We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place with great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parlor Pizzeria

The Parlor Pizzeria
1916 E Camelback Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85016
602-248-2480
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 2,593 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Peoria, Az.
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fun place with great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I recommend anything they have on the menu. It is located on Camelback and has a misleading sign saying pizzeria, but my favorite is there enormous hamburgers. It's got great vibes and enjoyed by people of all ages.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    24
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I was invited to meet some friends from the Scottsdale area at The Parlor restaurant. It used to be a beauty parlor converted into a restaurant. They still have the chairs from the parlor at the makeup bar or you can sit at tables. The food is excellent and the wine list is superb. I had a salad and risotto with a fine Pinot Noir. Prices are very reasonable and the service was excellent. I live 45 miles away from this restaurant, but I make it a point to go there every so often whenever I am in the Scottsdale area. You won't be sorry.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedville, Virginia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good pizza and Lemoncillo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

The food and drinks were fresh made and delicious. Our server, Greg, was knowledgeable and enlightened us on the in house vermouth and the many food items. One of the great buys, for $25, is a pitcher of beer and a 12 inch pie. We had the sausage, Salsiccia, which was delicious. The Winter Manhattan drink was exceptional with homemade cherry purée, and homemade vermouth. We had the calamari and shrimp appetizer which came with a roasted lemon and was served piping hot. This unassuming restaurant, from the street, is quite eclectic and calming once inside. I will go again.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“How Restaurants get greedy.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We have been a long time fan of this Restaurant, but last nights' experience has drastically altered our thinking.
We were a table of five. I ordered the large Parlor salad. Mentioned to the server that I would probably take 1/2 home. She suggested salad dressing on the side, which I thought was smart . I said bring two ,and I would take one home with my take out bag. I also asked if they could put some parmesan cheese on the salad, her reply "no problem".
In all candor the salad was not worth take the remaining amount home.The bill arrived and to my shock the chef charged $2.50 for the cheese and $.50 for the ounce of dressing.
It was not the amount of the extra charges ,it was the nerve of the management to charge any amount when the salad with Chicken was already priced at $20.00. Their excuse was that the cheese was imported.I am wondering whether there are new owners or a new Chef.
They may have "imported"cheese, but they have lost loyal local customers, who have eaten at, and recommended this Restaurant to friends many times .

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“But I expected better--”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

I had not eaten at The Parlor for several years but remembered the very delicious roasted beet salad. Our friends had that when we went recently on a Saturday night, and it was as good as ever. My sweet potato salad was also very good, and the two pizzas we enjoyed had crispy crusts and high-quality ingredients.
However, my husband's pizza was delivered and then taken away because the wait staff could not confirm that it was the correct order. By the time he got it back, it was cold--ugh! By the time he got a beer to go with his pizza, it was really cold! Initially our friends were brought a pizza they did not order, and it quite a while to straighten that out.
Maybe we should not have gone on a Saturday night; maybe they were short-staffed; maybe it was just an off night. I am not sure we will return--

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Parlor Pizzeria also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Parlor Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parlor Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.