We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant for breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Downtown Deli

The Downtown Deli
130 North Central Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85004
602-258-3069
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #746 of 2,668 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Good restaurant for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a deli where you go to the counter to order, a bit like a cafeteria. So, at first we were not enchanted.

We were a bit past the breakfast announced hour, but they still accepted our order without fussing. The food was good, big portions and hot. Not reheated things like you see other places.

While we were there the lunch food started and boy did it smell good!!! The plates we saw go by looked great too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Deli!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Generally when traveling I trust the tripadvisor restaurant rankings. However, this restaurant was not my choice, rather a coworkers. However, of the three restaurants we ate at in Phoenix, this was the best. Loved the corned beef! Good sized fresh cuts of meats, and the soup was good. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The Downtown Deli has a unique menu. You really should try their chocolate scones!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great breakfast burrito, a real neighborhood place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

They have one great breakfast burrito, and they are a real neighborhood place. They are friendly, they remember your name and your order. They have great sandwiches for lunch. Overall good local place! Definitely give it a try!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best sandwich I've had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Took a group of 15 and we were all impressed! If Seinfeld's "Soup Nazi" had the best soup this place has the "Sandwich Nazi". The "New York" sandwich I had was tremendous. The fries were golden and crunchy. Perfect.

John the GM wandered and checked to see if everything was ok. It was.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Downtown Deli also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Downtown Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Downtown Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.