We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Mexican restaurant.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arriba Mexican Grill

Arriba Mexican Grill
4649 East Chandler Blvd, Ahwatukee, Phoenix, AZ 85048
480-753-4453
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #967 of 2,595 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Hudson, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A good Mexican restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Middle of the road Mexican. Best part of dinner was the sopapia for dessert. Margarita was good but too much ice.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not traditional but unique and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

They are little pricey for Mexican food but are not traditional Mexican. I had the Carlsbad stuffed chicken breast (it is stuffed with fajita veggies and topped with a creamy and slightly spicy sauce and cheese). It was absolutely delicious. Jeff had carne adobada and I didn't like it as much but he did. The Margaritas are large and tasty, and we will eat there again. Portions were large and we took some home.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Top Contributor
406 reviews 406 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“A Repeat Dinner's Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Seems that everyone has their favorite Mexican Restaurant for one reason or another. We have several within the Phoenix area that are all slightly different. If we want a Mexican meal, it all depends upon our location.

On October 17th, we were in the mood for something along these lines. Our location was near the Arriba and we decided to dine here again. We arrive before the lunch hour crush and were seated right away. Salsa, bean dip and chips arrived right away.

For starters, I ordered the guacamole dip that arrived before the main meal. We ordered the following for lunch, my wife had the Rio Grande and I wanted the Burrtio Plate from the lunch menu. Everything arrived as ordered with the main items on a hot plate.

Drink refills arrived with no issues. The restrooms were clean. We did not notice any issue with this restaurant during this visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mystery Meat Tacos”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Ordered the taco special and waitress did not ask what type of meat we wanted and I think we all forgot to ask if there was a choice. I can eat about anything as long as it's tasty. It wasn't until I took a bite into the taco when I opened it up to look at the "stuff" they call meat. I asked the waitress (who forgot my drink and had major attitude with our group) what the "stuff" was. She told me hamburger meat. Doubtful; it's some type of filler the consistency of sawdust and same taste. I could not eat it but she happily collected money for the bill. Previous visit, the three of us ordered margaritas at $6 a pop and thought no tequila in them. A customer compliant on their website to customer service was rudely answered and did not get the follow up, so they get two zeros for both visits--poor customer service, bored and unmotivated wait staff (the man serving the other customers was attentive, however), bland food-stuff passed off as food as long as you put salsa on it--salsa makes everything right....right? Lastly, little or just a splash of booze in the margaritas. Why come back...ah, it's quiet because no customers and you could do business there. I also agree with Linda S. that the place, all around seemed dirty and I, too, even made a comment about the fountain over-spilling, wasting water on the way in. My mother also made the same comment as Michael M. reviewer about dirty menus and this was after he spoke to a manager!! I think this must be someone's tax write off.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food and service today”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We went for Brunch, as we have never been. It was very good. We had excellent service from our server / bartender MATT. Great job... thanks! We like this location as they usually are on top of customer service and the food is always hot and fresh tasting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arriba Mexican Grill also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Arriba Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arriba Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.