We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have neem great but A/C wasn't great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 N. 6th St., Phoenix, AZ 85004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #58 of 174 hotels in Phoenix
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would have neem great but A/C wasn't great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Overall I think this hotel does a great job delivering the solid holiday inn express experience. I liked having a spacious clean room and breakfast spread is always nice. The only complaint I have is my A/c in my room wasn't working that well. I told the staff and they said they had it checked but it still did not cool the room very well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    49
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
19
28
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Awesome staff, clean rooms, great breakfast, you get worth of every penny you spend here.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the back side of the building, its quite and you get view of phoenix downtown an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were spacious and clean. The hotel is very quiet and well maintained. The pool/hot tub area is very nice and open year round. All of the employees from the maids, breakfast personnel, and the front desk representatives were very helpful and amazing.
The free breakfast in the morning is very nice and I noticed there were different main dish choices on different days. One day scrambled eggs with sausage, the next day, eggs with cheese(sort of omelet style) with ham. They also have a pancake maker, fruits, pastries, toast, yogurts, biscuits/gravy, assorted juices, milk and coffee. The breakfast is served in a very large room that looks out to the pool area.
The hotel is really close to ASU and the Arizona Center (within a short 5 minute walk).
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

As a frequent traveler I have come to love the consistent quality of holiday in express properties. This one did not disappoint. The staff was friendly, and on the ball and the room was clean, neat and well serviced. The internet worked well, but If you drive, be aware parking is not plentiful. Did not try the breakfast.

Will stay there again.
27J

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Hotel grounds and rooms are typical HIE, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is within walking distance of downtown atteactions, however, if you return to the hotel late at night, be sure you know exactly how walk back to the hotel (or get a pedicab) as the neighborhood can be a bit "sketchy' at night with lots of lonely, off the beated track stretches that may make one concerned for their safety.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We had one night in Phoenix after driving down from the Grand Canyon on the way back through to LA. I wish we had had another night at this hotel though. We were a little early but this was no problem and we had our rooms immediately after a little banter about Aussies vs Kiwis. Room was spacious, very clean and had a flat screen TV and fridge. Wifi worked well throughout the stay.
We made use of the on site laundry facility also - was great to catch up on some washing.
The reception team directed us to the Arizona centre for lunch which was a 10 min walk away where we had several choices for where to dine. We went back later after a swim and spa for tea/dinner to a greek resturant there and had the best time. We had heard that downtown wasn't the safest place to be but we never felt threatened.
Breakfast the next morning was awesome with pancakes available and eggs and bacon in addition to the usual cereals and pastries and there was plenty of tables.
I just wish we had more time to explore Phoenix a bit more and make more use of the lovely pool and other facilities at this hotel.

2 couples from NZ on a road trip through CA, NV and AZ staying at 2-3 star hotels along the way.
Overall this one of the cleanest and most modern feeling of the hotels we stayed at
The breakfast was one of the best too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEPHXDTGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at our Holiday Inn Express in Downtown Phoenix. We pride ourselves in great guest service and want to extend our gratitude to you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

My wife and I completed a week trip to Phoenix, Sedona, Flagstaff, the Grand Canyon and Las Vegas. While this Holiday Inn express was not the most elaborate property we stayed in during the trip, it may have been the best value. The room was very clean, up to date and relatively spacious. The bed was possibly the most comfortable sleep during our trip and they also included a nice flat screen tv in the room amongst the amenities.

The full continental breakfast was another great perk. To have eggs, pancakes and sausage included as options was a nice surprise. Our stay that evening in Phoenix was largely based on our plan to see a baseball game at Chase Field. This property is a convenient walk to the field or easy drive/cab ride. Our only disappointment came with the city not with the property. Phoenix was nearly deserted for virtually the entire time we were there (ballgame excluded). I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property for a stay. I would just tell you hopefully the weather is more conduscive to bringing excitement and people to the downtown area when you visit. It wasn't there while we were.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown

Address: 620 N. 6th St., Phoenix, AZ 85004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located only four blocks from the US Airways Center, home of the NBA AllStar game and week end.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix Downtown - Ball Park is a beautiful hotel located in downtown Phoenix. We are within walking distance to Chase Field, home of the AZ Diamondbacks, Arizona Center , Phoenix Convention Center and the US Airways Arena. You will appreciate that the entire hotel is non-smoking.Travelers visiting APS, Dodge Theater, Orpheum Theater, Saint Mary's Basilica, TGEN, Bio Science High School, Phoenix City Hall, Chase Field, Phoenix Suns, AZ Diamondbacks, Phoenix Courthouse and the Federal Building will find the Holiday Inn & Suites the perfect location. We offer newly renovated spacious guest rooms including executive suites featuring a sitting area including fold out couch. All guestrooms include high-speed Internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, microwave, refrigerator, and cable TV including free HBO. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast buffet that is offered every morning. For your convenience you can print your boarding pass or check email in our free business center. You can work out your frustrations in our workout room or dunk some baskets on our outdoor sports court. Many restaurants are within walking distance.Airport shuttle is not provided.Visit Phoenix and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix Downtown - Ball Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.