We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sage Kitchen

Sage Kitchen
4773 N 20th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85016-4706 (Camelback East)
+1 602-283-1210
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 2,565 restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian, Healthy, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Description: Sage Kitchen (formerly Chakra 4 Vegetarian Restaurant) serves plant based comfort foods that are healthy and delicious. Feel free to relax and indulge, we'll make sure it's good for you.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I recently vacationed in the Sedona area and based on the timing of my drive back to Phoenix and my flight, I decided to look for a vegetarian/vegan restaurant in Phoenix. I am so glad I found Chakra 4! The moment I entered the restaurant, the aroma (tea? food? both?) was pleasant. I was immediately greeted then seated at a small table. Since I had already read the reviews and menu on Trip Advisor, I knew what I wanted to order. I asked the server if the Hercules burrito could be made vegan and she confirmed it can be. Away she went with my order and I took in my surroundings. The restaurant portion is not very big however it appeared that with the number of chairs and tables in it, nobody was bumping elbows. The decor was simple yet warm. The other half of Chakra 4 seemed to be full of teas and other items (perhaps this is a shop?). It didn't take long for my food to arrive. Luckily I cut into the burrito (instead of picking it up) because it was steaming hot. I like hot food to be hot ... but since it was about 108 degrees outside, it didn't take long for me to ask for cold ice water. The burrito was excellent! Very filling and since I am moving towards a vegan diet, I really appreciated the fact that they were able to accommodate my request.

After I ate, I asked if they had any vegan desserts. Why yes they do. All of the desserts on the top rack of their dessert case were vegan. I decided to get the vegan/raw chocolate ganache. I brought it into the airport with me and enjoyed a fantastic dessert while waiting for my flight. The ganache cost $9.00 which I think is a little expensive so maybe next time they can cut the slices into bigger portions. :)

This was the best meal I had on my entire vacation! The next time I'm on Phoenix, I will definitely stop by again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    22
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A Truly Good Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I know I reviwed this place before but, I can never get over how good it truly is, I love this place. Today I had the Cowgirl wrap (in a teff wrap) and mushroom & onion soup - so good. And the naked iced chai, refreshing. I couldn't have been happier with my lunch. Today I took pics to share :o).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I underestimated this place! The organic chocolates WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The lunch was very tasty. I had the burrito and the accompaniment of the salsa made it great! There are generous servings, service was fair yet very friendly and sweet. The organic home made chocolates are the bomb!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
“like something i would make at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Its nice to find a place that knows what the hell they are doing. Not like some of the other psyudo vegan restaurant trying to be trendy. this is the real deal. Its a tad expensive but i haven't found a better veggy place yet. So in that respect its a fair price.
Cons: They had cut live 200+ year old manzinititas and hung them on the walls. it looks nice but your never supposed to do that. i guess they believed it was ok.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aroma Park, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unique Vegetarian Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

First off, I am not a vegetarian, however, my wife is and that's why we choose to eat at this restaurant. How many teas are there in this world? I think Chakra 4 has all of them. They serve their hot teas in a press.We both ordered wraps, Mediterranean Wrapsody and a Black Bean Sunflower.As for dessert, we both had cheesecake but not the normal cheesecake that I expect. This was not baked, but made with raw product and sweeten with agave. This restaurant is not for everyone but if you are a vegetarian or love that style of food, then this place must get on you list. My wife loved it. At the end of our meal our server gave us some fennel for our digestion. They are open for lunch and dinner, however, they close at 7PM.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage Kitchen also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sage Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sage Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.