We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Phoenix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Phoenix to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Phoenix
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11411 N Black Canyon Highway, Phoenix, AZ 85029   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #36 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redding, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I was driving from California to Georgia and my stop was in Phoenix. I checked online to see where I should stay and Candlewood Suites was one of the top picks and I see why. It is very very comfortable and really really nice. The bed was very comfortable and my brother enjoyed the hide away bed in the living area. I loved the kitchenette and everything that came with the room. Well above what I was expecting. If you are looking for a place to stay over from a long trip to get a good nights rest this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aeryn O, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hello Tarvywarvy85,
Our team is elated that you enjoyed your stay during your travels cross country. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    40
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
33
11
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pearl River, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This was our second and last stay at a Candlewood Suite. This one was in Phoenix, Az. The first was in SouthNew Jersey. The room is small with a Queen bed. There is a large recliner stuffed between the bed and the wall. Bathroom is spartan with an ill-fitting plastic toilet seat.
Never Again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aeryn O, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello Randy105,
I apologize that your experience was anything less than exceptional. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay with us as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Again, I apologize that the size of our rooms was insufficient for your needs. If I can provide any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 602-861-4900.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NASHVILLE
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was in town to work the AZ state fair. Did not want to spend any money so I used some reward points. Boy did I scores. Great room, free laundry, awesome staff and Pappadeaux's next door. Glad I decided to stay here instead of paying a lot more for a 5 star hotel. All other chains, catch up, Candlewood is on top.

I consider the store a restaurant. They had everything you could think of.

Room Tip: Any one is a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aeryn O, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello Lynn,
We greatly appreciate your review and that you took the time to acknowledge our hotel as well as the Candlewood Cupboard (one of our best amenities!). Our goal as a team and as a hotel brand is to have the "Home Away from Home" feeling for our guests. We hope that you visit us next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Overall, we had a great experience from this extended stay hotel even though we found it had the lowest rate for our one night stay. Bed was smaller for a couple (double) and firm. The room was a nice upgrade for us (my wife is platinum with IHG) with a nice bathroom and couch. Would recommend even for one night stay!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aeryn O, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello Nicholas,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. We value our guest loyalty and a big thank you to your wife as well for being a Platinum IHG Rewards Club member with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were in town for a wedding end of August. The location was perfect. I choose this property from the reviews on TA. They seldom disappoint.
The remodel is very nice. They are homey and comfy. We enjoyed our 1 bedroom suite. We could go in and shut the door and our daughter had the living room and sofabed...she said it was comfy too! The linens and towels were very nice. Everything was clean and in good repair!
The laundry room was really cool. We used the country pantry a lot. Nice snacks and drinks and food and really reasonable. Our daughter loved the nice new modern exercise room and said it had everything she liked in there! Very clean too.
Being a IGH rewards member, I got 2 bottles of water and some snacks at check in!! They had movies, a beverage table, and a small adequate business center. Friendly and fun!
Didn't use the pool but it looked nice and relaxing and clean.
We would most definitely stay at this fine location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aeryn O, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello Corvettegal48,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about our hotel and also being a loyal IHG Rewards Club member. As a team we all take great pride in our hotel and our guests. Happy to hear that you utilized our Candlewood Cupboard and that your daughter was able to use our fitness center as well. We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

It was only by chance that I discovered candlewood suites Phoenix. My wife and I were looking for a hotel where in we could use our rewards to cover our four-night stay. We found this hotel and location. We checked into a very very very new,modern,energy efficient,service efficient and clean hotel. Their gym was a treat! It was complete! We extended our four night stay till the maximum stay our vacation time allowed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aeryn O, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hello ReneUnson,
First of all, we want to thank you for being a loyal IHG Rewards Club member! Second, we wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Candlewood Suites is a very unique brand of hotel and we are pleased to see that you found just what we love about it. Wonderful that you were able to take time and utilize our fitness center also. Our staff takes great pride in our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I chose to stay here based on good reviews on Trip Advisor. Was very pleased with my experience and would definitely stay here again. I am new to Candlewood Suites, and didn't realize the rooms are geared toward the business traveler (large desk space, desk chair, small kitchen). There was a stove, dishware, and cookware in the room..very handy! The wall a/c unit was the quietest I have heard in a long time, maybe ever. The full-size refrigerator was a relatively quiet frig as far as they go, but I am not used to sleeping in the same room as a full-size frig. That wouldn't keep me from staying here again though. I really appreciated the wide paved bike trail behind the complex where there were several people cycling and walking on a Saturday morning...a great place to get some walking in before sitting in the car all day. I had recently stayed at "La Quinta I-10 West" and found the Candlewood location much preferable...it felt safer and has more restaurants nearby. The rooms here are functional, clean, and a great price. I wouldn't choose this for a romantic get-away, but for business or other basic travel (including vacation travel), it was great! Also, I appreciated the recycling containers in the building! And Kevin at the front desk was friendly and nice!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aeryn O, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hello SJC_,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review for our Candlewood Suites Phoenix. Our entire staff takes a lot of pride in our product and our brand. Great to see you were out on the biking/walking trail. It is a wonderful feature and we love to see our guests taking advantage of it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Phoenix

Address: 11411 N Black Canyon Highway, Phoenix, AZ 85029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Phoenix 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. At the Candlewood Suites Phoenix hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Big and built for comfort, it's the ultimate suite for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. We re a pet friendly hotel, too (fees apply). The Candlewood Suites Phoenix hotel is an all suites hotel near Honeywell Automation College and close to Cactus League MLB Spring Training. We are a 2011 Cactus League Spring Training hotel! The Candlewood Suites Phoenix hotel is located near Maryvale Stadium and Peoria Sports Complex. We are a 2011 Phoenix International Raceway hotel! The Candlewood Suites Phoenix hotel is located near Phoenix International Raceway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Candlewood Phoenix
Phoenix Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.