We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a feast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nobuo at Teeter House

Nobuo at Teeter House
622 E Adams St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2351
602-254-0600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nobuo at Teeter House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #102 of 2,668 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 7th St. and Monroe
Transit: The nearest light rail stop is 3rd St. and Washington.
Description: Refined Asian-style teahouse by day, funky izakaya by night: Nobuo at Teeter House reflects the fascinating duality of Nobuo Fukuda. The setting — a turn-of-the-century, wood-floored bungalow, awash in earth tones — emulates the relaxed intimacy of Japan’s izakaya, where friends and business associates gather to eat Japanese-style tapas, drink beer and have fun. Nobuo elevates the custom while staying true to its low brow roots, offering rustic Japanese classics with modern American inflections. During the day, a short lunch menu is offered, as are exotic, aromatic teas, meant to be sipped and savored over quiet conversation. In the evening, Nobuo creates"5-Star" cuisine, bringing a Western sensibility to Japanese sushi traditions while combining seasonal ingredients in exciting, inventive ways. If we can assist you in any way, we welcome your phone calls!
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a feast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We invited a couple of friends from Belgium and had one of the best experience of creative fusion cuisine ever. We started with the diced watermelon with fresh goat cheese to refresh the palates, followed by a delicious tray of sashimi assortment (Kumamoto oysters with ponzu sauce, oysters with uni and caviar, grapefruit and hamachi, tuna tataki with red beet purée, house cured salmon with almond, octopus on campari tomato and mozzarella), followed by the wonderful sea bass on mushrooms in parchment andwe finished with the caramlized foie gras with fresh grilled slices of peach we enjoyed every moment of this very royal spread.
Nobuo did also a great job in pairing the wines with this incredible food.
We'll be back

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    9
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Smashing flavors in pleasant rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We choose Nobuo after reading their menu on-line (and a few T.A. reviews), and enjoyed an excellent dinner.
The food is the star of the show; all served as small dishes to share. Our server suggested 2-3 items per person which worked well. We did add one additional item half way through, more so due to our enjoyment of what we had already tasted and wanting to continue the experience, than a need for additional quantity.
Our first dish was a cold watermelon and goat’s cheese pairing which worked extremely well. I would like to try to recreate this at home, refreshing and smart and excellent flavor. We also sampled the squash blossom tempura with a salted curry dust dip. Tempura was light and curry dust added another great flavor.
We continued with the Grapefruit and Hamchi (Yellow Tail), very enjoyable, again a well balanced blend of flavors but perhaps the least different flavor offering of the evening.
Baked Sea bass with mushrooms in parchment came next. Sea Bass was perfectly cooked and the mushrooms were delicious.
Next up was the Coconut Curry Lamb, four perfectly cooked medium rare chops over a mango fennel salad, would possibly win our dinner’s choice for best single offering.
We added an oyster tasting here near the end which was yet another well blended flavor offering.
We concluded with the Foie Gras. Liver was nicely grilled and served with red and white pears (I assume they may have been marinated or possibly pickled).
The space itself is comfortable with a number of smaller rooms, well decorated but all done in muted tones that don’t over power. Best of all was that we didn’t have to compete over music or room noise for conversation.
Service was attentive and helpful, perhaps a bit reserved and stand offish. The bus person seemed hesitant to speak (barely acknowledged our thank you for refilling our water).
We did notice that the windows were dirty and the painted steps at the entrance in much need of some paint.
With 2 whiskies and 2 beers and tip our check was about 175.00
Definitely will go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Teetering On The Edge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Took my girlfriend to Nobou at the Teeter House for an unique experience prior to a concert at Symphony Hall. Hyped by the reviews here & elsewhere, we were expecting to be blown away, we weren't! The ambience is minimalistic,casual, sparse & yet cozy, clearly not upscale nor romantic. The staff is very informal & you are served by a team, alternating as your servers. The menu is Japanese small plates with a big price tag. We started with the Japanese antipasto plate...??? Two small really pieces of corn, two tiny artichokes, a garlic flower, small small peppers & blah, barely chewable & probably less digestible, not a good start & not an antipasto either. We had an excellent soft shell crab salad, a couple of other forgettable dishes, some so so wine & left underwhelmed & kinda hungry. With tax & license the bill totaled $ 176.00...wtf? I'm not one to quibble over the cost, if you receive value or an exceptional culinary experience in return, we got neither. I wouldn't return & I clearly don't get the rave reviews either!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Nobuo is one of the best Asian fusion restaurants I know of, including its similarly named cousin in New York, Nobu. If this place served just the hamachi with grapefruit and yuzu, that would be reason enough to eat here. It is a brilliant, perfect little bite. My wife and I also could not get enough of the (very inexpensive) kimchi with dried shrimp. Healthy, tasty, and very affordable. It has been a few months since my last visit there, but I have never been disappointed with a meal or even a single dish here. Very sexy food, not expensive for the level of accomplishment, and easy to get a table. If this place were in NY, you'd have a tough time getting in. Make the most of the fact that it's still somewhat under the radar, and get yourself some really exquisite food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Unusual Japanese cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Japanese food in America is all about sushi, even though sushi is just a small part of Japaense cuisine. Nobuo is not about sushi. This fusion of mostly cooked Japanese food (with a handful of raw fish dishes) plus European ingredients and techniques hits a lot of high notes. It was recently ranked one of the 100 Best Restaurants in America by Opinionated About Dining -- a well deserved ranking. I especially enjoyed a sampler of Japanese vegetables and curry crusted lamb chops.

Having said that, the setting is odd. The restaurant doesn't fit Phoenix, a city of faceless chain restaurants. It doesn't quite fit its little cluster of restaurants inside a city park -- a pizza place, pub, and some other bar. The waiters were mostly young hipsters, who seemed like they had been borrowed from the next-door pub -- which I found charming. Half the guests seemed clueless about Japanese food. They complained about the prices (which are quite reasonable for food of this quality). They expected a fancier restaurant. They even questioned whether their seared chops were "burnt."

This is the sort of place that defies expectations. And if you are expecting sushi, "elegant" service, or Americanized flavors, there are some high-end chains nearby that would be a better place for you. But if you want unusual flavors -- especially for Phoenix -- in a casual, foodie-oriented spot, this is your place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nobuo at Teeter House also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Nobuo at Teeter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nobuo at Teeter House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.