We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for young and old alike!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Musical Instrument Museum

Musical Instrument Museum
4725 East Mayo Boulevard, Phoenix, AZ 85050 (Desert Ridge)
+1 480-478-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 94 Attractions in Phoenix
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The World's Only Global Musical Instrument Museum. Home of the MIM Music Theater--a 300-seat acoustically superb performance space--as well as the award-winning Cafe Allegro (open 11 am - 2 pm daily) and the MIM Museum Store. The average guest spends nearly four hours at MIM. Please allow plenty of time to fully enjoy MIM's galleries and exhibits. Open Monday through Saturday, 9 am - 5 pm; Open Sunday, 10 am - 5 pm; Closed Thanksgiving; Open Christmas, 11 am - 5 pm. General Admission: $18; Teens (ages 13-19): $14; Children (ages 4-12): $10; Children 3 and under: Free. Hours and prices are subject to change.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“great place for young and old alike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

this is a pretty cool place. Initially I kinda rolled my ideas at the thought of this place, but once there, I had a hard time leaving. There are many cool exhibits showing the history of music and lots of historical photos, instruments, etc, etc. There are a LOT of hands on activities too,which I really enjoyed playing around with when we took our 5 and 7 yr old grand-daughters there. The cafe serves yummy food in a nice setting, and it's just a nice (AIR CONDITIONED) place to spend a few hours...especially if you're looking for something to do on a warmer day, and we have a few of those in the Valley! There are even special events and concerts here to enjoy.
Have fun!
CJ Z in AZ

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,435
    154
    22
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A true "around the world trip"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very unique museum at the north end of Phoenix. Instruments from all over the world, but they are brought to life with fascinating video clips and an audio phone which wirelessly picks up the signal as you go through the exhibit. It's amazing in the breadth and depth. Interesting concerts and demonstrations (check website). An "experience room" allows kids to play with the instruments from all around the world. Also a celebrity section. Definitely worth it - a really beautiful, modern building too.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We keep coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We always have to stop at the MIM when we're in Phoenix. My 8 and 13 year old like the exhibits and the opportunities to play instruments. My daughter feels like a star when she plays the piano at the entrance and the other patrons applaud! The upstairs exhibits from around the world are overwhelming for a single visit, so we pick out areas to focus on based on places they've been studying in school. My husband especially likes the food at the cafe!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, UT
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lots of musical instruments!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This museum is impressive. Lot's to see and learn. We also enjoyed the room where you can play instruments. There is restaurant and a beautiful court yard to eat, if you like. It was too hot for us outside but we did have a cool drink inside.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Around the World in Phoenix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

There is something here for everyone, any age, any gender. Whether its music, ethnology, history or geography, it's all professionally presented. Live concerts happen, check to see who's next. The cafe is exceptional. All this in air conditioning, so no matter the time of year or weather. World class, really!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musical Instrument Museum also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Musical Instrument Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musical Instrument Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.