We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy eating during happy hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Chef

Iron Chef
10810 N. Tatum Blvd, Phoenix, AZ
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #382 of 2,584 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Sushi, Chinese, Japanese
Restaurant details
Yakima, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Happy eating during happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Visit this place if you want tasty sushi rolls at 1/2 off. I agree with other reviewers who thought the size of the rolls wouldn't warrant regular prices. The variety is A-ok, if you don't desire out of the ordinary/specialty sashimi. Having had multiple visits here, I prefer sitting at the counter so I can catch glimpses of the sushi-making process. Sometimes service was slow during the evening happy hour due to fewer wait staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Too expensive for average food unless you get appetizers at happy hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went at late happy hour, 8-10pm so the sushi was either 40% or 50% off regular price. Thank goodness as we ordered 4 rolls at 50% off an I would have been very upset if we would have paid full price. Too expensive for what I felt was average at best. What I would recommend is if you get a drink you get appetizers for $2.00. The Tempura shrimp appetizer was very good! It was fresh and had great flavor.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best chinese delivery around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We've tried several places for our regular Sunday chinese delivery. Iron Chef is the best one around. The food is always tasty but even better is the great quality of the meats and seafood. The Dragon & Phoenix entree is my favorite but everything has been great. It's also a great choice for my fiance and I because he loves sushi but i would prefer a hot meal so it's a perfect fit for our different pallets.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy sushi & great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We went here with a living social deal and will definitely be back! Every single item we ordered was fabulous (taste, quality, and presentation). The specialty "birds of paradise" roll was the best "fancy" roll I have ever ate. The service was polite, friendly, and quick. Prices are similar to other sushi restaurants, however quality here exceeds others sushi restaurants in the valley for the price. We will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Iron Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The food is fantastic. There is an endless menu of creative rolls. All the employees are fun, attentive, and full of smiles. The location is great @ the SW corner of Shea and Tatum. The outdoor eating is relaxing. If I could think of more great things to say I would. I have been there many times.

They are great with kids too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Chef also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Iron Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Chef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.