We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best things we did on our trip...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Raven Golf Club at South Mountain

The Raven Golf Club at South Mountain
3636 E. Baseline Road, Phoenix, AZ 85040 (South Mountain)
602-243-3636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 134 Activities in Phoenix
Type: Golf Courses, Outdoor Activities
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A true test of traditional golf, this scenic desert golf course features large and rolling fairways and a unique variety of holes including both short and long par 4's.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the best things we did on our trip...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a group of 4, 10-18 handicappers. We just wanted to drop $100/round and get all we could. Good course, good lunch, nice pro-shop, and wide open fun and challenging course. This was it! Desert courses we played in the past were a little tougher for some of us. (Boulders and Troon) Many of the other places wanted $200-300/round. We had lunch beforehand, then started early, at 1:30. Got the twilight rate of $75 and finished by 6pm. No one held us up at all. There were a lot of trees out there, and the fairways were wide and forgiving. You won't loose a lot of balls. The cart girl must have some by 2-3 times on each side. I liked it. I'll be back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    33
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Casa Grand, AZ
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a lesser knwon, but quite beautiful course. It is a links style course, with 6,000 trees that were brought onsite when the course was constructed. Has the flavor of a course in the midwest or east, but the weather advantages that Phoenix has to offer. The tee choices let you tailor the experience to your capabilities, from duffer to low handicapper.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Course conditions didn't match green fees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Raven is a quality golf course with many interesting holes and we did enjoy ourselves. However, at $149 a pop we didn't feel the overall maintenance of the course matched these rates. If your looking for more of a desert layout and great views, there are many other choices. We also noticed some type of fertilization they were spraying just off the fairways and your ball would then be "stickey". Overall though it was enjoyable and the staff very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice course, great management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Course is very nice, priced high compared to other public access courses in the valley. I was very pleased with the pro shop manager, who was very gracious in helping out a non-profit organization that I support with some items for our silent auction.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Weekday golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

With the coupon from newspaper, it was $60ish. Very well maintained course in South PHX. Good practice area, free range balls with green fee. Even on a quiet mid-week day, the beverage cart was out and madeit around often. Had a very good sandwich and salad in the cafe.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raven Golf Club at South Mountain also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Raven Golf Club at South Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raven Golf Club at South Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.