We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix to your Saves list
JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054 (Desert Ridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Bull Valley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a great weekend at the JW Desert Ridge! Beautiful property and very accommodating staff. We enjoyed their Revive Spa so much that we booked another appointment the next day. The evenings are very beautiful there (firepits, lights, waterfalls) add so much serenity to the overall ambiance of the resort. We didn't get to try all the restaurants, but the food we were able to enjoy at a few of them were amazing. We had a great time and cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Revive Spa and that you returned the following day – that says a lot! Revive Spa associates have a strong focus on bringing tranquility and a sense of relaxation to our guests and we’re pleased to hear that this was achieved! We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    426
    128
    33
    28
See reviews for
380
303
45
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were here in the spring and had a wonderful time. Went out with four couples for a long weekend and golfing for the guys. The property is very nice, but the place is almost too big. One dislike was that to get to our room we had to walk probably a hundred yards to go down some stairs and then backtrack to get to our room. Not a huge deal though. Only other complaint was that the deal we booked gave us like $50/day in resort credit and when we checked out they acted like we were crazy. I had to pull up the reservation details on my phone and show it to them to get it corrected. Aside from that had a great stay. The pool and lazy river are great and having the two courses on site is pretty convenient. They might not be my favorite courses in Scottsdale, but both are fun. The location is pretty good for Phoenix/Scottsdale area as well. Its such a sprawling city that you have to have a car, but it's pretty centrally located relative to the places we go when we're there. We ate breakfast a couple of times there and while expensive, it's a pretty good spread. Didn't dine at any of the other restaurants on site since there are so many other places in the area we wanted to go to. I have eaten at the Roy's that's on site and remember it being really good. I would certainly return and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are so pleased to hear that your stay with friends was enjoyable and that you were able to experience the amenities that we offer and had fun out on our golf courses! We do sincerely apologize about your experience with the resort fee at the front desk and will bring it to the attention of our front office staff to ensure that will not happen again in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We always use Marriott time shares for vacations. You get a suite with a fully equipped kitchen and the design from one to another is quite familiar. This helps you to feel at home. This Marriott is just like the others. It is furnished to a high standard, with lots of room. Parking space is plentiful. The location is beautiful and top class (e.g. lots of palm tress with lights on trunk at night;l excellent road surfaces). The pool area was nice but we picked a cold week in early February 2014 and so made little use of it. There are lots of good local golf courses. I preferred to play elsewhere as I do not like paying the special reduced rate for owners ($159). I can afford it but I will not pay more than $100 for a golf game. I enjoyed Desert Canyon, Scottsdale, the most perhaps because I got a hole in one there last week. Good price, good course. My only argument with Marriott is that they have a woman on the front desk who is supposedly there to help you but whose real job is to get you to attend an "owners' update". This means laying your self open to a high pressure sales experience. It also means wasting half a day while on vacation. This time, the lady on the front desk was very helpful and friendly in a superficial way until we made it clear that we did not want to attend a sales talk and then she suddenly turned off her nice manner and went back to her private cellphone call which she had on hold. We have been to many Marriotts and so we know the routine.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good. There is a recycling bin in the room. They do not wash towels every day but clean the room once every week unless asked to do more.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments as we are glad you had a pleasant stay the Marriott Canyon Villas Vacation Club. Although this page represents the JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort and Spa, we will relay your comments to the management team over at the Canyon Villas for their review. We are two different entities, but our goal is to make everyone’s experience as enjoyable as possible for all of our guests”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I desperately needed a staycation to relax after a stressful work month, and we loved stayiing at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge. The grounds are immaculate, outdoor patio with firepits very relaxing and warming on a cool February evening, and rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Great selection of restaurants and a Starbuck's in the lobby (a must have for us). My husband surprised me with a massage and manicure in the spa. Highly recommend the spa treatment - so nice and the waiting area and soft robes were calming. This was our second visit and we will be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor. View of pool area is nice, but you will hear live music on weekends below until...
See more room tips
Green Features: We used the recycle bag in the room for our water bottles and papers. It was nice to have that option.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
It is so wonderful to hear that we offered you a relaxing, stress free staycation! We certainly appreciate you choosing our resort for your staycation and look forward to having you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I am here for a 4 day conference. Conference facility is spacious and convenient. Food for our event was very good. We had an event outside on the lawn which was a blast even if the weather was cold (they had heated lamps). Although was not able to try, the pool looked fantastic and so did the golf course-will have to come back. Warning, originally, they gave me a room above the lobby with the room door facing the atrium. Because the bar is on the 1st floor, the noise level coming from the bar was very disruptive. They gladdly changed my room to a quieter area. Great facility for a conference.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We appreciate you sharing your experiences during your conference and are so pleased to hear that you felt that the facilities were spacious and enjoyed our food during your event. We hope to have you join us again in the future maybe when traveling for pleasure to enjoy our recreational amenities and hopefully some warmer weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We visited the spa at the resort and had a wonderful time. I had a massage with Brian and it was amazing. I highly recommend him. We ate at the restaurant afterwards and the service there was excellent too. Our server Aleksandra was very friendly and we had a great time hanging out with her while we ate. We were blown away by how great everything was and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of Revive Spa. We truly appreciate your comments and are delighted to hear that both Brian and Aleksandra were able to make your experience an amazing one! We will certainly share your kind words with each of them. We look forward welcoming you back to Revive Spa soon to create yet another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Lovely Girls Weekend! 5 ladies, 2 adjoining rooms. Beautiful grounds but a very large resort. Wear your walking shoes when coming in from the parking lot or to even run down to the pool. Enjoyed the pool area and spa. I personally didn't eat at the restaurants as there were many great options with in driving distance but the other ladies did enjoy poolside drinks and snacks. Poolside servers were attentive.

Rooms were typical resort type rooms, not overly large but adequate. Convenient mini-fridge and coffee pot. When the hair dryer wouldn't work, it was immediately taken care of. The service is top-notch.

Had a great massage at the spa but was surprised about them having you pay and add an automatic 20% gratuity before the service. I've been to several resort spas and that was a first. Again, the service from all staff was great.

I will return one day with the kids so they can enjoy all the activities and pools (they will love the lazy river). Plenty of shopping and casual dining options at the shopping center near by.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review on our resort. We are so pleased that your girl’s weekend was so enjoyable! We appreciate your feedback on the gratuity at Revive Spa and apologize that you were not offered the option to either add the 20% gratuity prior to your service as a convenience or adjust the gratuity prior to the end of your service; we will certainly bring this to the attention of our spa staff to make sure they do offer options to all guests. We’re glad the service was great for you during your time spent at the spa and we certainly look forward to your return with your children to enjoy some of our family activities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix

Address: 5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#8 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa provides luxury, unparalleled service, endless recreation and exquisite dining. This desert mountain luxury hotel near Phoenix has Arizona's largest ballroom, a pampering spa, outstanding restaurants and championship golf. Upon arrival, you're greeted with an expansive grand lobby, splashing fountains, stunning floor-to-ceiling windows, sparkling waterways and majestic palm-lined pathways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.