We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't get the reviews on this place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gallo Blanco Cafe

Gallo Blanco Cafe
401 West Clarendon Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85013
(602)327-0880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 2,584 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Uses all fresh, local veggies and fruits.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“I don't get the reviews on this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Average at best. Mexican is bar far my favorite food and there are places in the Valley that blow this place away. It was just okay. Maybe I missed something and I should go back. Want great mexican? Go to El Bravo on 7th street and Cave Creek! This place is okay though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    58
    21
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“not worth a mulligan!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were visiting the Valley and looking forward to a great time! A fun looking restaurant but not a great experience afterall.... Gallo Blanco was recommended by a concierge who was actually very friendly and knew the area but GB may have had a bad night! Waited a long time for a table and service was lacking and aloof. We had read a few reviews and were looking forward to a special night but it did not turn out to be.....

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Sweet dinner - getting a table is a challenge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The restaurant is in the same building as the Hotel Clarendon -- a "hip" and loud place (this plays a role) -- in a quiet back corner of Phoenix.

Although there were a lot of empty tables, the wife and I were told that it would be a 40 min wait b/c they don't have the kitchen capacity to keep up with the number of tables

For us -- the bar was too loud so it was rough to roam the neighborhood until it was ready (we had just moved a ton of boxes and were sore)

No reservations --- except for more than 6 people

It not as long as they said tho' --- and the food was good.

Pulled pork taco was good
Fish taco -- need a meaty piece of fish with a nice tart sauce --- I'd skip theirs
Burrito --- excellent

Guac --- fun and excellent

Habanero Bloody Mary --- gonna go back for more

It was lovely sitting out at night --- a nice, fun dinner --- a really cute place --- prices can't be beat

($40 for two of us)

Nice night

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“excellent food in a terrible hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

great happy hour, margaritas and guacamole! The hotel is a bit out of the way in the Clarendon hotel (which is awful) but the food is authentic and reasonable!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had the fish of the day which was market priced, 2 glasses of wine and an appetiser for $33... such good value!

Food tasted amazing and the atmosphere was really nice. Very boutique and bohemian. I'm coming back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallo Blanco Cafe also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Gallo Blanco Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallo Blanco Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.