We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Music Lovers' Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musical Instrument Museum

Musical Instrument Museum
4725 East Mayo Boulevard, Phoenix, AZ 85050 (Desert Ridge)
+1 480-478-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 94 Attractions in Phoenix
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The World's Only Global Musical Instrument Museum. Home of the MIM Music Theater--a 300-seat acoustically superb performance space--as well as the award-winning Cafe Allegro (open 11 am - 2 pm daily) and the MIM Museum Store. The average guest spends nearly four hours at MIM. Please allow plenty of time to fully enjoy MIM's galleries and exhibits. Open Monday through Saturday, 9 am - 5 pm; Open Sunday, 10 am - 5 pm; Closed Thanksgiving; Open Christmas, 11 am - 5 pm. General Admission: $18; Teens (ages 13-19): $14; Children (ages 4-12): $10; Children 3 and under: Free. Hours and prices are subject to change.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Music Lovers' Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A wonderful museum with an outstanding collection that is wonderfully presented. Musical instruments from all over the world and from all periods of history. Displays using video of many of the instruments being played are a great addition.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,429
    153
    22
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bigger than I thought”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

admission tickets are very expensive, architecturally it is fabulous, location is a little out of the way, nice museum store, spend a day, not an hour, you'll be more appreciative. Lots of displays, all depends on your interest, I didn't care too much, but my spuse enjoyed it

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“prepare to be dazzled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Friends in the know clued us into this museum, but nothing could have prepared us for the breathtaking experience awaiting us. This is more -- far more -- than a mere collection of objects. It's a total immersion into global music culture from which children and adults can benefit in equal measure. The state-of-the-art Sennheiser headphones allow you to travel from display to display with ever-changing soundscapes; copious documentary footage provides vivid illustration. Start with the upper-level "geographical galleries," and don't even attempt to see the whole museum in a single visit. After more than three hours, we had only worked our way through the African, Asian and Latin American collections. The physical site itself is part of the attraction, a beautifully designed building of glass and native stone that rests perfectly amidst the north Phoenix hills. Only minor caveat is the perfunctory gift store. After listening to and watching so much fascinating performance, you want to head down and grab recordings, few of which are actually available for purchase.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, IL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Fantastic museum, full of music and culture. Not to be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I found this to be one of the most unique and enjoyable museums we've visited. The facility is large, modern and enjoys state-of-the-art displays of musical instruments from all over the world. They're grouped by type, but also by area of the world allowing you to learn about the culture and music of hundreds of countries. Included in the price of admission is a high-fidelity, wireless Sennheiser headphone system that plays music examples (usually matching video) for each display. I don't know how they do it, but as you walk from one to the next, the music you've been listening to gently fades out, and the music you're about to hear fades in. Seamless! Don't miss the mechanical music room, and the great store.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, NY
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great way to spend several hours in Phoenix. I tend to get bored in museums after a certain amount of time and have been known to blast through an art museum at warp speed (enjoying the museum, but at the speed I find enjoyable. I prefer to walk around looking and stop when I see something that catches my eye rather than examining every single thing). This museum held my attention for quite a long time. Being able to hear clips of different pieces of music as you walk around look at the different exhibits is great. My husband is a musician and loved this place. I agree with the other recommendations to start with the second floor. I would add a recommendation to start with whatever continent interests you the most - fatigue sets in at this place and you want to make sure you see your favorites while you are still fresh. After the second floor, stop in the cafe for a quick beverage or snack and then do the first floor exhibits. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musical Instrument Museum also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Musical Instrument Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musical Instrument Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.