We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix to your Saves list
JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054 (Desert Ridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #9 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
philadelphia, pa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort in Phoenix is an amazing place to stay. I was here for 3 days for business and I loved it. The only disappointment was that the water slide was closed due to it being early March, therefore "off season". We are from Philadelphia and it's very cold there in march, so, 70-80 degree weather was summer to us, but cold to Phoenix! We still had a wonderful time and my room was gorgeous. The outdoor seating for the restaurant was fantastic and we ate outside 2 nights in a row. I'd highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    414
    125
    32
    28
See reviews for
370
288
44
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, la
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here for a conference. Everything was great. Staff, rooms, food, etc. Comfortable bed. CLEAN room!! In room fridge was nice to have. Stayed for 5 nights, never left the hotel. Ate on property entire time. Can get a little pricey, however the price of a cab would have been the same. Forgot my swimsuit, found a great one in the spa boutique. Loved the pool. Only thing we would have liked would have been later poolside service, it ended at 5:30 and we would have enjoyed it much later. Great conference hotel. Loved all the restaurants. Worth the money. Tip: share entrees at the Italian place, servings are huge.

Room Tip: hotel is very big.. Get a room closer to elevator to reduce walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My family has been going to Desert Ridge for years now. It is our favorite place, and we look forward to coming back again and again. The hotel is beautiful, the Canyon Villas are amazing, the spa is possibly my favorite place on earth, and the food and drinks are outstanding. Recommendations: Start the day out on the lazy river, and be sure to snag a Kokopeli Kolada or two. Don't forget to explore all the grounds, there are gardens, golf courses; I find something new every time I go. For dinner, go no farther than Roy's. If I could eat there every night of my life, I would. Get the butterfish. After dinner, sit in or outside the lobby, listen to live music and enjoy the peaceful bliss that is Desert Ridge. The best time to go is during the off season when it is less crowded and quiet. During peak seasons it can get packed with families and children. However, if you are a family looking for a vacation spot then the peak season may be for you. Any time is a great time though, I can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room here, every room has a view of something beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is the first time I've stayed at a JW. Have stayed at many Marriotts, and Ritz Carlton hotels. I was very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel, and the service. This resort was the quality of a good Ritz Carlton. As far as amenities, the resort has two 18 hole golf courses, several restaurants, and of course pool and spa. The room was beautiful, large, and clean, as were the resort grounds. Overall, and excellent place for a few days of golf and sun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Pines, Colorado
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Maybe we were overly impressed with the lobby Christmas Decorations, but this hotel ranks at the top of our list along with other JW hotels. From the moment one pulls into the driveway, you know you are in for a first class experience and nothing disappoints. The only place we have been that equals the experience we had is The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs. The JW staff is outstanding in terms of friendliness and service. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. The lobby and grounds are well done and maintained. The workout facilities are excellent. The golf courses are well worth the price. The Blue Sage and Tuscany restaurants were outstanding. We were on a package deal as a part of a group for a golfing trip. In all respects, this was a first class experience.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in a handicap room. We never heard a sound and it was convenient to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My company holds their annual conference here. I liked it so much the first year that the next my husband and daughter flew out to make a vacation out of it. It is such an ideal venue for our conferences that we are renting out the entire hotel for this year's conference. The classy and scenic grounds, pool areas, and lazy river are perfect for R&R after the long days of seminars, training, and networking. I was particularly fond of taking my breakfast outdoors, though we did leave the grounds for some variety at dinner-time. If you are in the mood (and can afford) to splurge and pamper yourself and get a taste of the southwest, I'd recommend it! Cheers, Lauren

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melfort, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We took our two boys with us to Phoenix in November 2012 and decided to try the JW Marriott. The staff was very friendly and promptly found us another room when we asked to upgrade so we could have more room. The grounds were very well manicured. The pool areas were very clean and never over crowded. There was plenty of room even though the resort was sold out.

The resort is within walking distance of a shopping centre with several restaurant chooses.

The resort offers lots of things to do. Along with the several swimming pools, there are tennis courts,a family center which offers games such as table tennis and ball toss, and a large grass area that is great for tossing a football or kicking a soccer ball with the kids.

We were all very relaxed and comfortable in this resort and would recommend it to anyone looking to get away for while.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix

Address: 5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa provides luxury, unparalleled service, endless recreation and exquisite dining. This desert mountain luxury hotel near Phoenix has Arizona's largest ballroom, a pampering spa, outstanding restaurants and championship golf. Upon arrival, you're greeted with an expansive grand lobby, splashing fountains, stunning floor-to-ceiling windows, sparkling waterways and majestic palm-lined pathways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
Jw Marriott Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.