We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beckett's Table

Beckett's Table
3717 E. Indian School Rd., Phoenix, AZ 85018
16029541700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Beckett's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 2,530 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 36th street & Indian School
Description: Chef Justin Beckett brings together what matters to him most: family, friends and honest, incredible food. With considerable help from his partners and longtime friends Scott and Katie Stephens and his wife Michelle, Beckett has created an irresistible hangout for his discerning Arcadia/Biltmore neighbors, people who expect comfort and sophistication in equal measure and get it here. The same grounded approach is evident on the menu, which emphasizes seasonal American cooking in dishes such as creamy grits and spicy andouille sausage with mustard jus, wood-fired mussels with shallot-fennel broth, short ribs with mashed potatoes, and rock shrimp with smoked corn & butternut squash enchiladas. Factor in the inviting bar, roomy patio and community table, and it gets even easier to follow the Beckett's Table mandate: Come Together.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
278 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Enjoyed a great meal at Beckett's Table. Started off with cocktails, nice selection and a couple of beers. After a couple of conversations with Justin, our server we moved to appies, as suggested by Justin. We had the Mac and Cheese, which was very good, and perfect for sharing. We also had the Crows Dairy Peppered Feta, very nice. For dinner, 2 shortribs, the house specialty, which we fall off the bone excellent. Served with mashed potatoes and fresh asparagus. Our table also had the Osso Buco and spinach pancetta spaetzle, again fall of the bone, very tender. Fourth dish was the smoked and grilled Pork Chop, it is huge, and also quite delicious. We shared a bottle of wine from a very large wine list, variety of prices.

For dessert, coffee creme brulee, very nice and the house chocolate ice cream, which was o'k, nothing special.

Restaurant did fill up, and was quite noisy, although our table of four was able to converse at a normal voice level. Atmosphere was very good, lots of folks enjoying themselves and their meals.

Great food, good atmosphere, and Justin our server was most helpful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Come Together!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A catchy phrase as you arrive and boy does it really mean come together! It also means eat together, as the tables are right on top of each other...Reminds me of a feed lot for cattle! Anyway, enough about the tight quarters... the food was great, the drinks were good and the company at the table next to ours was amusing. I would go back for the food and perhaps a seat at the bar but won't go back because of how tight the seating is in the dining room! Parking was also an issue so bring your walking shoes!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cam's not a fan!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Ate there over the weekend of Memorial Day due to the hype on TA! Must say I was excited to eat there but just don't get the hype for some reason. While I liked some aspects of it (locally owned and uses as much local product as possible), it was a major struggle to get in and out of- parking was a nightmare! I chose to park down the block and walk a bit instead of waiting for a spot to never open!!! Once we got inside, the hostess wasn't that pleasant- maybe because of all the people that were in there??? I guess I would lose my patience as well when dealing with that many people. That is why I like the more quiet and reserved restaurants that don't garner as much attention. We sat at the bar for a while to wait for our table and the drinks were actually imaginitive and well thought out. When we were finally seated, we were placed about a foot from the adjacent table and needless to say our 'company's' conversation was not the most pleasant to listen to! When our food came out, there were a few items that were not correct but by this point we wanted to get out and enjoy the rest of our night somewhere else so we did not ask for anything....Way too busy and didn't want to wait any longer! Anyway, if you go here, have fun! Cam won't be back!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fresh recipes + fresh ingredients + warm atmosphere = great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Beckett's Table is a great yet uncomplicated dining experience. Restaurant designed for social context, recipes are not over complicated and rely on great preparation and quality, fresh ingredients. Great wine selection. Say hi to Chef Beckett if you have a chance, great guy. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bruno68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
427 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Beckett's Table is a must do when in Phoenix, like many of the good places to eat it is part of a strip mall. The menu is varied and use mostly locally sourced ingredients. The cheddar and bacon biscuits are excellent, portions can be large so share an appertizer to ensure you have room for a dessert.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AUKTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beckett's Table also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Beckett's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing