We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Phoenix North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Phoenix North to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Phoenix North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9425 North Black Canyon Freeway, Phoenix, AZ 85021 (North Mountain)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #28 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Omaha, NE
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom suite. It was very nice to have a full kitchen in the room. The furniture could use a little updating some of it is getting old and tired. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The AC worked very well. Most of the staff was helpful and friendly, could have had a better knowledge of the area instead of relying on computers to get all of their information. If you are not traveling with a computer be prepared to use one in the lobby with no privacy. The internet works well but does seem to be throttled, takes a long time to upload photos. Right on the interstate but couldn't hear traffic at all. There is a dog park just across the street and a large shopping area across the interstate. Would stay here again if returned to Phoenix.

Room Tip: The higher the better in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
11
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights while at spring training so did not spend a ton of time in the room. Room was clean but did have slight smell when first entered the room. Turned on fan and smell went away quickly. Only other issue was some holes in the window screen but not a big deal. Breakfast was very nice. Staff very friendly. Let us have a late checkout. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012 via mobile

I really appreciated the spacious and clean suite I got assigned. Simple but comfortable. The beds are comfy and firm. The staff was very polite. Breakfast is just ok and the breakfast room a bit gloomy. Definitely would try to improve.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011 via mobile

Nothing fancy. Beds were NOT comfortable. In 6 night stay didn't get a good night's sleep. HVAC has issues. Warm never got cool, and it was NOVEMBER. had to wake up clerk one morning to open breakfast room. Two juices were not working. Poorly maintained breakfast on weekend. Will NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

A year ago I walked away from this property because of a rude desk clerk when I tried to check in. At that time I called Marriott for a cancellation and new reservation at another property.

The room was appointed okay, but having stayed at other TownePlace Suites properties (in Phoenix area, Minnesota and Texas) it did not live up to expectations. The room was cramped, it seemed difficult to spread out and get work done. The TV was analog, with long lag between channel changes. The bathroom was just average clean, the toilet seat was loose, and the tub could use more elbow grease to get it clean. Oh, yes, the shower curtain was mildewed. I found the room too warm and was unable to get it cool enough. At least breakfast was decent, but the breakfast room attendant seemed to hover and want to snatch up dirty dishes almost before they were available. It simply seemed rude to clean the table before I was finished eating.

Though it was among the cheapest in the Marriott chain in Phoenix for the date of my stay, it might have been better to choose another site. Next time I will pass this one by. I shared these comments with the property by way of a comment card.

Room Tip: Request upper floor room away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Room was a studio with a large bed, sitting area, and kitchenette - very clean and well maintained. The bed was comfortable; room was efficient. Ample space to spread out and ample space to work. Internet access worked fine. This was just an overnight stay, so I really didn't need the kitchenette, but had I needed to stay for any length of time, the kitchenette would have been welcome. Good value for the rate I paid.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anytown, USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I chose this property for my week-long trip to Phoenix since I had two Marriot reward nights I needed to use. I was willing to pay for the other 5 nights.

For the reward points booking done online, I was offered a one-bed-suite. For the other 5 nights, I booked a studio (Rate was $69/night, which is high for peak-summer in Phoenix) For the paid nights, I was hoping for an upgrade since I am a Silver Marriot member and also the fact that I was already checked-in to a one-bed suite. After first two nights, the manager at front desk asked for another $10/night if I wanted to continue in the one-bed suite, else move to a Studio!

I ended up paying $79 / night for 5 nights in peak summer. I guess Manger’s philosophy:: Down economy = try for higher margins from every customer coming your way

I wrote about my experience in a Marriot customer survey request sent to me, but no response.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Phoenix North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Phoenix North

Address: 9425 North Black Canyon Freeway, Phoenix, AZ 85021
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > North Mountain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#53 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Phoenix North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Phoenix North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Phoenix Metrocenter Mall Hotel Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Phoenix North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.