We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 365-degree view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camelback Mountain

Camelback Mountain
5700 North Echo Canyon Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85018 (Camelback East)
602 256 3220
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #4 of 129 attractions in Phoenix
Type: Mountains, Hiking Trails
Activities: Rock climbing, Hiking
Attraction Details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great 365-degree view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Took the Cholla trail & it was a decent workout for two athletic 30 year-olds, not as tiring as a competitive soccer game. It was not as challenging as the Echo Valley trail which was closed at the time of our travel. The view of Phoenix & all the surrounding ranges from the top were great. My only complaint is the horrendous parking situation. Our 7 year-old could not have made it to the top but there were a number of older kids that were on the path.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    142
    24
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hike for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We made it to the top....Ages 9, 12, and 46! I can't say it was easy, but well worth it! The first half is pretty standard hiking, but the last part you need to be a bit fearless. Coming down is a bit more nerve racking than going up. Bring a bottle of water and a small camera. Maybe some trail mix for the top to give you the energy to make it down!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This place offers a more challenging hike and some parts are very steep. Best to go in the morning when its less hot. Bring lots of water. The Echo Canyon area was closed for renovations until later in April so you need to use a different entry point and park on the street.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I did the trek up Camelback on a beautiful late Saturday afternoon in March and had a wonderful time and am really glad I worked it in to my quick trip to the Scottsdale area. I did the Cholla Trail as I believe the Echo one is closed right now, and was surprised at how easy it was to park there. You park on the street about 10 minutes from the start of the trail on a main road that borders a golf course. You then just follow all the other people who are walking to the trail or returning.

As far as the trail and hike itself, it was easy if you are in OK shape and you can easily stop and rest at many points. However, to reach the top-top of the mountain it gets a bit more dicey up there. For 80% of the trail you are simply walking up a path, and a lot of people stop near the top and don't keep going. If you do keep going the rest of the way, you are then pulling yourself up rocks, looking down high cliffs on your side, and generally trying not to slip and fall. Some parts of this final stretch I don't think are safe for kids or people out of shape. For anyone else, it's highly worth it to keep going.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bring lots of water and be in good physical shape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Camelback mountain is not the faint of heart or the novel tourist. It is very roughed and a tough climb to the top. Most people get air lifted off mainly because lack of being prepared. East coasters beware this is not for the causal hiker. If you are up to it and make it the 360 view of the valley of the sun is one to behold. It was a fascinating climb for my daughter and I.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camelback Mountain also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelback Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Camelback Mountain to your Saves list