views of it.
Costs nothing to look. It's a natural landmark, surrounded by roads, and a symbol of Phoenix.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camelback Mountain also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelback Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Camelback Mountain to your Saves list