We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to say” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raz Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Raz Inn to your Saves list
Raz Inn
37 W Pasadena Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85013   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Phoenix B&B and Inns
Takoma Park, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place to say”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Raz Inn, in the Reflections Suite. This was a very pleasant place to stay, with two bedrooms with comfortable beds, a living room, and a full kitchen.

The place was clean, homey, and included a pool (that we did not use).

The Inn included breakfast for two days, which consisted of a small egg frittata, fresh-squeezed juice, fresh fruit, and store-bought pastry. This was brought to our door in a cute picnic basket.

The owners were pleasant and the place was reasonable and well-kept. No complaints, but one suggestion: Replace the store-bought pastries with something else--either home-made, or at least a more high-quality brand of pastry.

Other than that, we had a very comfortable stay here.

Room Tip: Reflections Suite was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Lovely bed and breakfast. We stayed for 2 nights. Loved the attention to detail by the owners. Breakfast was delicious, fresh squeezed juice was a pleasant surprise. The decor is simple and pleasing, honors the history of the home. Felt like we found a gem in the dessert. The bed was amazingly comfortable. Hotels can't offer the cozy comfort this b&b does, felt like we were guests in an old friends' home. We will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We took our family to Phoenix for New Years...... stayed in Pasadena Villa.... Our experience was amazing staff was very professional and service was superb. Will definitely refer friends and family to Raz Inn. Had a great trip thanks to Raz Inn!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We've not written many negative reviews but feel the need to record our experience with The Raz.
Based on the mainly excellent reviews on Tripadvisor we booked 5 days at the Raz towards the end of last year to conclude a 6 week holiday in AZ/UT. Unfortunatelly due to illness we had to cancel the whole holiday two months prior to departure.
All other booked accomodations were understanding and refunded deposits without any problems. However on advising The Raz of our problem and requesting a refund (well within the notice period), the first response was an abusive email (for which an apology was never received). Thereafter followed what, with the benefit of hindsight, appeared to be deliberate stalling tactics. We had to constantly chase for responses to emails and promised "deadlines" for the refund were missed.
We enventually gave up and passed the matter to our credit card company from whom we obtained our refund.
The Raz may well be an excellent accomodation but I'm afraid their customer care leaves a great deal to be desired !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erin r, Owner at Raz Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
In response to the Guest from England, first of all, we do apologize for confusing your initial, vague inquiry to be one of the plethora of false, scam, and tricky emails we recieve from Africa. They regularly target small businesses from abroad seeking refunds, wire transfers and trickery. In reference to any unpaid funds, this matter is still being worked on by our credit card processing company and your credit card company. The transaction could not be refunded because it was over 90 days old. We were ready to issue you a refund on another card, but you refused to give that information for an unknown reason. We honor cancellations and have a clear and fair policy posted for all guests. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was in between apartment rentals and needed a place to stay for a month. I happened to find about Raz Inn through an internet search, and was delighted to find a spacious and beautifully appointed apartment at an asbolute bargain price. My month long stay was wonderful, with the kind proprietors making me feel very much at home without being intrusive.

All in all, a fantastic value in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Attending a conference in Phoenix, I wanted to venture beyond the typical large in city hotel experience. I found Raz Inn to be the perfect combination of a small, personal and comfortable Inn. I stayed in the separate Pasadena Suite. It provided a full kitchen, living room, bedroom and just outside my door a pool and comfortable yard.

Arriving via the Phoenix airport, the 40 minute light rail ride to the nearby station was easy. It was just a 3 minute walk as described. Russ was great about checking me in late, and making sure I knew what I needed to, in order to find them after 10 pm.

Erin and Russ to be helpful, their kids well behaved and friendly. I enjoyed the breakfast delivered to my suite daily. The Kitchen had everything I needed to prepare my dinners, and a nearby shopping plaza with a natural foods store had everything I needed for additional food or drinks, within one block.

Russ and Erin offered helpful suggestions for some additional sight seeing and the place was well kept and clean. Just down the road was the Maricopa, which is more expensive, but in the same neighborhood. I was happy with my stay, and felt it was a good value. I would recommend it for someone or a family looking to get off the beaten path and out of the big hotel scene.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphysboro, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were travelling with a friend and preferred 2 separate bedrooms. We hit the jackpot with Raz Inn. We stayed in the Reflections suite, which was more spacious than my first apartment, I think! We each had a nice-sized bedroom with a comfortable bed and huge closet. Nice bathroom with ample basic toiletries. A kitchen equipped with enough tools for cooking and eating in (we didn't, but could have). Nice living room with a large flat screen TV and addition flat screen in one of the bedrooms. Delicious homemade quiches delivered to the room for breakfast. And yummy freshly squeezed grapefruit juice. Within walking distance of a metro stop. Quiet neighborhhood, but near any convenience you might need. We stayed only 2 nights, but this would be a great spot for an extended stay.

Room Tip: Reflections Suite has two separate bedrooms and easily would accommodate two couples. Full-size fut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raz Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raz Inn

Address: 37 W Pasadena Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85013
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Garden community of 5 private Villas! We have a gated half acre compound two miles from Downtown Phoenix. We are walking distance to AJ's Gourmet Grocer, restaurants, wine bar, dancing, boutiques and the Light Rail. Our heated diving pool invites you to swim and sun while relaxing on your stay. Gourmet breakfast is available daily. Our huge villas are equipped for your family vacation and allow the choice of eating in when it is your preference. There are hammocks, bikes, bevearge vending machine, jacuzzi and various patios from where to enjoy the warm Phoenix sun. Please join us this Winter and try our signature Grapefruit drink made from the organic pink grapefruit trees on our property! Take the Light Rail and quite possibly the new Sky Tram from Phoenix Sky Harbor airport and be here in less than 40 minutes. Cheers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Raz Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raz Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.