We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Both pros and cons” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Phoenix North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Phoenix North to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Phoenix North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9425 North Black Canyon Freeway, Phoenix, AZ 85021 (North Mountain)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #18 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
upstate NY
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Both pros and cons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

I usually like Marriott properties, and was prepared to like this one. It's very clean, the bed was perfect, linens smooth and clean, room layout great. The desk was fine for working, and was well lit. The price was a very good $90.00 a night with taxes.
It was very hard to get to, with one-way streets, and it was behind another Marriott, a Springhill Suites. We had even downloaded the directions from the hotel's website. After circling all over the place in the dark, we broke a few traffic laws and got in.
The breakfast was a disaster, having run out of even the most basic foods, like coffee, oatmeal, toast, yogurt. There was no attendant in the breakfast room, and no one at the front desk. We had no time to go searching for a restaurant, as we had to get to our workplace.
Strangest of all was that there was extremely hot water in the toilet, running constantly, and creating steam and stuffiness in the whole room! We've never had that happen before in a hotel, or anywhere, for that matter. The walls were thin, and we could hear our neighbor's TV and banging around in the kitchenette.
Perhaps this hotel is having staffing (and plumbing!) problems right now, but there are probably lots of better hotels for business trips to Phoenix.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    35
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
12
10
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

hotel was very clean, the only thind that i was expecting was for the pool to be located in a different site. It was out in the back and was not very clean, and no shade with the horrible heat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I came down for some spring training games and stayed here. Staff was very friendly and helpful. If i come to Phoenix next year I'll definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Came in town for an event at the University of Pheonix stadium and just wanted something somewhat nearby.

Towneplace Suites not only delivered exactly what I was looking for, but their staff was exceptionally friendly. Being in the hotel industry myself I am always critiqueing every aspect of a hotel when I stay with them. I was genuinely impressed. I sat with the front desk agent for nearly 20 minutes questioning the town's safer areas as well as good places to visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

We spent a week in Phoenix and really enjoyed our stay here. We got a great rate of $79/nt because we stayed more than 5 nights. The front desk staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful, and any requests (burned out light bulb, extra bedding) were promptly attended to. The extra space in the room (compared to a regular hotel room) was wonderful. There is small seating area with a sofa and chair, and the kitchen, with a big fridge, and even a dishwasher, was great for lunches and snacks. It was too cold to try out the pool, but the gym was good for some exercise in the evening. The free internet in the lobby was very useful, and if someone was using the computer, the desk clerk was happy to print out directions for us. We had no problem with highway noise, considering that the hotel is fairly close to the Black Canyon Fwy., although we always request a room on the top floor. Sometimes we could hear our neighbor's TV, but turning on the bathroom fan tuned that out. We have stayed in other Marriott Towneplace Suites, and they are usually our first choice when travelling.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Located along major interstate on a frontage. Nearby intersections can be confusing until you get used to them. Nicely set back from road.
Stayed in a studio room with full kitchenette, pull-out sofa and in-room data center.
Upholstered furniture looked quite worn and could stand to be replaced soon.
Mattress was comfortable. AC unit and refrigerator were loud when running.
Easy internet connection and many outlets for charging devices.
Bathroom has great shower--with showerhead up high (great for us taller people, no slouching down to wash hair!), great pressure, temperature and water softness.
Vanity is medium in size but plenty of drawer space is available in bathroom. Two large mirrors in bathroom, no other mirrors located in room.
Continental breakfast served: coffee, cereal, fresh fruit, waffles, oatmeal, grits, yogurt, juice, milk, bread for toast and pastries.
Computer with internet connection available in lobby with printer for patron's use--great for flight check-in and printing boarding passes.
There was a workout room, but we didn't use it. The pool is outdoor.
Friendly, helpful front desk staff that speaks English and Spanish.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moliver21
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed at the Towneplace Suites due to attending the Western National Softball Tournament hosted in Phoenix, AR. We were impressed by the cleanliness of all of the suites and the overall comfort that we enjoyed while staying at this property for 6 nights. The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to help us with every little detail that we needed support with. They also hosted a barbeque at the pool for the quests and it was just what we needed after playing softball in the Arizona heat. One morning our girls needed to be at a game prior to the morning breakfast time and the desk attendant was generous enough to help us get enough breakfast items together to feed our 14 girls a breakfast that was terrific. There were a few difficulties in some of the rooms but they were remedied quickly and with a smile. The only complaint was the room keys would not work all of the time and daily needed to be redone to enter the buildings and rooms. It is a quiet, nice property, and close to everything that you might need, if I ever return to Phoenix I would definetly stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites Phoenix North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Phoenix North

Address: 9425 North Black Canyon Freeway, Phoenix, AZ 85021
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > North Mountain
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#40 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Phoenix North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites Phoenix North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Phoenix Metrocenter Mall Hotel Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Phoenix North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.