We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly our landmark for all of us who live downtown.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camelback Mountain

Camelback Mountain
5700 North Echo Canyon Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85018 (Camelback East)
602 256 3220
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$71*
and up
Phoenix / Valley Area Highlights
Ranked #3 of 94 Attractions in Phoenix
Type: Mountains, Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Rock climbing, Hiking
Attraction details
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Truly our landmark for all of us who live downtown.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I live within view of the Praying Monk. Follow his prayer to the Elements at Sanctuary for a class act and incredible food.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    181
    29
    3
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I wish exercising was always this much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We hiked the Cholla trail. It was a great hike and quite challenging. We started our hike at about 8am on a Sunday and it was quite crowded - likely because Echo Canyon trail was temporarily closed. Bring water and enjoy your hike. For anyone wanting to find out more about hikes and pretty much anything else to do in and around Scottsdale, check out one of the best sites around -> http://www.destination-scottsdale.com/. Shannon provides great tips and timely information

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good but crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

It was a great hike but the trail we went on was not too big and it was extremely crowded and swarming with people. A tip is to go really early to get a good view or right before it closes.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good workout - wish we would have started earlier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

After figuring out how to find the actual open trailhead and realized there was a 1/2 mile walk or so just to get there from the street parking, it was already a little late in the day but we decided to hike up the trail as far as we could until we had to turn back with time to get down before sunset. The cacti were blooming so there were lots of stops for photos. The trail is quite rough and steep in parts - coming down was a little more difficult so make sure you have plenty of time and lots of light or I could see some ankles breaking! We saw people bring their dogs, but unless they are super fit, I'd be wary of doing that. It was evening and not too hot, but regardless of the time of day bring plenty of water. There were no facilities that I was aware of, so keep that in mind. We didn't make it up too far, but the views as the sun set and the city lights came on were pretty great. Well worth finding parking and the trailhead...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Camelback Mountain is an amazing hike. Make sure you take water and wear hiking shoes. Don't under estimate the time it takes to hike it. It is a very challenging hike but well worth the effort

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camelback Mountain also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelback Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.