We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Museum for everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musical Instrument Museum

Musical Instrument Museum
4725 East Mayo Boulevard, Phoenix, AZ 85050 (Desert Ridge)
+1 480-478-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 89 Attractions in Phoenix
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The World's Only Global Musical Instrument Museum. Home of the MIM Music Theater--a 300-seat acoustically superb performance space--as well as the award-winning Café Allegro (open 11 am - 2 pm daily) and the MIM Museum Store. The average guest spends nearly four hours at MIM. Please allow plenty of time to fully enjoy MIM's galleries and exhibits. Open daily, 9 am - 5 pm; Closed Thanksgiving; Open Christmas, 11 am - 5 pm. General Admission: $20; Teens (ages 13-19): $15; Children (ages 4-12): $10; Children 3 and under: Free. Hours and prices are subject to change.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Napa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Museum for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Not just for musicians. Truly a great place to go for a whole day or just a couple of hours. Reasonable admission price. Nice video and audio program for most exhibits. It is a great social history as well as an incredible number of instruments from around the world and plenty of rock and roll stuff too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,490
    165
    22
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unique and Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My family recently visited this museum and we enjoyed it very much. I love the concept of it, with each room representing a continent or area of the world, and each display within that room representing a country. We loved the headset concept and did not have any problems with it. The headsets made all the musical instruments come alive. It is a very audio/visual experience. I also really liked the traditional costumes of the countries and of some famous artists (like Elvis). When the kids got a little restless (they are 10 and 12), we headed to the room where you can try a variety of the instruments. That put them back on track. There is so much to see, it is a little bit of information overload. We did not go in the cafe, but having lunch there might be a nice way to break up the day. You can see prices and their menu online at the MIM website. Another option would be to eat outside by your car and then head back inside for more (not sure that is allowed though). The gift shop is interesting too, although it is a little over priced for my family. Overall, a great experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Perfect Pitch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We visited with my mother and my teenage kids; my mom had been there before and highly recommended it. We were not disappointed. We are a musical family, but I honestly think most people would find this well worthwhile regardless of interest in music.

Many thoughtful touches, including a well tuned Steinway grand piano which is placed in the lobby for ANYONE to play at any time. That means anyone. My daughter played a piece on it, which sounded great (something about a Steinway that just makes what's good sound even better) and she received applause from those nearby when she finished! What a nice experience for patrons of the museum to have a chance, if they wish, to make an impromptu contribution to the overall experience at the place.

Plan to sit down for lunch in the cafe - it is a notable part of the experience unto itself. Local produce presented in imaginative entrees, in a nice setting with large windows overlooking the sunny courtyard.

It is a little expensive. But for the money you get a fascinating visit in a world-class museum. It's worth the money, in the same way tickets to the symphony are worth the money. You will walk out entertained and culturally enriched!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west hills, ca
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
“really interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

very creative presentation of musical instruments, their history and origin. so many countries are represented here. very interactive and a lovely building. highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Out of Tune: Technical Improvements needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our second trip to MIM, which I consider unique in the world and absolutely worth going to for at least a few hours. Unfortunately their very clever listening device that starts playing in your earphones when you approach an exhibit and stops when you walk away needs work. It would pick up a nearby exhibit or not play at all or you had to hit some buttons to reset it(that were not marked as such. I asked others if they were having the same problem and they were. Finally I was so frustrated that i gave up, returned the sets, and wrote a note to them. Their reply "Hope you had a good time." Listening, as in so many places, is not a requisite skill.
However do go there. Parts that are spread out, work better and it is a great place. Just hope they read this and fix the system, which when working is very good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musical Instrument Museum also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Musical Instrument Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musical Instrument Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.