We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Ryders, Inc. Hot Air Balloon Company

Rainbow Ryders, Inc. Hot Air Balloon Company
1725 W Williams Dr Suite 39, Phoenix, AZ
+1 480-299-0154
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Experience of a Lifetime, Happening Right Now! Offering launch times of sunrise and sunset, our year-round flights are approximately one hour over the beautiful North Scottsdale and Sonoran desert area. We provide our guests a traditional champagne ceremony to commemorate your flight, a first flight certificate and post flight food catered by Locally renowned Wildflower Bread Company. We have proudly flown over 170,000 passengers and are the official ride operator of the World's Largest Balloon Event. Call to reserve your flight today and check this once in a lifetime experience off of your bucket list!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Thank you Rainbow Riders for an amazing experience. Don't think anything on my "Bucket List" can top this one. Top notch pilot and support team, courteous, considerate and efficient. Had a delightful time, right from booking to completion, and can hardly wait to come out and do it all over again. Thank you all so very much. -Betty Ann Stimson

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowRyders1, Owner at Rainbow Ryders, Inc. Hot Air Balloon Company, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
So awesome that we made the top of your bucket list! We love it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    25
    1
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“True Pros in the Balloon and on the Ground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

What made this impressive was that Mark and Matt clearly had experience working together, knowing the terrain, and assessing different options for getting the balloon in the air (and just as importantly, back on the ground). One of the most impressive moments came when it was nearing time to land. As they communicated by walkie-talkie (from over a mile away), Mark told Matt precisely where to park the van. He then landed the balloon within 20 feet of the van. Wow. And as others have said, while Mark and Matt do the heavy lifting of putting the balloon back on the trailer, we nibbled on crackers and cheese and sipped champagne. Amazing experience.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowRyders1, Owner at Rainbow Ryders, Inc. Hot Air Balloon Company, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Way to go Matt and Mark! Thank you for such a wonderful review! These guys are the pros.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
1 review
“Rainbow Ryders near Phoenix 13 Nov 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was an outstanding experience of a lifetime. I am ready to go again. Our pilot Mark had over 6000 hours as a pilot and it showed. He was very good at explaining what was going to happen and what we were looking at once in the air. The champagne toast at the end was a real treat.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowRyders1, Owner at Rainbow Ryders, Inc. Hot Air Balloon Company, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Once again great job to Mark! So glad that you had an amazing flight experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Today I went with a couple of friends on our first hot air balloon ride. The ride was piloted by Al, who prepared us well and made the take off and landing feel smooth and effortless. At the end of the ride, Al opened a table, opened a bottle of champagne and served mimosas and snacks. Both Al and his aid Steve handled the balloon competently and provided us with a good time over the north Phoenix general area around the intersection of 101 and 17. The views were spectacular. Will take future out of town guests in this excursion.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowRyders1, Owner at Rainbow Ryders, Inc. Hot Air Balloon Company, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
So glad we were there to join you in your first hot air balloon ride. Those views are spectacular. Thanks for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“WoW loved the "Champagne" and the company!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Ok I have a real fear of heights so doing this for me is a big deal, I mainly did this for my kids sake, otherwise some of my offsprings would never have volunteered for such an adventure.

So here we are waiting for the biggest adventure of my life anyway overcoming my doubts,we climb in and then the rest of our company joins us on board.
It was exhilarating a bit scary when we reached our top hight but what can I say WOW!!!
This one is one for the bucket list. Even our 7 year old had a good time.
Little touches like placing the steps into the basket so our youngest and shortest could look out were a surprising touch.

We had a great bunch of people on board and the Champagne and nibbles flowed after touch down allowing us to chat and reflect LOVED IT!!!

We chose to Fly with Rainbow as it was cheaper then it's competitor and felt we definitely got value for our money.

Highly recommend, crew where great a very funny. Thanks GUYS LOVED IT! Will never forget it still talking about it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowRyders1, Owner at Rainbow Ryders, Inc. Hot Air Balloon Company, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We are glad that we could calm that fear of heights. So glad you shared this we hear people have a fear of heights all the time. The comfort of floating and the security of the basket calms all the senses and makes for a wonderful experience! Thanks for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Ryders, Inc. Hot Air Balloon Company also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Rainbow Ryders, Inc. Hot Air Balloon Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Ryders, Inc. Hot Air Balloon Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.