We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish and Chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Codfather

The Codfather
1618 E Bell Rd # 101, Phoenix, AZ 85022 (Camelback East)
(602) 788-1199
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #472 of 2,446 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had a wonderful meal here.
Lots of authentic British sides and beverages.
Mark and Ruth, the owners, are English transplants and were most gracious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go to the Codfather for the Best Fish & Chips this side of the pond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

5 years ago a gentleman in a supermarket told us about The Codfather as he knew we were British. We went with an open mind because most 'fish and chips' in Arizona or terrible. We were
pleasantly surprised at how good it was. Since then we go regularly and have told other people.
My son and his wife and family now go there too. When people come from England we take them there and they really enjoy it.
The staff are pleasant and helpful. We are going tonight.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
128 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely worth trying! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Decided to go full on English at The Codfather. I had the cod & chips, a Tetley's English draft beer (earthy & delicious) & the potato & onion pie. Food is fabulous. My husband had the catfish & chips. So much food! Very generous portion, friendly staff & a little British store too (flake bars are my favorite! ) a definite do again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
142 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Cod I Couldn't Refuse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I've had fish & chips in England and this place is authentic to your causal chip shop. You're not going to find Gordon Ramsay in the kitchen but they hold their own. They offer a variety of fish, even mahi-mahi which is surprising good. The beer list is very good, it rivals many. There is a small British gift shop with some good finds. We will go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Below Average Fish & Chips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Been here before, but some years back, so thought I'd try again.

If you never had good Fish & Chips (fries) you might find it okay.

Portions are small for the price and I found the fish batter to be greasy. They give you a small bowl of crisps (chips) but they're very salty. Photos show lemons on the plate, but none arrived.Tried a scotch egg as I hadn't had one for years; it'l be years again if this is the only place I can get one.
They have an extensive drink menu at fair prices. Sign said "Happy Hour." 3-7, but not what it was.
If you're having a meat dish, ask for HP sauce it'll improve your meal.
They have a small selection of English grocery products for sale, but grossly overpriced.
There are far better choices for "Fish & Chips" in North Phoenix. You'll spend less, get more, and better food. Surprised I gave it 3 buttons.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Codfather also viewed

 

Been to The Codfather? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Codfather, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.