We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fresh Food and Good Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gallo Blanco Cafe

Gallo Blanco Cafe
401 West Clarendon Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85013
(602)327-0880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 2,574 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Uses all fresh, local veggies and fruits.
Goodyear, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Food and Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Went here for lunch today. Food was excellent. There were three in our party and we all enjoyed what we had. I had a specialty burger and what struck me was the quality of the meat. Fresh ground chuck, ground on premises. I also noticed that tortillas were fresh and asked the waitress. She told me they grind their corn meal and make the tortillas fresh in small batches every day. You can taste the difference! Salsa's and sauces all had that fresh made from scratch taste. I'll definitely return to try more things on the menu. Torta's and taco's look great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    55
    19
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

everything is fresh and made to order so yes you will wait a little (this is not a drive through lol) in the meantime get an amazing drink or tea. You must start with Elote callejero (grilled corned with sprinkled paprika) move on to Chicharron (like a grileed cheese) and OMG tacos will blow your mind. This guys know what they are doing, I am a regular. Thank you for great food, fresh ingredients and no microwaves!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Let me start off by saying the service was very good. I have been there twice. The last time was on a very busy night. So the girl and I sat at the bar. The service from the bartender was very good. Everyone at the bar was being tended to.

The food was ok. It came out cold, so that overshadowed the flavor. I have eaten there before when it wasn't so busy and enjoyed the food, but you have to do better when it is busy. Both the girl and I had under temp food. That says to me the food sat for awhile before it was brought to us.

Overall i would eat there again if someone wanted to go but if it was my choice i would skip it.

TIP: The mens restroom is a hoot.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No More”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

On arrival the Hostess seemed intent on ignoring everyone even with several empty tables available . The Waiter was good but the food took a long time for simple dishes ( a salad , posole and one taco ) to come out.
The place is LOUD and echoey . Parking seems not clearly defined .
The food is "okay" but way overpriced for the portion size . If you are dieting , this fare will not upset the program . I actually saw a man who came to lunch with us one day eat 2 meals to get enough !
There are lot's of alternatives to here . Salvadorian foods , Peruvian restaurants Etc. offer a much better dining experience at a much better bargain .
The whole experience took us 1 hour . We ate our tiny portions in 5 minutes .
Not real time efficient !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“gallo blanco rules”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

great salsa and tacos! love the happy hour specials and friendly staff. everything i've eaten has been delish!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallo Blanco Cafe also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Gallo Blanco Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallo Blanco Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.